Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2010

      What a lovely dish. I like that it's low fat and easy to prepare. My DH wanted a roast with mashed potatoes for dinner tonight. This made my weight watching so much easier. We loved the flavor and as I'm writing this review I just now realize I forgot the butter/oil. Well that just goes to show you that even without the extra fat this is great. I liked the sturdiness of the potatoes. I used a hand masher because we enjoy them thick and not creamy. Loved the touch of sage. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      These are delicious! I ended up just mashing with a fork, as I wanted a coarse consistency. I used low fat sour cream, but ended up adding a bit of water because my potatoes were just a bit dry. Very tempted to add more butter, but watching calories! Thanks for sharing this healthy recipe for mashed potatoes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2012

      These were good. I used a whole head of garlic because we all love garlic. Not sure what exactly it was, but we didn't like these as much as other garlic mashed potatoes we have had, it may be the sage. They were good, just not our favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      I learned one thing tonight: I do not like sage in my mashed potatoes. I thought it gave them a strange flavor. I did like the smell of the garlic boiling with the potatoes. It smelled so good, but I still ended up adding garlic powder as the taste was over powered by the sage I thought. The texture of the potatoes was good and creamy though so I would try making them again without the sage. These potatoes were just okay to me; everyone ate them, but I have had better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      I scaled the recipe back for 2 serves and there was plenty for 3 of us as one of our sides. I used fresh sage as I had some there and used butter and sour cream but so salt just pepper. A lovely side with Crusted Fish With Wine-Mustard Sauce, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      YUM! I loved the sour cream... makes them so creamy and yummy but you would never guess light. ;) I cheated and used the frozen steam n' mash potatoes to make easier, but otherwise followed this recipe. I served with Weight Watchers Parmesan Chicken Cutlets. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Made this with buttermilk & also changed one small thing (in my opinion) ~ Instead of peeling the potatoes, I diced them small & steamed them along with the cloves of garlic, wanting to retain as much of the potato nutrients as possible! That made the finished product a little less 'creamy' but the intended flavor came through very nicely! Another time, though, & I'll likely season them with my ol' standby, lemon pepper! Thanks for posting this great recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Yum Yum Yum Yummy! Fantastic mashed potatoes. Loved the garlic flavoring - perfect amount of cloves for the amount of potatoes. Used black pepper as a preference and sour cream as the option you listed. Nice and creamy texture and seems much more fattening than this recipe really is which is a bonus! Thanks Nif for a keeper. Glad I tagged you in Went to the Market tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

    • on March 26, 2009

      Made for Went to Market Tag. Excellent mashed potatoes. The garlic and sage go together very well ~ a different combination that I was a little leary of, but had no reason to be. Thanks for posting this Nif.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I made these mashed potatoes for DH cause he loves garlic. He really loved them and I used only 3 cloves of garlic. For me, since I don't really like garlic, I didn't like them so much. That's why the rating is based on DH :) I didn't find dried sage so I had to omit it. I used fat free sour cream. Thanks Nif. Made for 123 hit wonders

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Yum! Very simple and tasty potatoes. Loved the garlic in these! Thanks Nif. Made for NKOTB tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.5
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    10%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 5.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 110.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites