Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Alphabet Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Alphabet Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2008

      I cheated a bit when making this and used a can of white beans instead of dried beans and therefore omitted the water. The pasta used was Organic Vegetable Alphabets. I sauteed the veggies before adding the broth and reduced the cooking time to about 30 minutes. The cayenne gives the soup a very nice bite wihout making it hot. DD had a 2nd bowl. That alone would make it a 5 star recipe for me. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Nice and easy and tasty too. The kids liked it and I'm happy that I made a nutritious meal. I used tinned kidney beans as I didn't have white beans, so I used a little less water, and it worked out really well. I chopped the onion really fine, used minced garlic, and grated the carrot, so I didn't puree at all, making it simple. I'm tempted to add a little chopped bacon next time, then the husband will eat it too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      Our family really enjoyed this soup. I was looking for something a bit different than our standard chicken noodle soup and this fit the bill. I had some extra tomato paste on hand so used a few tablespoons of that instead of the canned tomatoes and added extra stock. I also added some chopped green beans for extra veggies & colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      We were crazy about this recipe. I made it for my daughters to take to school in their lunches. When it was almost gone, I finished it up. It is a good thing I didn't try it first because they might not have had any if I had! This was a wonderful blend of flavors and textures. I used canned white beans and substituted tomato puree for the tomatoes as one of my daughters doesn't like pieces of tomato. I will stick to this recipe from here on out - it was just right!! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      This was really good, and simple! I took out the beans completely from the recipe, but added browned ground turkey at the same time as adding the noodles. (Husband always has to have some sort of meat or poultry in his dinner!) My grocery store didn't have Alphabet pasta, so I used small shells and they worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      very very good! i made it as written, except instead of white beans i used a 15 bean & lentil mix (dried). all three kids enjoyed it, as well as my husband and i. i think next time i make it i will make a double batch and freeze half (probably without the pasta) for a quick supper! thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      This was really good! My kids just loved it. I liked the addition of the cayenne since it gave it a nice little kick, but not too much. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      5 stars fro bringing back childhood memories and presenting it in a healthy way. No added fat here, great.I love the sweet tastes of tomatoes and carrots. And beans are wonderful protein source. I used canned canneloni beans and so I could reduce cooking time to just 20 minutes. Try this soup next time with some friends. Add some fresh tomato pieces and some slices of carrots for reference. You will see everybody knows this soup and will be delighted to get it again after many years. Like it was for me. I loved alphabet soup as child and still do. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

    • on September 11, 2006

      This was both easy and delicious... and the grandbabies loved it. Despite leaving the alphabet pasta here at the house when I went over to DD's to visit this afternoon, the soup worked well w/ "wagon wheel" pasta. Eleven month old Chloe was thinking about every piece of food I put in her mouth, trying to figure out what it was I was giving her... and she kept opening her mouth for more. I froze extra soup in 2 cup containers for DD to have for future meals. I sampled the soup myself and it is very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Yummy Yummy Yummy. Great way to hide veggies from kids who are picky eaters. I'm lucky, as my daughter loves her veggies. Didn't have alphabet pasta, so we used dinosaur pasta. I puree the lot including the beans didn't have the time to pick them out. I used canned beans as needed the soup in a hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      The kids had tons of fun eating this and I thought it was yummy too! I used a quart of diced tomatoes (and added a Tbsp of sugar)and skipped the puree step (my kids like picking out the different veggies and saying-"ooh I'm eating a carrot!") I hadn't tried cooking with beans without soaking first. It's actually pretty quick that way. It was a thick soup but that's fine by me. I'll definitely be making this again along with some variations. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      An excellent soup that is truly mmmm mmmm good! My kids think so, too. I've been making this recipe every week since I found it. It is rather thick, so I add a little more broth. Sometimes I do the puree step, sometimes I don't (when I'm feeling lazy). I've used the dried beans (which I prefer), and I've also used canned. It was great every single time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      My family greatly enjoyed this wonderfully seasoned soup. Don't skimp on the liquid ingredients because it does end up a thick soup. I used a 15 ounce can of cannellini beans and they worked well. I had two, and then three helpings--it's a good thing it's "Healthy Alphabet Soup"! Thanks, LUv2BaKE, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Alphabet Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (286 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.8
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    21%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 28.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian chicken broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes