Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Bean Soup With Kale Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Bean Soup With Kale

    Average Rating:

    140 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 140

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      Nice flavor! I did add a dash of crushed red pepper for a kick. Considering how healthy this is, it is five star! Balanced meal in a bowl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Woohoo, delicious & healthy soup! I blended the broth and one can of beans with my immersion blender, but left everything else whole. The onions & garlic I sauteed on the stove and then stuck in the oven to caramelize. I did add some carrots & parsnip -- I think this soup works very well with extra veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      wow!!!! great soup. I used kidney beans since I didn't have navy beans. Just wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Very good. I used more kale than it called for just because the garden is yielding a lot now and a cup of chopped fresh basil with some diced chicken I had on hand. This couldn't be much easier unless you just open a can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Wonderful! Everything I keep on hand in my pantry! I was amazed that the children enjoyed it! I can never get them to eat kale:) Thank you for this simple yet tasty soup. I warmed us up nicely and will do so all season long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      This was my first attempt at a soup recipe, and I have to say I nailed it! It was delicious and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This soup is delicious. The only change I made was I added crushed tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes and that's only because of what I had in the pantry. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I made this recipe last year about once a week for my husband and I. When a friend came over for lunch, I bought a loaf of Panera and made this recipe. It is so delicious, healthy and easy to make. It is now one of my favorite recipes. I follow the recipe to the letter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      One of my favorite cold weather soups. It has quite a few ingredients, so my boyfriend and I split the work to speed it up, but we love it as does everyone we serve it to. Goes great with whole wheat thyme popovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I make a soup almost identical to this, and it is my very favorite. I use a little less garlic, sliced leeks instead of the onion, then add chopped celery and carrots. I use equal parts diced tomatoes (that I then blend in the blender before adding) as chicken stock (so, 2 cans. Sometimes I also throw in some fresh tomatoes in the blender as well). Seasonings I add, besides the parsley, salt and pepper are: celery seed, fennel seed, hot sauce, cayenne pepper. These seasonings give it a real gourmet taste, with a touch of heat. Five minutes before the end of cooking I stir in 3-4 cups fresh spinach leaves. I do not use parmesan on top. My inspiration for this soup was the White Bean Soup in the Company's Coming Diabetic Cooking cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This soup is fantastic. I had to use frozen spinach in place of the kale and skipped the Italian herbs. This was so easy to make and so flavourful. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

    • on July 28, 2008

      Yum, Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I made this soup once before and I am making it tonight while in the middle of a snow storm, this is the kinda warm and comfort soup we need. I love soups in the winter months. Not ONLY is it healthy for you..LOL..it is GOOD! Love it. Thank you for posting a wonderful healthy soup :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly to directions, but my kale was chewy. Personally, I do not like chewy things in my soup. The flavor is ok, but not what I expected. Too much tomato for my tastes. The recipe calls for 30 oz of beans, but it only uses 3 cups or 24 oz. It also gave me gastrointestinal feedback. I probably would have given it 3.5 stars if I could have. The main benefit is that it's so healthy, but I will not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      This was good and simple. Next time I would double the bean and add some meat, just to make it a little more hearty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      A healthful soup that drew raves from hubby! Amazing. How could I give it less than 5 stars? I didn't have fresh kale so I used a bag of frozen mixed greens, but I was true to the recipe other than that and it turned out VERY nicely. Thank you, Barbara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      loved this-- it is now my standard base recipe for my veggie soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Delicious. I think next time I would add another can of beans to the puree, for even more fiber. I used spinach instead of Kale, and it was great. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Oohh, this was so good. I loved the half blended beans and stock thickening the soup but still having the whole beans, tomatoes and kale for texture. I kept "tasting" it while it was simmering and could hardly wait to sit down with a bowl! Thanks, great post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Bean Soup With Kale

    Serving Size: 1 (518 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    15%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 786.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites