44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Even not having every ingredient on hand, it was still delicious! I didn't have zucchini, so used 1/2 cup finely diced celery and about 1/4 cup diced onion in addition to the grated carrot. I doubled the sunflower seeds. I also didn't have red pepper flakes on hand, so missed out on the heat. That said, it was really good! It had a great crunchy texture; the rice was nice and fluffy--not gooey. Because I am not a health nut, I added 2 tablespoons of butter in with the rice and broth. We also salted at table-it is a lower salt recipe. As I was making it, I thought raisins or other dried fruit would be good also. Paula G, thanks for another super recipe! We eat a lot of brown rice and I will be making this often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose August 08, 2013

I thought this was really good. I liked the additions to jazz up plain brown rice. I like that there isn't any butter or extra, unneeded fat added to it. I added a little chopped onion and a dash of garlic powder. I'll definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tashi123 April 08, 2013

I made this tonight to go with Pineapple Chicken. Love the veggies and nuts. I'll probably add a little garlic and onion next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea March 23, 2013

Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! I made this to go with Panfried Fish#392155 and I am soooo glad I did. Delicious! I did use Texmati Royal Blend Rice (white, brown, red and wild rice) and added some diced onion and garlic along with fresh parsley. Definately going into my Favorites of 2012. I could believe that DH ate it all and wanted more. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf June 02, 2012

Delicious! I used 3 c. instant brown rice, 1 c. each carrots & zucchini, handful each of seeds & almonds, & 2 lg. cloves garlic. Revised: this time I used 1 c. long grain brown rice, 1/2 shredded zucchini, a little chopped celery, 1 clove garlic, almonds, and seeds and my hubby said he liked it :) Kids didn't, but they change their mind everytime!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy V#2 April 28, 2011

this is so good! i tried to slice the almonds by myself, but they turned out to be crumbled instead. i think i accidentally but too much red pepper in though...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 June 15, 2008

Fast, easy, delicious side dish suitable for company. As is, or customized, it always gets rave reviews. Thanks for the creative inspiration!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb K. December 31, 2014

Made this along with some Aussie-style grilled shrimp skewers and sauteed veggies, and it was awesome!! I followed the recipe to the 'T' and loved the crunch that the nuts added to the dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desert Mojo July 22, 2013

I am addicted to this rice! Absolutely love it by itself and have yet to find a dish that it does not pair well with. Looks like this is going to become one of my "go to" side dishes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psycedmom October 17, 2012

This was a hot with my family. Served with BBQ shrimp. The only thing I added was a touch of balsamic vinegar

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaxo35 June 25, 2012
Health Nut Brown Rice