9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am so glad I found this recipe. I have a teen son with cancer, and have studied on foods that can possibly help later in his years with recurrence etc. Apparently, turmeric is one of the most powerful spices there are, along with ginger and green tea. I read a book called Anti Cancer: A New Way of LIfe. Studies show that a pinch (just a pinch) of black pepper increases the power of the turmeric by 1000 times. I dashed it in my tea and although it doesn't look pleasing, I didn't taste any difference! This has grown on me, a die hard coffee and diet coke drinker. My son likes it too. Thanks!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Walker January 11, 2009

I didn't really like the taste but if it is good for me the taste was not gross but 4 stars. I also used a local honey instead of maple syrup as I prefer it and that is what I had on hand. I added a pinch or pepper based on Deana Walker's review, thinking what harm could it do? I may make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 09, 2010

I have made this tea several times, whenever I feel a cold coming on I start drinking it. The taste is unique, but it will grow on you. I adjust the ingredients to my taste. To me it's a comfort drink when I'm under the weather. Easy to make too! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iss December 18, 2008

I just have a question. Do you add any real tea to this recipe? I'm slightly confused.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 23, 2015

I added about one half teaspoon of ground coriander and used fresh ginger. I thought about omitting the lemon, but it turns out the lemon makes a big difference... great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lexycat February 22, 2007

I make this all the time for my coworkers and myself and we all love it. The tea is a little spicy, but it makes a good coffee replacment. I usually sweeten the tea with splenda.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IronChefArtemslore June 30, 2006

Interesting! I used honey because of my personal prefrence. This is great for tummy aches! I can`t say the taste is all that good but whoever said medicine tastes good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ December 09, 2005

I'm sorry, this tea just did not agree with my tastebuds. It did smell really good when I was boiling it, but when it came to drinking it, I couldn't even finish the cup. Ginger and turmeric may be healthy for you, but I'll consume them in some other way. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenSmith October 14, 2005

This tasted very good. I was making some candied ginger, so used some fresh ginger for this, about 1/4 cup of ginger with peelings. I simmered for about 10 minutes, then strained. The tea has a bite to it, but that's part of what I love about ginger! Thank you Roosie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 09, 2005
Healing Ginger Detox Tea With Turmeric