Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Bean Soup With Kale Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Bean Soup With Kale

    Average Rating:

    141 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 141

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2010

      This was very good. I used fresh carrots and a little celery chopped up in the food processor. I also cooked it in the crockpot for about 6 hours after sauteing the onions, garlic, and kale as directed. It seemed like an awful lot of garlic, but it mellowed out nicely. We served it with parmesan on top, yum! The only thing I will change next time is to chop up the kale into very small pieces, maybe with the food processor, to make the soup easier to eat--it was a little sloppy this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      Excellent soup! I didn't change anything except to add 1/2 lb of spicy sausage and it gave great flavor. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      A very easy and good for you soup! The only thing I changed was to use fresh carrots rather than canned. I peeled, chopped and added to the saute at the start.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      Excellent soup! The blended bean/broth mixture makes this nice and thick and the spices, onion, and garlic give it so much flavor. Just perfect!! You caught my eye with the health benefits of lutein in the tomato, but this is soooo delicious too. And kale is in the cabbage family which makes it a cancer preventative. One serving has all the adult daily requirement of vitamins A & C! Very easy to put together. I used great northern beans, and only one can because that's all I had. Topped it with a dash of cayenne and Nutritional Yeast 'Parmesan' Nutritional Yeast 'Parmesan'. Thanks for my fabulous lunch today, Barbara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Excellent recipe. It's so simple to make and has relatively few ingredients. I used my stick blender to puree a portion of the soup. This is my favorite way to puree soups. The flavor was so good I forgot to top it with the parmesan cheese. My husband said it was good even though it had spinach in it. I didn't tell him it was actually kale. After the soup was done cooking and after I sampled it I did add about a half cup of rice. It didn't change the flavor but made the vegetables more tolerable to my husband who is usually a vegetable hater. I will be making this again. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      YUM! I'm enjoying this soup now. Since cans are lined with BPA, I do not use canned foods. I substituted 1 c dried beans, soaked using the quick-soak method. I included the soaking water in the final product. I then used 2 3/4 cups fresh, diced tomoato. I added Hot Italian Chicken Sausage in with the onions in the beginning. YUM YUM YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I had my doubts when I started with this recipe because it doesn't contain any meat. Initially the first day I thought it was okay, but seemed lacking flavor. After a day and night in the fridge that seemed to make all the difference. I couldn't stop eating it. I followed the recipe exactly but added a little tabasco and I used Italian stewed tomatoes. Will make again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      This was pretty good. I didn't like the flavor as well after the parsley was added, maybe that's just our personal preference. The broth was very good even before I added the Italian seasoning. I used 4 medium fresh carrots, but it could have used more (that's all I had). I also used an immersion blender. I would also recommend to chop the Kale very small. I also think spinach would be phenomenal with this broth combo. We are going to try the leftovers over some white rice. All in all, a very good recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Really excellent and actually healthy! I added some pieces of parmesean rind with the broth. They flavor the soup and become chewy and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Loved It!!!!!! I added quite a bit more Kale than called for.We didn't even miss the meat. Hearty and delicious...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I LOVE this soup! As a vegetarian it's much easier to make my own soups than worry about how pre-made ones are prepared... and my very meat-loving boyfriend request this soup frequently!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This soup was really amazing. I never had Kale before and I really enjoyed it. Just make sure to cook it long enough so it's not bitter, taste as you go! I added black, canellini, and kidney beans and red peper flakes for some heat. I also used the canned tomatoes with chili's which I really enjoyed! i didn't pure anything and enjoyed the thinner broth! thanks for the recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This is delicious. I halved the recipe since I'm the only kale eater. I used homemade stock, sliced my carrot, added 1 stalk sliced celery, red pepper flakes and 1/2lb LF smoked turkey sausage. I used rotel tomatoes as I always do and the flavor was awesome. Even though I made 1/2 I did add 1 extra cup of stock to compensate for the celery and sausage I added. I let a thick slice of cuban bread soak up the juice. I'm glad this rocks b/c I'll be eating it all week :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2014

    • on July 26, 2014

      I loved this soup, only thing I did a differently is adding fresh carrots and celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      Very easy and DELICIOUS! I love garlic so this is right up my alley! The only thing that I'm not a fan of is carrots so I left them out. Great soup that even my 8 year old enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      Delicious!! I've been trying to find ways to add kale to my diet and this soup is perfect. I've made it a few times now. Once I added diced chicken. Another time I doubled the amount of kale. And another time I used kidney beans instead of cannellini. Each time the flavor was wonderful. I'll make this again and again. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I officially removed this recipe from my recipe book this week. I really like the ingredients so I keep trying to 'fix' it, but there are other better recipes out there. The biggest problem is too much liquid and not enough beans. The liquid or broth is not really high on flavor either. If not for the cheese on top at the end, it really would not be enjoyable. When my son, a big soup lover, asked me not to make this one anymore, I threw in the towel. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I have picky eaters that aren't always eager to try new healthy recipes, they all loved the soup! I used fresh carrots and Italian dressing spices. This recipe is a keeper;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      This was our first time to eat kale. This was a wonderful introduction to such a strong vegetable. Even our more selective eaters loved it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Bean Soup With Kale

    Serving Size: 1 (518 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    15%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 786.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites