Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Granola Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Granola

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2008

      In response to Cheezhead's concerns: If you look at the nutrition facts, the fat comes from the seeds, nuts and a little from the oil. These are all healthy fats, not animal fats, so I wouldn't be as concerned with this recipe. By far, the biggest contributor to the fats is the coconut, but that may be bcz it's 1/2 pound. You could leave that out if it concerns you. I will try making this, but reducing the amounts. I only have a little sorghum right now. UPDATE: Well, I finally made it, cutting in half. Didn't use coconut, so added extra oats (about 2 C) to compensate. I put them in 2 pans and had to cook for close to 1 hour bcz it was probably too thick. Left out the fruit and added some pepitos. It didn't seem sweet enough, so next time I would use all honey; maybe the sorghum was too light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      My husband and I love this granola. I almost can't wait for morning so I can have another bowl of it. (I said 'almost')

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Thanks for a great and easy recipe! It was my first time making granola and I'm extremely satisfied.I dropped sorghum and pecans because these are very hard to get hold of where I live. Added some apple juice to the liquid part. Added hazelnuts, whole almonds, sunflower seeds and raw peanuts. Yummer! My husband also loved it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Canola oil is anything but healthy. I'd sub in some Olive Oil instead. Ok, so I'm editing my comments because I made it. It was pretty tasty and I added flax seed and psyllium to the mix as well. Oh, and I only made 1/5 of the recipe hehehe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Anything with 52% fat should NOT have the word healthy in the title, no matter how good it tastes! This sweet treat shold be consumed VERY sparingly for a healthy diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Yum! I made this a week ago and it is still delish. I made a few adjustments due to a lack of ingredients on hand. I used raw spanish peanuts instead of almonds and pecans and used maple syrup instead of molases. The peanuts were great - honey roasted. I dropped the tempurature to 200 and roasted for about an hour and a half - until browned. Great roasted flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      I'm going for my third batch now, and I really like this recipe. The amount of sugar is just right (I eat it with sweetened soy milk, though); if you usually eat industrial granola it might take some getting used to, but it's definitely worth it: this one tastes less of sugar and more of fruits and nuts. The only thing that seems strange is that in my oven it takes about 90 min for it to be reasonably crunchy -- but then again, I'm not using jelly roll pans. As for variations, I've added soy flour (nice taste, and increases proteins), corn flakes (just a bit, for the crunchiness), sunflower seeds, Brazil Nuts, dried bananas, dates and apricots (the latter 4 are easily available where I live, and they taste wonderfully). I've tried milled and whole flax seeds, and both seemed nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      I would give this more stars if possible! This is the best granola I've ever tasted and I've ever made. I love the molasses flavor and also love the reduced oil in it. I cut the recipe in half, used sweetened coconut (because that's what I had) and also increased the nuts. I baked it for 35 minutes as I like it crunchy. Thanks for a keeper recipe - I'll be throwing away all my other granola recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Great tasting recipe! My 13 yr old son begs me to make it! I love being able to slip wheat germ and flax into their diets! Don't forget to add the fruit AFTER cooking. That was my little oopsy with the first batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      Love it!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      This is a great tasting granola recipe! I only wish that it would have been a little more clumped when it cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      I was eating my breakfast this morning; of course I eat it every morning, but today was exceptional. I decided to cook myself some Kashi. Of course I cooked too much. While I was enjoying just enough I thought what am I going to do with the rest of this bird seed? Maybe roll it into shortening or lard to make birdie-treats. Let's see, shape it into a bell, put a ribbon on it and hang it from a bare Maple tree limb at Christmas time. Tasty, seasonal and decorative. Paula, you would approve, given your love of Maple... but I digress. Where was I??? Oh yes... I was eating my Kashi and enjoying surfing the recipes... Paula, Paula, what have you done, my dear innovative chef? Well, well, I like Granola... I have all the ingredients in my pantry; I have Splenda, white and brown, what a great way to use things up and replace them with new and improved. Paula, I must say the flavour was perfect, even without baking. I did follow your suggestion, however, and baked it for additional time, for a crunchier texture. The "too much" Kashi??? I am glad you asked. "Why not"? I mused, "it is all seeds etc". There was about a cup left over from my breakfast, so I threw caution to the wind; and Kashi into the Healthy Granola mix; the wrath of PaulaG, nothwithstanding. Yeppers, that's what I did alright! One more thing, Paula. A full batch, sure do make a ton o'good-fer-ya stuff. That's OK, because you promised it would keep for 6 months in a cold place... the 'fridge? I'll betcha with bakin' sody and flour, this recipe would make a hulluva batch of cookies. The batter tastes like it. Yep, It sure do! Three words to sum up, Paula... I LOVE IT!!!! Thank you (that's five words).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      Excellent recipe. I halved the recipe because it makes a ton, depending upon how many are in your household. I usually hate granola (store-bought anyway), but this is wonderful topped with yogurt and fresh fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      This is delicious! I used dried blueberries and sucanat for the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      Fantastic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Very tasty!! I used blackstrap molasses so it ended up kind of dark but the flavor was wonderful and very comforting, like a molasses cookie for breakfast! I substituted butter for the oil and sunflower seeds for the sesame seeds but everything else was the same. I bet if you added a little ginger too it would taste like gingerbread. YUM! This one goes into the will-make-again file. Thanks Paula for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      WOW! this was GREAT!!! Honestly the best granola I've ever tried. I halved the recipe, used molasses, used a mix of raisins and dried cranberries and blueberries. Simply wonderful. Definitely going to be making a second batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      Paula, this is excellent! Granola is difficult to get just right, especially when it's healthy. Most regular recipes have too much oil or too much sugar to be truly good for you, and other healthy recipes I've tried (I've tried a lot)just don't have enough flavor or they're so tough they'll break your teeth. I made a half-recipe and am wishing I'd made the full batch. Good with milk or by the handful. I used real brown sugar and molasses and a combo of blueberries and cranberries. Lots of crunch, the berries give some nice color, and chock full of all kinds of good for you ingredients. Milled flax seed is a great addition. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      This sounded so good to me, but had ingredients my daughters are always saying they don't like in their granola (coconut, nuts, etc) so I just made 1/4 batch for myself. It smelled so good while baking that they were all drawn to the kitchen, begging for a taste. Once it cooled down and they each had a nibble, they ended up eating the entire thing! Now I have to make more for breakfast tomorrow, but this time I'll make the full batch, or maybe even a double, lol. I was intrigued by the sorghum in the ingredients; for as often as I've made granola, it had never occured to me to use sorghum. I really liked it! It added a richness and depth of flavor (without overwhelming sweetness) that I've never quite managed to achieve with honey and brown sugar alone. I will do that in all my granolas from now on. I made this pretty much as written, although I used both ground and whole flax seeds and also subbed sunflower seeds for about 1/3 of the nuts. I'll probably add dried cranberries and raisins to the next batch; the girls ate all of this before I had a chance to add the fruit! Thanks so much for posting a healthy, family-friendly recipe ~ I know we'll be making it often! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      This is a great recipe, not overly sweet and very tasty. I was looking for ways to incorporate flax seeds into my diet and found your recipe. My family couldn't tell that I added wheat germ and milled flax seeds. I used craisins, dried cherries, and raisins; and a mixture of walnuts slivered almonds and pecans. Just bake them at the stated times, it will seem soft but will get crunchy after it cools. I found this out after I scorched ( okay, burnt) the first batch of pans. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Granola

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.1
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    53%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 94.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brown sugar substitute

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes