Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthier Than Kfc's Cole Slaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthier Than Kfc's Cole Slaw

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2012

      This cannot be healthier if you are using Splenda--almost the same as aspertame, which is a deadly non-food chemical.

      As for the "fat-free" mayonnaise--the fat comes from the egg (which is still the perfect food) and the oil. There is nothing as unhealthy as the new "fat-free" foods. They have deadly additives in them and just for the record, you MUST have fat for your body to function properly. Just like your car, if it is not "lubricated", your organs, brain and arteries will dry up.

      Eat the fat and especially stay away from "fat-free" products. They are much more deadly than fat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Yum! I used regular sugar and scaled the recipe down.I used soy milk with lemon juice instead of buttermilk. I also made my own coleslaw mix using green cabbage, celery, carrots and radishes. Much enjoyed! Made for Sun and Spice event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      I scaled back for 4 serves and 3 of us polished off the lot with our dinner. I used natVia instead of Splenda and only used 2 teaspoons and found it to be sweet enough for us, I did use a real egg mayonnaise as I don't use fat free as I find that upsets my blood sugars more than full fat does and I skipped step 1 as we like our coleslaw chunky and as said we all thoroughly enjoyed, thank you Sue Lau, made for Everyday A Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      This was OK for us. I made as directed. This was a bit sweet and hubby didn't like the celery seed in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      I took this to my in-law's Memorial Day cookout and it was a big hit with the crowd. I didn't chop up the coleslaw mix because I wanted it to have a little more crunch to it. The flavors melded really well together. I made it the day before and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Made for Diabetic Cooking Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This was the first time I made cole slaw. It isn't a popular side dish in my family and I pretty much made it because we needed to eat some kind of cabbage for good luck for the New Year. This was very very good and very easy to make. I will give it 5 stars because of the ease for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Outstanding cole slaw recipe, and good for you too! I made this on the fly, because I had leftover slaw mix and low-fat buttermilk and I needed a veggie side dish for dinner. I didn't have any parsley flakes, so I left that out. The mayo I used was a vegan low-fat substitute, and instead of the lemon juice I used what lime juice I had left and some white vinegar. I only let it sit a couple of hours before eating it for dinner, and I ate some of the leftovers for breakfast the next morning. Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      This was really good. I added plenty of white pepper (love that stuff!) and really enjoyed the celery seed in this. Thanks Sue L for a nice keeper. Made for ZWT5 2009 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I thought this was really great! I eye-balled all ingredients and only put a sprinkle of Splenda in and it turned out great! Thanks for a quick, tasty, and healthy-esque recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Really great tasting cole slaw! DH tasted it and said: "Hey, this tastes alot like KFC's cole slaw." I showed him the recipe after. We both enjoyed this alot! Sorry to say that I did use regular Hellman's mayo, lol. We served this with grilled, barbecued chicken wings - great combination! Made for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas - ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Delicious. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Actually, I find kfc's coleslaw to have become pretty blah flavour-wise, but this version is definitely not. And I really like that it's lower in fat and healthier. Will definitely be making this a lot over the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Everyone loved this coleslaw! I did use regular mayo and used 1/4 cup of sugar in place of the 1/3 cup of splenda. I guess I defeated the "Healthier" part of the recipe otherwise I made as directed. DS came back for seconds... that's a huge compliment. There is no longer a reason for me to buy ready made coleslaw. Quick, easy, delicious, and "A Keeper" for sure. Thanks Sue L for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I used broccoli slaw mix and fat free sour cream instead of buttermilk. This is very good and works out to 1 ww point per serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

    • on August 26, 2008

      I made this for the "Unofficial Shopping From The Pantry Challenge ",in the Budget Cooking Forum. ( if you don't know what that means, you see what you've got in your cupboards,"fridge" and/or freezer.And look through the data base and see what recipes you can find and make from those items.) I didn't have the cole slaw mix, but I did have a 1/4 of a head of cabbage, took some frozen carrot slices, and diced those up. Also didn't have the Splenda, and used 3 packets of Equal instead. Didn't have the celery seed, so a 1/2 teaspoon of ground celery powder was used.No buttermilk was at had,so I left it out.The lemon juice was cut down to 1 Tablespoon, and it worked just great.And this recipe really did taste very close to the KFC cole slaw,and will be made again. Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Good slaw. I made a few adjustments...felt this version was a bit too sweet. I halved the splenda, added a couple teaspoons of apple cidar vinegar and used 1/2 cup low fat sour cream instead of the buttermilk (it's what I had in the fridge)...it did the trick for me. Thanks for sharing this recipe! My husband just loved the slaw!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthier Than Kfc's Cole Slaw

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 37.7
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    17%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 2.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 257.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Splenda granular

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites