13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Although the chicken came out super moist, even leaving off the wheat germ crust, the flavor was lacking. I had to add honey mustard salad dressing as a dipping sauce at the end. May try again and play with the ingredients to see if I can tweak it enough to keep.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking with Sean May 03, 2011

Interesting taste but the coating did not get crispy before the chicken was done. Will try again with less coating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ndgreen December 06, 2009

I couldn't find any wheat germ and had to substitute wheat flour instead. Since no one else mentioned it, I'm guessing the flour is what made the mixture very sticky and difficult to apply to the chicken. I'm giving it a 3 because the stickiness made preparation difficult, but that was my own fault for trying to substitute! I enjoyed the taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatsPoetic February 01, 2008

I used 2 boneless/skinless chicken breasts and cut them into about 15 pieces then followed the mixture recipe as listed. Very good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsSmith05 October 16, 2007

I'm impressed! :D I cooked this tonight for myself and my mom, dad, and son. You have my 5 hands down, but also pleased 2 of my 3 picky eaters!!! Pops is just more into spicey stuff. It really had a way of appealing to the ladies of the house and pleased my son to no end. From the first bite, he said, "I'm going to save some of this for tomorrow! I told him I'd make it for him again real soon. Oh, and he wants me to cook 100 chickens this way, but I'll have to break it to him that there's not enough time for that. ;) Now, for the part you're all waiting to here...wink. I made it with 4 boneless skinless breasts, used sugar free apricot marmalade, cause that's what I had, and used toasted wheat germ. Oh, and I made the amount of topping for all 6, because we all have to go a little crazy every once in a while. :P Served with steamed broccoli with garlic and orange zest, and big ol' baked taters. :D Barb's corn, however is about to drive me insane with cravings. ;) Thanks so much for the wonderful chicken!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook August 30, 2007

Yummy and family friendly! I doubled the coating mixture by mistake, but would recommend doing so as it was just right. Used apricot jam and toasted wheat germ. Stayed very moist even though skin was removed before cooking and it had no added fat. Loved the other reviewer's idea of a quick fix using boneless skinless chicken, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 06, 2006

Although the chicken is very juicy, we found the flavour to be quite bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb July 02, 2006

Here's what i did, i cut up the chicken bite size, marinate it with the mixture(germ includedd) for 1 hour. Before baking, i coat it again w/ about 2T wheat germ. Mine baked 30min (chicken is cooked) but didnt' form a crust (but were soggy=and i was surprised like it Ü , nice dijon honey taste) the only problem is, the flavor didnt go into the chicken. Maybe i should've marinated it longer,probably overnight. UPDATE: made these to coat tofu, still taste great, alhtough w/ a different texture

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawn512 June 18, 2006
Healthy Honey Chicken