33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Since my husband is on the go alot, I was looking for a recipe that resembles a meal and has lots of ingredients that will keep him going throughout the morning and can be used for a snack. So far i've made these twice and forgot to review them, but they went over really well with my family. My husband thought I should add carrots because the bars reminded him of carrot cake, so I tweaked the recipe a bit. I added grated carrots, brown sugar and molasses to the wet mixture. I used honey toasted wheat germ & added nutmeg, allspice, ground cloves, and flax seeds to the dry. I didnt have skim powder milk so I used regular, as well as sweetened applesauce and the pecans. I also used quick cooking oats cause my hubby prefers the texture better. I used 2 1/2 cups to thicken the consistency and needless to say, they turned out really great. My husband was very pleased and wants more. In fact my family gobbled them up. Thanks for a great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andersonk1002 November 03, 2008

I have been making these breakfast cookies for years and I keep coming back to this recipe time and time again. I typically use vanilla yogurt instead of plain, substitute the wheat germ for wheat flour, and substitute half banana and half apple sauce for more of a kick. I use Raisin Bran for the Bran Cereal (this includes the raisins) and add dried cranberries and dark chocolate chips. I'm not sure how "healthy" it is, but I am sure that it is much healthier than the usual chocolate chip cookie. Oh, and I use 2 Tbs. of Cinnamon. If you don't like cinnamon, I wouldn't use this much but I love the flavor it gives these cookies. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoBugsy August 09, 2013

My Family loves these cookies. I usually put some nuts and dried apricots in them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimouellette May 29, 2012

These are excellent. I used raisin bran cereal instead of plain bran flakes, and omitted the separate addition of raisins. Mine came out like cake batter, so I poured it into my 9x11 greased baking dish, and the result tasted like a yummy snack cake. Delicious, healthy, and easy! Thank you Bibliophage91!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly October 24, 2011

I added in some walnuts and I can't make these fast enough for my family! Great for those on the go days and for the kids snacks too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diabeticdelimma1 September 22, 2011

Finally a healthy breakfast "cookie" my whole family likes! I did not have applesauce so I substituted in vanilla yogurt. Omitted the honey and vanilla. Very moist. I will try freezing some to see if they can become an easy OAMC item during the school year. I'm thinking they'll do fine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runningirl July 15, 2011

I made these bars with the following modifications: I cut the recipe in half since I'm only feeding myself. I did not have the wheat germ or the powdered milk so I left them out. I used agave nectar instead of honey, so it would have a lower glycemic index. Then I totally blew up the glycemic index by using a fruit, nut and chocolate trail mix in the bars. I forgot that agave is sweeter per content than honey, so my bars are a bit on the sweet side, but they're pretty darn good and I won't forget next time! THanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelleGA March 12, 2011

A little bland,but good...I think this would be a lot better with dry apple or apricot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosalyn141619_7636241 November 14, 2010

Very yummy!! I needed a cookie that was healthy for my little man. I added, a banana, and 2 tbsp of cocoa and chopped dates instead of raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackie.pinksen January 02, 2010

Thanks for this great recipe! Been having these yummy bars all week for brekkie. I may cut the honey down to 1/4 cup next time I make these just as a personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
browncookie August 07, 2009
Healthy Breakfast Cookies and Bars - Fiber, Protein, and Fruit!