Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Breakfast Cookies and Bars - Fiber, Protein, and Fruit! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Breakfast Cookies and Bars - Fiber, Protein, and Fruit!

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      This is awesome! I had to change a bunch of stuff, due to lactose intolerance. I used 1.5 c. applesacue and left out the yogurt and used a soy protein powder instead of mik powder. I've been playing with it and the most recent version I used maple and black walnut extract and they are delicious! Thank you so much for a perfect mid day snack to keep the energy up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I used these as my own version of the fiber 1 bars because those have a laxative in them. I use 1 container light vanilla yogurt, light cinnamin apple sauce, wheat bran for the wheat germ, and chocolate chips instead of raisins (I know I know lol). I had to bake about 45 minutes though and didn't add the honey or vanilla, might have been my oven or that I left out the honey. They were soooo good, thanks for the recipe, will be making this a staple in my home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Great tasting healthy breakfast cookie! Even the kids liked them! Next time, I'm going to cut way back on the cinnamon and put in more vanilla and some orange zest to compliment the dried cranberries I used in place of the raisins. I got 36 cookies, which were basically 1 pt each on the WW plan. (2 = 1.5pts & 3 = 2.5pts) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      What this is missing is a little bit of salt...just as oatmeal or hot cereal cooked without salt tastes blah without salt---I would add 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. sea salt to this recipe. I think it will help alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Thank You!! I've been looking for a good breakfast cookie recipe! I make this every Sunday for the week ahead! I've been having fun playing with this recipe. I've tried adding cranberries and orange zest, chopped fresh apples, apricots and sunflower seeds, and my recent favorite: Pumpkin Pie! Substitute canned pumpkin for some of the applesauce and add some pumpkin pie spice. I have to admit, I do add 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar. Excellent recipe, thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      THese are awesome! Easy, yummy and healthy, what more could you want!? I changed them a bit. I used whole grain total instead of bran flakes to punch up the nutrient value. I subbed ground flax seeds for the wheat germ to boost up the omega's and used craisins and pecans instead of the raisins (just becasue I hate raisins). Unofrtunately, I cooked them a few minutes too long and burned the bottoms but they were still yummy. Thank you for the incredible recipe BrynMyrtle!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      Despite the good reviews, I didn't really think these would be that good, they are too healthy! But I was wrong, they are delicious. I did use chocolate chips as my daughter won't eat raisins, and these sure are a nice treat... great portable breakfast or mid morning snack, or anytime snack. I used a 1/2 cup mini chips and will try cutting it to 1/4 cup next time, I think they'll still be good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      Great breakfast cookies. I got 23 out of my batch and had one while still warm. Yum! I did add dried apple chunks to them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      no variations = amazing 2nd batch I decided to spice it up a bit and puree mango with applesauce and used half the amount of honey (not a big fan) I AWAIT THERE DELICIOUSNESS - BUT for now back to studying for finals!!!! Lightweight Rowers TRULY appreciate this recipe YOU ARE GOD TO US!!! perfect Carbohydrate/Fat/Protein Ratio...consider yourself a SCIENCE PRO - people have been trying to do this FOREVER

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      LOVED this! It is so hard to find a healthy snack that taste great and the kids will enjoy! I love how you can change it up so many different ways and it always taste great. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Since my husband is on the go alot, I was looking for a recipe that resembles a meal and has lots of ingredients that will keep him going throughout the morning and can be used for a snack. So far i've made these twice and forgot to review them, but they went over really well with my family. My husband thought I should add carrots because the bars reminded him of carrot cake, so I tweaked the recipe a bit. I added grated carrots, brown sugar and molasses to the wet mixture. I used honey toasted wheat germ & added nutmeg, allspice, ground cloves, and flax seeds to the dry. I didnt have skim powder milk so I used regular, as well as sweetened applesauce and the pecans. I also used quick cooking oats cause my hubby prefers the texture better. I used 2 1/2 cups to thicken the consistency and needless to say, they turned out really great. My husband was very pleased and wants more. In fact my family gobbled them up. Thanks for a great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      I have been making these breakfast cookies for years and I keep coming back to this recipe time and time again. I typically use vanilla yogurt instead of plain, substitute the wheat germ for wheat flour, and substitute half banana and half apple sauce for more of a kick. I use Raisin Bran for the Bran Cereal (this includes the raisins) and add dried cranberries and dark chocolate chips. I'm not sure how "healthy" it is, but I am sure that it is much healthier than the usual chocolate chip cookie. Oh, and I use 2 Tbs. of Cinnamon. If you don't like cinnamon, I wouldn't use this much but I love the flavor it gives these cookies. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      My Family loves these cookies. I usually put some nuts and dried apricots in them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      These are excellent. I used raisin bran cereal instead of plain bran flakes, and omitted the separate addition of raisins. Mine came out like cake batter, so I poured it into my 9x11 greased baking dish, and the result tasted like a yummy snack cake. Delicious, healthy, and easy! Thank you Bibliophage91!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      I added in some walnuts and I can't make these fast enough for my family! Great for those on the go days and for the kids snacks too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      Finally a healthy breakfast "cookie" my whole family likes! I did not have applesauce so I substituted in vanilla yogurt. Omitted the honey and vanilla. Very moist. I will try freezing some to see if they can become an easy OAMC item during the school year. I'm thinking they'll do fine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      I made these bars with the following modifications: I cut the recipe in half since I'm only feeding myself. I did not have the wheat germ or the powdered milk so I left them out. I used agave nectar instead of honey, so it would have a lower glycemic index. Then I totally blew up the glycemic index by using a fruit, nut and chocolate trail mix in the bars. I forgot that agave is sweeter per content than honey, so my bars are a bit on the sweet side, but they're pretty darn good and I won't forget next time! THanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      A little bland,but good...I think this would be a lot better with dry apple or apricot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Very yummy!! I needed a cookie that was healthy for my little man. I added, a banana, and 2 tbsp of cocoa and chopped dates instead of raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      Thanks for this great recipe! Been having these yummy bars all week for brekkie. I may cut the honey down to 1/4 cup next time I make these just as a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Breakfast Cookies and Bars - Fiber, Protein, and Fruit!

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.9
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    31%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 24.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 320.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites