Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Honey Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Honey Chicken

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2011

      Although the chicken came out super moist, even leaving off the wheat germ crust, the flavor was lacking. I had to add honey mustard salad dressing as a dipping sauce at the end. May try again and play with the ingredients to see if I can tweak it enough to keep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Interesting taste but the coating did not get crispy before the chicken was done. Will try again with less coating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

    • on February 01, 2008

      I couldn't find any wheat germ and had to substitute wheat flour instead. Since no one else mentioned it, I'm guessing the flour is what made the mixture very sticky and difficult to apply to the chicken. I'm giving it a 3 because the stickiness made preparation difficult, but that was my own fault for trying to substitute! I enjoyed the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I used 2 boneless/skinless chicken breasts and cut them into about 15 pieces then followed the mixture recipe as listed. Very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      I'm impressed! :D I cooked this tonight for myself and my mom, dad, and son. You have my 5 hands down, but also pleased 2 of my 3 picky eaters!!! Pops is just more into spicey stuff. It really had a way of appealing to the ladies of the house and pleased my son to no end. From the first bite, he said, "I'm going to save some of this for tomorrow! I told him I'd make it for him again real soon. Oh, and he wants me to cook 100 chickens this way, but I'll have to break it to him that there's not enough time for that. ;) Now, for the part you're all waiting to here...wink. I made it with 4 boneless skinless breasts, used sugar free apricot marmalade, cause that's what I had, and used toasted wheat germ. Oh, and I made the amount of topping for all 6, because we all have to go a little crazy every once in a while. :P Served with steamed broccoli with garlic and orange zest, and big ol' baked taters. :D Barb's corn, however is about to drive me insane with cravings. ;) Thanks so much for the wonderful chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

    • on October 06, 2006

      Yummy and family friendly! I doubled the coating mixture by mistake, but would recommend doing so as it was just right. Used apricot jam and toasted wheat germ. Stayed very moist even though skin was removed before cooking and it had no added fat. Loved the other reviewer's idea of a quick fix using boneless skinless chicken, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      Although the chicken is very juicy, we found the flavour to be quite bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      Here's what i did, i cut up the chicken bite size, marinate it with the mixture(germ includedd) for 1 hour. Before baking, i coat it again w/ about 2T wheat germ. Mine baked 30min (chicken is cooked) but didnt' form a crust (but were soggy=and i was surprised like it Ü , nice dijon honey taste) the only problem is, the flavor didnt go into the chicken. Maybe i should've marinated it longer,probably overnight. UPDATE: made these to coat tofu, still taste great, alhtough w/ a different texture

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      What a great crust! I used chicken breasts. I also made for the two of us and the wheat germ mixture was enough for that.. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      Very good I liked the taste of the wheat germ. The amount of coating is only enough for two breasts. I made it with 2 leg thighs and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      Very tasty chicken, the crust is VERY good, I made it like the recipe stated, but, made it only for 2 people,using skinless, boneless chicken breast. I made the full amount of the wheat germ mixture, If I were to make it for 6 chicken breast I would more than double the amount. I found that spreading the wheat germ mixture on the chicken worked good using the back of a teaspoon. Thank you for posting the recipe Michelle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Honey Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    18%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 188.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites