26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My grandma used to make these every Christmas...along with 30 other types of cookie. Then she just got off the notion for some reason...so I decided to pick up her slack and my kids eat them every holiday. So easy to make though so bad for you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ericaj October 30, 2008

Creative and tasty treat. Made a little pumpkin patch plattter with these and peanut butter pumpkins (Peanut Butter Pumpkins). Obviously a very strong butterscotch taste, just to switch it up a little I would add marshmallows or semi-sweet choc chips next time, as some suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbud October 13, 2008

What my mom does when she makes these, [which might help the melting] is put the chips in a double boiler prior to melting. It keeps them hot and melts them pretty wuickly. Have you tried adding mini marshmallows? They add a really great texture. Some of these are sitting in the fridge right now and it's all I can do not to eat them all up... Jess

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zammdogg January 12, 2008

These little treats are so addictive, I almost made myself sick from eating so many. I LOVE butterscotch and peanut butter, and the chow mein noodles gives this treat a wonderful texture...Highly recommend for any occasion..but warning, you can't eat just one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Bama December 06, 2007

The first time I made these cookies was in Junior High cooking class. We added a couple of tablespoons of peanut butter to the butterscotch chips back then. My grandsids went crazy over these. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie3551 November 25, 2007

These are one of my favorite cookies and I've never known how to make them. I really wanted to make them for our Thanksgiving gatherings and I'm so thrilled to have found the recipe. THANKS for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeepNF8th October 28, 2007

These bring back great memories from childhood! Mom used to make these, but I hadn't had them in a long time. I was putting together a farm themed birthday party for DD and thought "Haystacks!" Perfect snack and very easy to make. The only butterscotch chips I could find (Tollhouse) came in 11 ounce bags, but it didn't seem to make a big difference. I microwaved the morsels for 60 seconds, which was just right. I cut the peanuts to about 1/2 cup just for personal preference and made the haystacks small enough to get 3 dozen. Thanks for posting! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * October 27, 2007

These should get 100 stars! I make these precious goodies every Christmas and they are thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks for sharing with the world!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook October 17, 2007

I cannot believe that I didn't rate these when I started making them last year for fall. These are great, even my picky aunt loved these and she always asks me to make them. I've tried it with white chips and they are fine too!! Total keeper!! Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RiBigMouth September 09, 2007

You cannot get any easier than this, and they are so good. The hardest part was searching for the chow mein noodles at the grocery store, but I found them! Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv Dessert December 03, 2006
Haystacks