Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hazelnut Torte Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hazelnut Torte

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2014

      This is a great recipe! The cake came out really light, fluffy and delicate! I was very surprised with how much is rose. <br/>I roasted my hazelnuts first and chucked them in a tea towel, rubbed it all and then shook it in a colander to let the skins fall out. Worth the effort. <br/>I didn't dress it but it would suit something very very light like a Chantilly cream, maybe a little orange or mandarine essence. <br/>By cooking it in two tins you get more of the beautiful crispy hazelnut outside.<br/>Thank you for sharing, this took about 5 minutes to prep in my thermomix blender, will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Nice recipe. I adapted it a bit and used ingredients I had on hand. I did not have hazelnuts. I divided the recipe roughly into thirds and used two eggs for each third. I used pecans, almonds, and pinon nuts for each third. The almond was a bit dry but all were very good. <br/>I stacked them as three level cakes and spread almond paste and store bought cherry preserves between the layers. I covered the whole thing with cream cheese chocolate frosting. The cream cheese frosting recipe I used called for four cups of sugar. I used one. It was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      My only substitution was to use Splenda instead of flour, and my cake turned out a bit dry. Don't know if that's why or if I should have used extra-large eggs. A good dark chocolate glaze or frosting would have really made the cake. The glaze recipe I tried (for the first time) was too runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Jenny this is a wonderful recipe and so easy. I've made it at least three times so far and I've just joined this site only so I can rate it. The only thing I don't understand is why you make it in two batches. Do you have a small food processor? I put everything in mine in one go, then pour it into two identical baking tins. Today being St Valentine's Day, I used heart-shaped silicone tins. The cakes are now cooling, later I'll sandwich them together with sweetened chestnut puree and ice it with ganache. Thank you for this recipe. Sunny www.slimmercook.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      What a hit! I made this for my boyfriend's family dinner and everyone is asking for the recipe.. I covered the entire cake up with chocolate frosting, and it was all gone by the end of the night.. Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I looked at many other recipes before I decided on this one. Per other recipes I roasted the hazelnuts then rubbed the skins off then ground them fine. I poured this recipe into 3 9 inch cake pans. I iced each layer including the top with rasberry jam and an icing/filling recipe from another torte on all layers, on top and sides. For this icing/filling you take 3/4 cup sugar and 1/3 water and cook until a syrup. Slowly add the hot liquid to 8 egg yolks that you have been with mixer. Beat for three minutes then add 2 sticks butter and beat for 5 minutes then add 1/2 cup ground hazlenuts. It was wonderful and my entire family raved about it. Carolyn J. Wagner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      this is SO GOOD - and can be filled in 4 layers with whipped cream mixed with crushed raspberries and just a little sugar, to taste -

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      this is a fabulous cake and so easy to make. i have made this twice and each time it has been devoured in about half an hour! thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      This is a very tasty, nutty, easy to make cake. I iced it with a mixture of cool whip, chocolate, Frangelico and hazelnut paste and finished it off with a chocolate glaze and whole hazelnuts. I used a mixer instead of a food processor and it worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      This was such a hit! Both for me -- I couldn't believe how easily it came together -- and my guests, who couldn't get enough of it. I iced it with a simple mixture of icing sugar, butter and cocoa powder. I would have taken a picture of a slice but it got devoured before I had a chance!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hazelnut Torte

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.5
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    41%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 141.0 mg
    47%
    Sodium 167.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    103%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes