19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! a great way to get in healthy omegas and fiber. I made a batch and froze them. They reheat great in the microwave!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunkist100 September 19, 2008

Not good. I was looking for a good, moist healthy option to a traditional muffin. This wasn't it. It wasn't very moist at all, despite many of the reviews I read. Too dense and not very flavorful, despite the various spices. I'd rather just make a traditional bran muffin rather than make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christine_schlag December 31, 2013

I did make modifications based on available ingredients and time. This recipe is excellent. I made this for my kids and my daughter has been asking for me to make it again. She loves to have it as part of her breakfast. I think it is a very healthy breakfast. It is a five star recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silentdove December 09, 2012

Just tried these muffins and while they are indeed delicious - I found that the topping doesn't "stick" and so eating them is a very messy business, with nuts falling everywhere!! I would make these again and just mix the nuts straight into the batter instead of precariously piling them on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lainieelton_11504403 October 10, 2012

I skipped the topping because my toddler doesn't like nuts. Subbed chocolate chips for the raisins and skipped the ginger. Wonderful, healthy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u April 26, 2012

Really good! Love the texture and the power packed nutrition! I used red mill whole wheat pastry flour, and I ground the oatmeal so my 10 year old won't taste it. I also pureed the carrot w/ sweet potato, and used only 1/4 spoonful of ginger. I loved the fact that it used so little butter and sugar and the taste just so wonderful! Thank you for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
korea_10017 November 12, 2011

I'm not going to rate this because I've made a lot of changes. I used the basic ratios as a starting off place for the flours/grains I used. I've now found (IMO) the perfect mix of steel cut oats, bulgur, and wheat flour to get a high fiber (5 g/muffin), lower calorie muffin. I am using your combo of spices and have added frozen blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kleyt September 12, 2011

These are so great! Packed with all kinds of good things. I love the texture!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carseatcrazy June 16, 2011

Thanks for a great recipe. I added flax seeds and left out the raisins. I only had a mixture of nuts in my cupboard so I used those (walnuts, pecans, cashews). Straight out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream these were amazing. Still yummy as little snacks throughout the day (minus the ice cream).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin October 31, 2010

I will be trying these soon. Great combo of ingredients I might put in some flax seed. Looks tasty and healthy and thats what you need when you are always looking for something to much on after dinnertime and before you head out in the morning..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flourandflowers August 26, 2010
Healthy Harvest Breakfast Muffins