11 Reviews

I left out the coconut and the butter (added a little more banana and flax). They were really tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christieburnsis October 14, 2007

Even though I had to leave out the walnuts because poor, this was still an interesting combination of all things healthful. Like many other have noted, it's a little lacking in sweetness. But that doesn't necessarily make these muffins "healthy". It was a bit too heavy on the fat with so much butter and yogurt in my opinion. If I make something like this again, I might also add more spices, more like for a carrot cake. Overall, this recipe was interesting but not the best. Might tweak it and repeat though. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hansi M. October 23, 2013

I have been making these, or a variation of these, for years now. Thanks so much. I upped the oatmeal amount and lowered the flour amount, have added sunflower seeds and more raisins, have made with oil instead of butter, and also tried with 2 eggs... A great base recipe in my opinion. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelicamarino February 20, 2013

Not quite sweet enough for me. I thought using vanilla low-fat yogurt would be enough and of course the added raisins and apples..but it wasn't. I did add a few t's of flax seed as well and left out the coconut. (there was my mistake for added sweetness - duh). Over all a nice healthy muffin for anytime. Made for Nuffin But Muffin Tag in KK's forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB October 16, 2010

These muffins made a great breakfast. Admittedly, I did add 2 tbsp of brown sugar because I was afraid of making these without any at all but next time I will leave it out. To make them even healthier, I replaced half of the butter with canola oil. Otherwise, I did everything as directed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay August 12, 2008

I was concerned about the lack of sugar or honey or any kind of sweetener, but it was really very good. I used blueberry yogurt. Very nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diannejm January 01, 2008

these muffins were definitely healthy, but they were not sweet enough - granted the health outweighed the sweetness. Next time though, I would add something sweet, whether it be white chocolate chips or a bit of suger (obviously not AS healthy then!) but overall a fairly good muffin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovin' to cook September 03, 2006

Made these for breakfast this morning. Quite easy to make. You can wip these up in no time. We liked these alot. The next time I am going to add honey to them for alittle sweeter version. A must try,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE July 04, 2006

i randomly found this recipe and made it yesterday --delicious!! i have been living in jerusalem for 7 months now and am missing my new england healthy food. the muffins were a big hit with my torah class too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruthiejoy January 18, 2006

Moist and surprizingly good without being sweet. I never thought I'd say that! If you want them sweeter, try them with honey when you eat them. These also "stick" with you longer than some sugary muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine July 21, 2005
Healthy Good Morning Muffins