Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthier Banana Bread (Lower Fat, Flax, Ww Flour, Less Sugar) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthier Banana Bread (Lower Fat, Flax, Ww Flour, Less Sugar)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2013

      I was suspicious with 4 cups of flour PLUS 1 1/2 cups flax? Didn't think there was nearly enough moist ingredients to balance it out. Dense is an understatement! Even after adding an extra egg and more oil, it still came out HARD. I did salvage it by making it into french toast which was quite good. I will tweek this recipe as I appreciate the effort to up the healthy factor, starting with specifying banana size. I had 3 very large bananas so thought that would suffice. I'd also eliminate a cup of flour and add an extra 1/2 of walnuts as it seemed there were very few for 2 loaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

    • on April 10, 2010

      Most banana breads are really cakes. This one is BREAD. The recipe doesn't make batter, it makes dough. It wasn't what I was expecting, but a slice of this, popped in the toaster for breakfast is fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Just an for future reference: Flax IS fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Was this ever good! I had 5 (on the large side) bananas that were needing to be used. This is the perfect recipe. My new favorite. I used regular whole wheat flour, 2 whole eggs, Splenda/brown sugar blend (1/2 cup), and Enova oil. I didn't "cream" the bananas, just mashed them with a potato masher, so there are small chunks of banana throughout. It tasted wonderful hot, but, to me, even better cold. You have to try this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      I was a bit worried about this, as it turned out *very* dense. (I never tasted it myself, but my family seemed to like it.) It was easy to put together. I am not sure I added enough banana, as I only used 3 large ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      very good & heathy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      This bread is excellent. It is very dense but still moist. I used 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites. I also used regular all purpose whole wheat flour. I was a little worried as it is not as fine as WW pastry flour, but it was just fine. This bread is good warm as well as cold, with a little butter it is even better. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthier Banana Bread (Lower Fat, Flax, Ww Flour, Less Sugar)

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.5
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    36%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 17.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 214.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes