Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Breakfast Cookies and Bars - Fiber, Protein, and Fruit! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Breakfast Cookies and Bars - Fiber, Protein, and Fruit!

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-33 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2009

      These did not work for me, but it might have just been the variations I used. I didn't have wheat germ on hand, so I omitted it. I didn't have flake cereal either, so I used Fiber One. I also substituted chopped dried apples for the raisins (just because I don't like raisins). I also poured the batter into a 9x13 pan and sliced the bars when done. I assumed these changes wouldn't affect the fundamental texture of the bars, but they came out very strange -- kind of gummy, or unpleasantly chewy or cakey. Hard to describe, but I'm afraid I won't be making them again. Am glad others enjoyed them, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Fantastic recipe! As others have noted, it's a big hit with the little ones - leave a few bars on the kitchen table and they will soon be gone! I like to substitute pure whey protein powder (no sweeteners, no other ingredients) for the skim milk powder and add half as much dark chocolate chips as raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This is excellent and you can do lots of variations.... I added nuts of course, peanut butter, whole wheat flour in place of wheat germ.. this works great to place in muffin pans... these keep great.. do not overbake. enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I loved the whole thing. I was the four year old who inhaled it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Love these! At first I also (like the previous reviewer) thought they were too moist , but then they seemed to set up a little more as they sat and they had the texture of a moist cookie...yummy. They aren't too sweet, which is one of the things I liked about them since they are for breakfast and I prefer to have my sweets later in the day. I added protein powder in place of the wheat germ (only because I didn't have any), and I used vanilla yogurt and just omitted adding the extra vanilla in the ingredients list. I also didn't add the extra raisins at the end of the list since I used raisin bran. I made these into bars and got 12 and they baked for the same 15-18 min. stated in the directions. I may add some nuts or sunflower seeds at some point...just to see how that works. Thanks, this is a recipe I will use on a regular basis because I like both the flavor and how healthy it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      These were nice. We felt they were a bit too moist and needed more flavour. I used peach yogurt and dried apricot, but they were still missing something. They'll make a nice breakfast this week though. Thanks BrynMyrtle! Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Excellent cookies perfect meal replacement when on the go!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      These were really good! I baked mine in a 9x13 though because there was no way the batter was thick enough to roll into balls. I don't know what I missed but the batter was really runny. They made really good bars though. :) I subbed in some molasses for some of the honey (less than half of the 1/3 of a cup) and I really liked the rich flavour it imparted. Thanks for sharing. These are a nice change for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I thought these tasted great! I used Total cereal & low carb vanilla yogurt, but did everything as directed. I made bars out of these and while these were cooling, i had a small sliver & loved them! The raisins gave a great sweetness & I love how healthy these are. Thank u for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      this is pretty good. used omega 3 flax flakes. needs more flavor maybe add a few drops of lemon/ orange oil or almond extract. used fage greek yogurt. batter gets thicker and better if you mix it then let it sit for about 20 min - 1/2 an hour before baking. maybe use cranberries or tart cherries next time. got 40-42 cookies wiht my 1 1/2 tbsp cookie scoop. they dont really look done when cooked still look pale. they are soft, not crunchy or crisp. i will try it with banana instead of applesauce next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      This a great tasting healthy recipe! I used vanilla fat free yougart and added extra flax seed, wheat germ, and dried cranberies. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      Not too sweet. I add wheat germ, flax seed, sunflower seads and extra raisins sometimes. Even my 1 year old likes this. Good healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      I love these! I made a few small adjustments, like leaving out the raisins, using vanilla flavored yogurt, and adding a little peanut butter for protein. They are delicious, chewy, not too sweet, and if you bag them up in little snack size bags, they are so easy to grab while running out the door. I think these will become a breakfast staple in my house. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Breakfast Cookies and Bars - Fiber, Protein, and Fruit!

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.9
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    31%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 24.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 320.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes