Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Health Nut Brown Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Health Nut Brown Rice

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2013

      Even not having every ingredient on hand, it was still delicious! I didn't have zucchini, so used 1/2 cup finely diced celery and about 1/4 cup diced onion in addition to the grated carrot. I doubled the sunflower seeds. I also didn't have red pepper flakes on hand, so missed out on the heat. That said, it was really good! It had a great crunchy texture; the rice was nice and fluffy--not gooey. Because I am not a health nut, I added 2 tablespoons of butter in with the rice and broth. We also salted at table-it is a lower salt recipe. As I was making it, I thought raisins or other dried fruit would be good also. Paula G, thanks for another super recipe! We eat a lot of brown rice and I will be making this often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      I thought this was really good. I liked the additions to jazz up plain brown rice. I like that there isn't any butter or extra, unneeded fat added to it. I added a little chopped onion and a dash of garlic powder. I'll definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      I made this tonight to go with Pineapple Chicken. Love the veggies and nuts. I'll probably add a little garlic and onion next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! I made this to go with Panfried Fish#392155 and I am soooo glad I did. Delicious! I did use Texmati Royal Blend Rice (white, brown, red and wild rice) and added some diced onion and garlic along with fresh parsley. Definately going into my Favorites of 2012. I could believe that DH ate it all and wanted more. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Delicious! I used 3 c. instant brown rice, 1 c. each carrots & zucchini, handful each of seeds & almonds, & 2 lg. cloves garlic. Revised: this time I used 1 c. long grain brown rice, 1/2 shredded zucchini, a little chopped celery, 1 clove garlic, almonds, and seeds and my hubby said he liked it :) Kids didn't, but they change their mind everytime!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      this is so good! i tried to slice the almonds by myself, but they turned out to be crumbled instead. i think i accidentally but too much red pepper in though...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      Made this along with some Aussie-style grilled shrimp skewers and sauteed veggies, and it was awesome!! I followed the recipe to the 'T' and loved the crunch that the nuts added to the dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      I am addicted to this rice! Absolutely love it by itself and have yet to find a dish that it does not pair well with. Looks like this is going to become one of my "go to" side dishes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      This was a hot with my family. Served with BBQ shrimp. The only thing I added was a touch of balsamic vinegar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      There's nothing not to like about this recipe. It's healthy, but it's something you actually want to eat. It's easy, but it's something you can serve to guests and feel good about. The texture was amazing, the rice was firm, the overall dish was creamy, but just enough so that it wasn't dry and the crunch of the nuts & seeds rounded things out beautifully. I can't even remember the last time I ate brown rice (obviously it didn't have a positive effect on me), but this recipe alone is enough to make me start eating it on a regular basis. The only changes I would make are to add a bit of acid and more fresh herbs, but I could easily see doubling the veggies without any negative effects.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      I loved this rice, which I made for the ZWT #7 for Witchin Kitchen team. I increased the veggies and also added about 1/2 diced onion to the mix. The little kick from the red pepper puts it over the top. It is jumping into my Best of 2011 Cookbook. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      We LOVED this! I have been trying to get myself to eat more brown rice, and this one is hands down the best I have tried yet. The addition of nuts compliment the nutty flavor of the rice while adding extra flavor and I love that I can get extra veggies in our diet with this too. Thanks for a keepr :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I tried this recipe to try to lure DS to like brown rice. Didn't really float with him but DH _really_ liked it so it will go into my cookbook. I did not have zucchini so I cut some celery into match stick size pieces. Used a little leftover slivered almonds and pine nuts along with the sunflower seeds. Tasty and crunchy and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • We loved it as a side to our Grilled Chicken. Very nice flavor and we will have it again in the very near future! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      I would not touch brown rice before this recipe. The nutty flavor is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Wow! We LOVED this: loved how healthy it was and how flavoursome. In particular, we loved the inclusion of nuts and seeds which provided wonderful textural variation. I omitted the red pepper flakes (personal taste preference) and added some minced garlic and sliced mushrooms (both favourite ingredients), but otherwise made this exactly to the recipe. Thank you for an absolute gem of a recipe, PaulaG, one that I'll be making again and again. We enjoyed this with Barbecue Kiwi Lamb Kebabs - Skewers. Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Its good, but nothing to write home about.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This was lovely & the cooking time is spot on. I love the crunch from the nuts & seeds, my only complaint is that it requires 2 pots for cooking which means more dishes..yuck:..:lol: I served with Haitian Style Meatballs & some pasta sauce..Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Pretty good recipe...it probably deserves a 4 b/c it's a bid bland, but soy sauce really helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I'm not going to review this because I used a "Royal Blend" rice. The blend was jasmine, brown and wild so I thought it would work ok but I think I needed to adjust the cook time because it came out a bit gluey. The flavors were very good however. I think you really need real brown rice to enhance the nuttiness aspect so I will try again with the proper rice. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Health Nut Brown Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.4
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    29%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 35.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes