Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Chicken Pot Pie With Biscuit Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Chicken Pot Pie With Biscuit Crust

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2005

      This was a really nice pot-pie and I love the fact that it's lower in fat than traditional recipes. I followed Roosie's lead on the baking powder and used 1/2 tsp. The crust was nice and flaky so I think that's a good amount to use. I followed the recipe pretty much as written but also added about 1 cup of chopped mushrooms in step #2. All in all a good recipe! Thanks TH!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      What a great little pot pie! I would love to give this recipe the full 5 stars, but I had one problem- the directions say to add baking powder, but the ingredients do not say anything about baking powder! I did add 1/2 tsp and got a lovely light and biscuitty crust. I made a couple subs- I used whole wheat pastry flour for the white flour called for and subbed a very thick white sauce for the canned soup/flour. I did leave out the parsley (none on hand) but I don't believe the final dish suffered much. I also did not peel the potato (I figure why throw away the most nutritious part?). I used leftovers from free-range organic chicken that we had brined and roasted and added extra green beans that needed to be used. I made in a round 2.5 Qt Corningware saucepan, and it made a lovely little pie. The sage is a lovely touch to the crust- I thought it might be strong, but it just added a nice hint of spice. The crust turned out very well for me- perfectly biscuitty and was very easy to work with. We had leftovers for lunch today and they reheated pretty well in the microwave. I have to admit, this is the first pot pie I’ve made that wasn’t from the frozen foods section of the grocery, and I am delighted with how it came out. I found the recipe to be quite quick and easy, with the cooked chicken on-hand. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2003

      This was the first time I had made a pot pie and it turned out sooo good! I put more quanity of veg. chicken broth and chicken into it. Put it in a 9x13. Everyone in the family was raving about how good it was. My husband had 4 helpings. I can't wait to make a beef one also. This is time consuming with the veg. cut ups but worth every bit of time. If you're looking for a good comfort meal, try this one. #1 :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      I've made this a few times and LOVE it! It's a hit every time. I use a rotisserie chicken and Pillsbury biscuits. Also I add celery and peas instead of green beans and add a little more liquid depending on how much chicken and veggies I out in. Since I have the packaged biscuits I only need to bake it for 17 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Very good! Everyone LOVED them!! I would do i picture but we ate them all before i had the chance!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      This was pretty good. Instead of making the crust, I just made the filling and poured it on top of grands biscuits. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because the spices it called for ended up tasting odd to me when it was all cooked. Maybe smaller amounts next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      I loved this. I put broccoli and celery instead of green beans. The crust wasn't all that great but that could have been my doing. I will try a rising crust next time. I LOVED this though and so did my sweety!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I am new to cooking....this was very yummy and easy to make. I added the baking powder recommended by other members, turned out great! I left out the sage by accident, but it didn't really matter I don't think. My fiance loved it and I will be making it again in the future! Thanks :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

    • on October 13, 2008

      Used the crust only for a beef pie. The crust is fantastic and just like a biscuit. I ommitted the sage and used 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder as recommended by other reviewers. I also blind baked the case too, to ensure it stayed crisp. It was lovely and just like a biscuit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      This is a very yummy dish. It's going into our favorites list. I made it just as stated and we all loved it. Next time I'm going to try it with whole wheat pastry flour and add some baking powder to the crust mixture. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Oops, I think you forgot the baking powder in the biscuit topping! Otherwise this is excellent. I added 2 cups sliced mushrooms which I fried with the onions and garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This was easy to make and good. I forgot to put the chicken in and it was still good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      The biscuit recipe on this is really good. Was looking for a biscuit recipe to put on top of another pot pie recipe. This worked very well. Easy and very tasty. I even made a second bacth separatly to go alongside. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Chicken Pot Pie With Biscuit Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.0
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    26%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 74.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 344.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat chicken broth

    reduced-fat cream of chicken soup

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites