25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These bars are great! I used half Splenda and half sugar and the result was perfect. I will enjoy these for breakfast and snacks. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas June 30, 2007

these are good. I didn't have any wheat germ so I just used 3 tbsp flax seeds. I also used white flour and olive oil. overall they are good but will wait for huddy to be the final judge tonight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munnumaa June 10, 2009

I love these! So easy and versatile too. I used 1/2 cup of sugar because my applesauce was sweetened, and used almonds as my nut, and did everything else according to the recipe. It came together quickly and the bars froze well, too. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 May 04, 2009

Delicious! I made them exactly as recipe stated and like everyone else I found them to be super moist and delicious! I will be making these on a weekly basis!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisySunshine March 01, 2009

I have been looking for something that was healthy and tasty and this fits the bill. I did use 1/2 cup brown sugar like one reviewer said. I didn't have wheat germ so I just doubled the flax. It was so moist and I had it for breakfast and for a mid-afternoon snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef likestocook February 04, 2009

Yummy! I was very impressed with how tasty this healthy recipe is. I made a couple of substitutions, just because I realized too late that I didn't have yogurt or applesauce in the house. I used milk instead of yogurt and apple butter in place of the applesauce. The apple butter gave a wonderful flavor; I think I'd use it again! These bars turned out great - very moist and flavorful! It's a keeper! I might try it next time with cranberries or raisins in place of the chocolate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HannahSve January 09, 2009

I used 1/2 cup kashi and the rest Honey Bunches of Oats. I also split the sugar between brown and white, but it was missing something overall, maybe ground cloves would jazz it up??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristen Porter December 30, 2008

These are pretty good. They're not going to fool anyone into thinking they're really cake or brownies, but if you are looking for a healthy, yet tempting, snack for self or little ones, this fits the bill. I made these for very picky 2 yr. old DDs mid-morning snack and she seemed to enjoy it. I used unsweetened applesauce (all I had), extra nuts (she loves nuts) and doubled the germ since I didn't have flax seed. Thanks for a good treat. Might see if they freeze well, since a 9x13 is a pretty large batch for just me and her :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firealarmqueen May 14, 2008

Great recipe - doesn't taste healthy:) Thanks for posting it. I have made this a few times now and the best part of this recipe is that it's so adaptable. I've used several different cereals and usually use buttermilk instead of yogurt and 1/2 c brown sugar. I love making my own chunky apple sauce in the microwave for this. Even my super picky hubby loves these. Thanks for the great recipe. This is one of my absolute fav's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bud's mom November 18, 2007

Out of all the healthy bar recipes I've been trying, this is the first one to turn out exactly as the recipe said. This is an amazing treat. I love how it turned out so moist with the applesauce and the yogurt. I actually tried it with Vanilla Light & Fit because it was exactly 6 ounces and I wanted to add some more flavor. I also kept the sugar at 1/2 cup. Tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kukosunosuke September 21, 2007
Healthy Chocolate Nut Squares