142 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good soup, good for you and quick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom March 24, 2012

I modified this recipe using my pressure cooker: dried white beans (I loathe using canned beans! so bad for you!!!!), homemade chicken broth, broccoli stalks, kale, bok choy and napa cabbage, fresh bouquet garni and i added italian sausage meatballs to the pot, too! (no tomatoes! all other ingredients the same) in the pressure cooker, it took 25 minutes to create a gorgeous pot of deliciousness!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msblisscoach March 12, 2012

This is really a delicious, tasty and healthy soup! My whole family enjoyed it. I added a pound of spicy chicken sausage and with a hot, crusty french bread, this was a great meal for a cold winter night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LI-Ray March 10, 2012

Delicious!! I made this recipen my crockpot for dinner tonight! It was soooo yummy! I did use fresh diced carrots, more onion, more garlic, and double Kale and chopped zucchini, celery and fresh english peas...because I needed to use them before they spoiled. But it was delicious and will definitely be making again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead February 22, 2012

I originally tried this recipe, and rated it in 2010, and am coming back to say how much I love it still! It is a staple in my soups. One note is that I do not use the carrots, but always use more onion, garlic & kale. That is the way I now prefer to have this soup, but wanted to share that I still love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Sunday* February 12, 2012

Fabulous Recipe! I halved this for just my husband and I. After tasting it, I wish I had made the entire recipe. This is a very satisfying soup and the spices are right on target. I used fresh carrots and used about 6. I will definitely make this wonderful recipe again! Thank you, Barbara Steele, for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 31, 2012

Love this soup! I have made it vegetarian with rave reviews from the carnivores in the family. Tonight I am going to add some chicken because I have some I need to use up. I also use fresh carrots and since I am adding chicken, I plan on using just one can of beans. This soup is so hearty and delicious my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Great for a cold winter night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb from Ca December 15, 2011

I have to admit, I was a little skeptical. I've never made a soup with leafy greens; normally, I blend them into smoothies. But this soup has really great flavor, owing in part, I think, to the generous amount of garlic listed in the recipe. Don't skimp on the garlic! Next time I may even add more, garlic lover that I am. I used two cans of beans, as directed, great northern, since that's the white bean I had on hand. I did add an extra can of beans, rinsed, to bulk it up even more. I meant to grab another can of great northern beans, but accidentally grabbed a can of red kidney beans, which I didn't realize until I'd already started opening it. A happy accident, as it turns out... delicious! I also used swiss chard, since my kale was looking sad. I didn't add parsley, but included the parmesan. Oh, and I used fresh carrots, and added them with the onions and garlic. Overall, this soup had great flavor, and the texture was surprisingly good, considering the presence of cooked greens. Another veggie soup that went over quite well around here! Though, okay, I did use homemade turkey stock as my base.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel October 31, 2011

The Kale gives the soup and surprising sweet taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vanessalynnryder June 21, 2011
Healthy Bean Soup With Kale