Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Honey Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Honey Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    86 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 86

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2011

      I liked this recipe! To make them even healthier, I used ground flax seed instead of butter (my blender did a great job of grinding my flaxseed). To substitute, use 3 TBS of ground flaxseed for every TBS of butter. I also substituted 1/4 cup agave nectar for the honey and half the brown sugar (so just 1/4 cup total of agave nectar). So I omitted the honey, and only used 1/4 cup brown sugar. Agave nectar is lower on the glycemic index and does not affect blood sugar levels as much as sugar. It is also very sweet so you can use 1/2 the amount of sugar that a recipe calls for. Also added cinnamon as some suggested-loved the results! I am doing the points plus program for Weight Watchers and three of these cookies equals 4 points! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      These cookies are fantastic! I use vanilla yogurt instead of butter, add in flax seed and cinnamon, and cut the sugar and honey in half, and they are still sweet enough. We love cookies but like being healthy, and this recipe allows us to have both. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Love this cookie with a few changes: I use 1/4 cup tbsp of mixed agave and organic honey. Then, I only use half the brown sugar and half the salt. I also added a little cinnamon and a little more oats. They turned out AMAZING both times I did this. I've added chocolate chips w/ walnuts, and cranberries. Both blends were great. Will make again for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      Wow, what a great little recipe! My brothers gobbled these up. I used a bit less salt, like Coolmom suggested, and I added 1/4 t. cinnamon and 1/2 c. each of raisins and chocolate chips. This recipe doesn't take long to make -- it doesn't make very many cookies either, but that's fine, because then there aren't a bunch of leftovers to tempt me. lol. :) Yummy when eaten warm with a glass of cold milk! They got the Picky Sibling Seal of Approval. I only baked them for 12 minutes and they were done. Next time, I think I'll use 1/3 c. of the chips and raisins (1/2 c. almost seemed like too much). Thanks for a super good and relatively healthy recipe to make for my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      These are excellent cookies! Like others, I cut the brown sugar in half. I doubled this recipe and only ended up with 38 cookies. I used a tablespoon to scoop them out so I don't think they were too big... I can't imagine getting 30 cookies without doubling the batch! I also replaced 1 T of butter with flax meal. I didn't add anything extra this time, but might next time. They are very delicious and in my opinion, would be too sweet with the full amount of brown sugar. Thank you for this healthy dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      loved this cookie. made them for my grandchildren and husband. gone by nightfall. followed recipe exactly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Reduced oatmeal to one cup and the other half cup was a mixture of oat bran and wheat germ. Added sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds and golden raisens. i cooked them for 14 minutes, but I also made large ones instead of a bunch of small ones. These turned out very, very yummy and they were very easy to make. Next time I am going to substitute egg beaters for the egg and see what happens.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      I'm a lousy baker, easily distracted, completely incapable of following a recipe to the letter, so I was surprised at how well these turned out. I decided to follow some of the comment's suggestions and cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and chose to add all of the following: craisins, walnuts, and dark chocolate chips. They turned out really well. I also sprinkled cinnamon on top of them (I had meant to mix it in but forgot until after I already had them out on the baking sheet and decided to just go with sprinkling. My husband and daughter both like them, though I think my daughter would've preferred something just a little sweeter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Very good cookies! I did think they were a little sweet, though. I subbed agave nectar for the honey but otherwise followed the recipe and added raisins. Next time I'll cut the brown sugar by about 1/4 c. and add cinnamon and more oats like another reviewer suggested. Thanks for a new, healthier cookie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      Didnt add any extras but did put in the cinnamon! Substituted flax seed for the butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      These are awesome!!! We added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 cup raisins and about 1/4 more oats because it was a little runny. Next time i will try and reduce the sugar 1/4 cup to see if it's missed and make it even healthier. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      So delicious! I went half on the salt after reading there was a bit much and added cinnamon. Added butterscotch and chocolate chips and they were amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Surprisingly yummy for such low calorie/fat cookies! I used butter sub instead of real and slightly more oats than called for because my batter was slightly runny. Baked for 12 minutes exactly and was surprised they were nice and tall. Tried one after they cooled and could really appreciate their less sweet taste....by my calculations they are 60 calories per cookie the way I made them....and a bit more hearty given the oats and honey. Thanks for a healthy treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I can't believe how yummy these are! The first time I made them exactly as stated. The second time I modified the following: yogurt instead of butter; no honey, just extra brown sugar; since my last ones fell apart easily, I put this batch in mini-muffin tins (fill only 2/3 full). These turned into fabulous little muffins!! The outsides were crunch like a cookie and the insides were soft and cakey like a muffin. I'm going to try substituting two egg whites for the egg next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I added walnuts, shredded apple, cinnamon and extra whole wheat flour. The batter seemed a bit "wet" and I was afraid the shredded apple would make it wetter. I doubt the extra 1/3 cup flour was necessary. It made the cookies cakelike. I will make these again. The flavor is good and I like the fact they are healthy. Next time I will add an extra tablespoon of butter and perhaps just a little extra flour. I really enjoyed this recipe. Plan to put them in my son's lunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Great recipe! I used this to make a cookie "crust" for a fruit pizza dessert last week (standard recipe calls for a sugar cookie dough crust), and my whole family raved about it and asked for it again this week. I added chopped dates. It was flavorful and definitely more healthful than sugar cookies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Exceptional cookies. I took a real chance and super halved the recipe to make only fifteen cookies as I didnt have enough oats for what the full recipe called for. These were delicious. They honey taste is present but not overwhelming, and they taste is good enough that you could probably even cut back the brown sugar a tad if you had to; but they are not overly sweet as is. Texture is a cross between chewey and firm; not stick to your teeth but not powdery cakey either. My 5 yr old daughter loved them; we used all organic ingredients and threw a few organic chocolate drops in a couple. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      As a homeschool mom of 4 boys, I am always hunting for healthy options for desserts and snacks. This hearty cookie recipe was a HUGE success!!! I did make a couple of changes... I used 1 cup w.w. flour, 2 cups rolled oats, and chilled the dough before scooping out onto cookie sheets. Since the recipe was plenty sweet, I will try decreasing the brown sugar next time. I will also double the recipe since this recipe only made 26 cookies when using a small ice cream scoop to drop dough on pans. Still, it's a great base recipe for a healthier cookie. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      For such a small amount of butter, these cookies were amazing. I didn't used too much honey, and used a bit of brown sugar to substitute, as too much of honey would bother me. I added white and chocolate chips, and I think this goes much better with white chocolate chips than bittersweet. Will have to bake again! Amazing thicky, soft texture. Chewy. Great straight out of the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      Delicious! Quick and easy to make too. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup Brown Sugar Twin. I added raisins--great!--and next time I will try adding some walnuts too. My whole family is enjoying these cookies. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Honey Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.7
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    25%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 27.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 189.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites