12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a lovely dish. I like that it's low fat and easy to prepare. My DH wanted a roast with mashed potatoes for dinner tonight. This made my weight watching so much easier. We loved the flavor and as I'm writing this review I just now realize I forgot the butter/oil. Well that just goes to show you that even without the extra fat this is great. I liked the sturdiness of the potatoes. I used a hand masher because we enjoy them thick and not creamy. Loved the touch of sage. Thanks for posting. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas May 02, 2010

These are delicious! I ended up just mashing with a fork, as I wanted a coarse consistency. I used low fat sour cream, but ended up adding a bit of water because my potatoes were just a bit dry. Very tempted to add more butter, but watching calories! Thanks for sharing this healthy recipe for mashed potatoes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 26, 2011

These were good. I used a whole head of garlic because we all love garlic. Not sure what exactly it was, but we didn't like these as much as other garlic mashed potatoes we have had, it may be the sage. They were good, just not our favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom May 12, 2012

I learned one thing tonight: I do not like sage in my mashed potatoes. I thought it gave them a strange flavor. I did like the smell of the garlic boiling with the potatoes. It smelled so good, but I still ended up adding garlic powder as the taste was over powered by the sage I thought. The texture of the potatoes was good and creamy though so I would try making them again without the sage. These potatoes were just okay to me; everyone ate them, but I have had better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin April 24, 2012

I scaled the recipe back for 2 serves and there was plenty for 3 of us as one of our sides. I used fresh sage as I had some there and used butter and sour cream but so salt just pepper. A lovely side with Crusted Fish With Wine-Mustard Sauce, made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 02, 2011

YUM! I loved the sour cream... makes them so creamy and yummy but you would never guess light. ;) I cheated and used the frozen steam n' mash potatoes to make easier, but otherwise followed this recipe. I served with Weight Watchers Parmesan Chicken Cutlets. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ April 02, 2010

Made this with buttermilk & also changed one small thing (in my opinion) ~ Instead of peeling the potatoes, I diced them small & steamed them along with the cloves of garlic, wanting to retain as much of the potato nutrients as possible! That made the finished product a little less 'creamy' but the intended flavor came through very nicely! Another time, though, & I'll likely season them with my ol' standby, lemon pepper! Thanks for posting this great recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 23, 2010

Yum Yum Yum Yummy! Fantastic mashed potatoes. Loved the garlic flavoring - perfect amount of cloves for the amount of potatoes. Used black pepper as a preference and sour cream as the option you listed. Nice and creamy texture and seems much more fattening than this recipe really is which is a bonus! Thanks Nif for a keeper. Glad I tagged you in Went to the Market tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom February 08, 2010

Made for Went to Market Tag. Excellent mashed potatoes. The garlic and sage go together very well ~ a different combination that I was a little leary of, but had no reason to be. Thanks for posting this Nif.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 26, 2009
Healthy Garlic Mashed Potatoes