92 Reviews

I liked this recipe! To make them even healthier, I used ground flax seed instead of butter (my blender did a great job of grinding my flaxseed). To substitute, use 3 TBS of ground flaxseed for every TBS of butter. I also substituted 1/4 cup agave nectar for the honey and half the brown sugar (so just 1/4 cup total of agave nectar). So I omitted the honey, and only used 1/4 cup brown sugar. Agave nectar is lower on the glycemic index and does not affect blood sugar levels as much as sugar. It is also very sweet so you can use 1/2 the amount of sugar that a recipe calls for. Also added cinnamon as some suggested-loved the results! I am doing the points plus program for Weight Watchers and three of these cookies equals 4 points! Thanks for the recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oreobristol January 15, 2011

These cookies are fantastic! I use vanilla yogurt instead of butter, add in flax seed and cinnamon, and cut the sugar and honey in half, and they are still sweet enough. We love cookies but like being healthy, and this recipe allows us to have both. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookKT April 25, 2010

Wow, what a great little recipe! My brothers gobbled these up. I used a bit less salt, like Coolmom suggested, and I added 1/4 t. cinnamon and 1/2 c. each of raisins and chocolate chips. This recipe doesn't take long to make -- it doesn't make very many cookies either, but that's fine, because then there aren't a bunch of leftovers to tempt me. lol. :) Yummy when eaten warm with a glass of cold milk! They got the Picky Sibling Seal of Approval. I only baked them for 12 minutes and they were done. Next time, I think I'll use 1/3 c. of the chips and raisins (1/2 c. almost seemed like too much). Thanks for a super good and relatively healthy recipe to make for my family!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook May 21, 2006

Love this cookie with a few changes: I use 1/4 cup tbsp of mixed agave and organic honey. Then, I only use half the brown sugar and half the salt. I also added a little cinnamon and a little more oats. They turned out AMAZING both times I did this. I've added chocolate chips w/ walnuts, and cranberries. Both blends were great. Will make again for sure

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Kristy February 05, 2011

This is a wonderful recipe. Cookies come out crunchy yet not crumbly when cooled. I think this is the best healthy oatmeal cookie recipe I have found. Sweetness is perfect, texture is great if you are looking for slightly chewy and crunchy cookies.
I did make some changes though:

I used Gluten-free flour mix ( decreased flour by about 1-2 tablespoons and added extra baking soda) and Gluten free Oats.
I replaced half the butter with coconut oil ( because coconut oil is good for you)
I replaced half of the honey with dark agave ( because dark agave is yummy)
I replaced the egg ( because I didn't have any) with a flaxseed & water mixture- which works great as a binder if you don't have eggs.
I also suggest adding cinnamon and/or vanilla. I added both as well as some walnuts.

Thanks for posting thi. This will be my new go-to oatmeal cookie recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy1181 January 24, 2013

These are excellent cookies! Like others, I cut the brown sugar in half. I doubled this recipe and only ended up with 38 cookies. I used a tablespoon to scoop them out so I don't think they were too big... I can't imagine getting 30 cookies without doubling the batch! I also replaced 1 T of butter with flax meal. I didn't add anything extra this time, but might next time. They are very delicious and in my opinion, would be too sweet with the full amount of brown sugar. Thank you for this healthy dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 April 07, 2012

loved this cookie. made them for my grandchildren and husband. gone by nightfall. followed recipe exactly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cecememe26 August 25, 2011

Reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Reduced oatmeal to one cup and the other half cup was a mixture of oat bran and wheat germ. Added sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds and golden raisens. i cooked them for 14 minutes, but I also made large ones instead of a bunch of small ones. These turned out very, very yummy and they were very easy to make. Next time I am going to substitute egg beaters for the egg and see what happens.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
precisephotocopy_461102 August 15, 2011

I'm a lousy baker, easily distracted, completely incapable of following a recipe to the letter, so I was surprised at how well these turned out. I decided to follow some of the comment's suggestions and cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and chose to add all of the following: craisins, walnuts, and dark chocolate chips. They turned out really well. I also sprinkled cinnamon on top of them (I had meant to mix it in but forgot until after I already had them out on the baking sheet and decided to just go with sprinkling. My husband and daughter both like them, though I think my daughter would've preferred something just a little sweeter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HLGStrider May 24, 2011

Very good cookies! I did think they were a little sweet, though. I subbed agave nectar for the honey but otherwise followed the recipe and added raisins. Next time I'll cut the brown sugar by about 1/4 c. and add cinnamon and more oats like another reviewer suggested. Thanks for a new, healthier cookie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid May 06, 2011
Healthy Honey Oatmeal Cookies