Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Banana Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Banana Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2011

      This came out great! to make it extra healthy I substitute the flour for wheat flour instead and instead of vegetable oil I used lighter bake oil and butter replacement! So its less calories and less fat:-) I also used 6 packets of truvia instead of sugar to make it sweet! Thank you for this recipe:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      After the first day these muffins were incredibly dry. I couldn't force myself to eat them. If I try this recipe again, I will be making only enough to eat fresh, or else adding more fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      These muffins were very delicious! I made a few substitutions that helped make them extra moist and even less in calories!

      Use 3 tbsp of unsweetened applesauce instead of oil
      Use splenda instead of sugar
      Use Egg Creations instead of a real egg

      New nutritional info per muffin: 97 calories, 2.0 grams of fat, 18.0 carbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I used wheat bran, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg and a dash of cloves. I used white sugar - no substitute. I used pecans rather than walnuts and a small box of raisins. The muffins are chewy and have an okay flavor. If I make this recipe again I'd use more of all the spices and maybe a little more sugar. They came out a little strong on the bran flavor. I used foil muffin cups and didn't have any problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I really wanted to like these muffins but I didn't. Just me I think as I am not a big fan of bran, but I thought with the banana and nutmeg I would really like them. Sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      Great muffins! I followed the recipe without the nuts, but put in 1/4 tsp cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Next time I may try using both. The only other thing I would change is spraying the muffin pan next time instead of using paper liners -- when trying to remove the muffin from the liner, they ripped apart. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Fabulous! Smelled wonderful. I also used Splenda & added cinnamon (didn't use nutmeg). Used applesauce for the oil & half whole wheat/oat flour. Can't wait to have some with coffee!! Thank u very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      These muffins have been kid tested and they passed muster. They (and myself) loved them. We ate them right from the oven -- YUMMY!! I highly recommend this muffin recipe. It contains little fat and sugar plus the other ingredients are very healthy. I have my grandson on a bit of a diet, and this muffin more than fills the bill for an after-school healthy snack. Besides being low calories, it is also low fat, low sugar and high in healthy fiber --what the children don't know - or adults for that matter - won't hurt them - in fact, it will help them all very tastily!! These muffins are truley awesome! I followed this recipe as written with no changes. I didn't measure the banana content, I had 3 bananas that were ready for baking and that's what I used; eyeballing the quantity of mashed ripe banana, it appeared to be about 3 cups after mashing; SUPERB!! Thanks roxygibbs for your valuable contribution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Banana Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (636 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.6
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    38%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 158.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes