Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Hamburger and Green Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Hamburger and Green Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2002

      This is a thick, very good, very satisfying soup. I made the recipe just as posted, except for adding lots of cracked pepper. This was to be a first course for St. Patricks day dinner, but decided to have it on Sat with a big loaf of french bread. Glad we did. It may be too much of a soup to start a meal. This soup IS a meal. Delicious!! Thanks Heather Feather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      We bought a LOT of ground beef as it was on sale! I was looking for something different to do, & this soup was perfect. It was thick & hearty, & as Inez says... it IS a meal! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Made this the other day for my niece and nephew who are 6 and 3. I had my doubts about whether they would eat it. They took one look at it and said no thanks, but after trying it they both gobbled it up and said it was good. It wasnt soupy at all but that may have been my fault, but it was still good! I used pasta instead of rice (preference), and tomato soup with some milk instead of cream of tomato. Also used French cut green beans and think I will from now on... Added a little garlic powder and worcestershire sauce and it made a great meal! Thanks! UPDATE: I have made this a few times now and Ive found that its easier to cook the noodles (or rice) separate and just add in as much as you need to the individual servings. That way if there's any leftover it will still taste fresh the next day! P.S.--The kids still love it!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      Excellent lunch soup!! Very hearty but healthy too. I didn't have any hamberger on hand so I used ground chicken instead, worked out fine, great taste, added just a tiny bit of hot sauce which gave it a nice zing.I will be making this one again, maybe next time with the hamberger, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2014

      Very good, my family liked it. I added an evenlope of onion soup mix and a lot of salt and pepper. Hearty soup, great meal, comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      We really enjoyed this. I doubled the recipe, used 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 spicy Italian sausage and frozen green beans. My rice got thirsty and I needed to add some more water. It was good! Definitely filling, I will probably make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      LOVE this soup. I pretty much follow the recipe except I add more beans. SOOOOO good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Considering how simple this was to prepare, this was pretty good. I, too, used a can of low sodium tomato soup and 1 cup of milk. I may try using cream of tomato soup next time and 1.5 c beef broth to see if that improves the flavor. Oh, and I left out the rice and served this with cornbread. May, or may not, make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      My 9 year old daughter made this soup for dinner. We used 1 lb. of ground beef and a can of cream of mushroom soup for the tomato, because that is all we had. My husband said it was the best soup he had eating in a long time. Very simple to make and yet really tasty. Thank you for positing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Easy and using thing I almost always have on hand. I substituted beef broth for the water and added about a clove of garlic. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was good and easy to make but I thought it needed more seasonings. I doubled the recipe but followed it exactly other then I didn't spray my pan with cooking spray before adding the meat. We ate it for dinner and I also took it for lunch the next day. The next day it was more like a thick stew that I ate with a fork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I made this months ago and forgot to rate, sorry. I like this recipe cause I had all the ingredients on hand. I added a pinch of cayanne to add some kick. I also omitted the rice and instead used a handful of macoroni noodles. The end result was delicous. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This dish is the best, especially on cold winter evenings! I know it says that regular condensed soup can be used instead of the condensed cream soup, however, I actually liked the cream of tomato back when I could actually find it. So, I usually add just a little heavy cream when I add the soup and I think it really makes this dish wonderful. I have doubled this recipe for my family, and even tripled it when guests were coming over and everyone loves it. The only problem is that I never seem to have any leftovers ;-( I have actually made this about a dozen times, can't believe I forgot to rate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This was ok. It needed more flavor. I added some garlic and some steak seasoning. I used frozen beans. It was a fast prep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      I had a feeling this recipe would be a keeper, and I was right. I went ahead and made a double batch of it the first time so that I could freeze individual portions. I did make a couple of substitutions. First of all, I didn't have any cream of tomato soup in the pantry, so I used regular condensed tomato soup and substituted evaporated skim milk for some of the water and tomato sauce (to keep the proportions intact). I used instant brown rice. Instead of canned beans, I used a 16-ounce package of frozen cut green beans (remember, this was for a double recipe). Even with these changes, the soup turned out beautifully -- thick, rich and flavorful. I definitely will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Delicious! Made this tonight for my in-laws and everyone finished their bowls with compliments. I used a whole package of lean hamburger and 1 onion - I didn't measure out the onion. Also, I substituted fresh green beans for canned and fresh parsley for dried. VERY easy, VERY good. I love that I usually have these ingredients on hand in the pantry. I will make this soup again. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I have made this soup many times now since coming across it here at Recipezaar. I make a big batch and freeze it in containers to microwave for lunch at work. It has become one of my favorite lunches! It's satisfying and delicious! Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      We really enjoyed this soup. We made it vegetarian with comparable substitutions, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone was happy with familiar ingredients. It was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      We really liked this soup. The only thing we did differently was to add in a can of corn, which I thought was a nice add. Great for the kids! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This was really bland. I used regular tomato soup so that might have been the problem.Otherwise, i followed the directions. I had to add alot of other spices just to get it to an o.k rating. It was very easy to make though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Hamburger and Green Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (441 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.2
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    23%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 39.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1144.3 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites