Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Haystacks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Haystacks

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2011

      This is the same recipe my husband's family uses. Kids love these, but so do adults! They work best with the thicker noodles, so don't buy the Chun King brand. Thanks for posting Smilynn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      These are so tasty. They are a little trickier to make than I would have thought. I had a little trouble I think getting the chips to melt enough that I could stir them into the noodles. The melted chips just made a big clump and wouldn't really separate to coat the noodles. Using my hands to mix helped a little, but other than that, they taste great. Maybe next time I'll try microwaving the chips a little longer, stirring some like when melting candy-chocolate. I was just afraid to burn it. THANKS

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      Made with chocolate chips. Easter gathering it was a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      Quick, easy, and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      I was looking for a treat last night and found this. I was happy it required no baking and it was so simple with very few ingredients. I whipped these up in no time. The kids loved them. I will make sure I always have these ingredients on hand ..... great snack for the kids when they have friends over. Thank you so much for sharing this delicious and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      A modern classic! These cookies are so easy to make and yummy to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      These were such a huge hit on my cookie platter is amazed me, they were the first ones gone, its now one of my xmas staples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I've always loved these. My mother always made both butterscotch and milk chocolate ones and served them together. The milk chocolate ones are my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I took them to a BBQ and everyone loved them!!! They were easy to make and tasted perfect. I only used 3/4 of the bag of butterscotch and left out the peanuts. Thanks:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Brings back memories of making these in kindergarten! I made these y'day at my parents as a surprise for my son and he loved them! I took one taste and was taken back:) Thanks for a trip down memory lane! SUPER easy and delicious:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      My grandma used to make these every Christmas...along with 30 other types of cookie. Then she just got off the notion for some reason...so I decided to pick up her slack and my kids eat them every holiday. So easy to make though so bad for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Creative and tasty treat. Made a little pumpkin patch plattter with these and peanut butter pumpkins (Peanut Butter Pumpkins). Obviously a very strong butterscotch taste, just to switch it up a little I would add marshmallows or semi-sweet choc chips next time, as some suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      What my mom does when she makes these, [which might help the melting] is put the chips in a double boiler prior to melting. It keeps them hot and melts them pretty wuickly. Have you tried adding mini marshmallows? They add a really great texture. Some of these are sitting in the fridge right now and it's all I can do not to eat them all up... Jess

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      These little treats are so addictive, I almost made myself sick from eating so many. I LOVE butterscotch and peanut butter, and the chow mein noodles gives this treat a wonderful texture...Highly recommend for any occasion..but warning, you can't eat just one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      The first time I made these cookies was in Junior High cooking class. We added a couple of tablespoons of peanut butter to the butterscotch chips back then. My grandsids went crazy over these. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      These are one of my favorite cookies and I've never known how to make them. I really wanted to make them for our Thanksgiving gatherings and I'm so thrilled to have found the recipe. THANKS for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      These bring back great memories from childhood! Mom used to make these, but I hadn't had them in a long time. I was putting together a farm themed birthday party for DD and thought "Haystacks!" Perfect snack and very easy to make. The only butterscotch chips I could find (Tollhouse) came in 11 ounce bags, but it didn't seem to make a big difference. I microwaved the morsels for 60 seconds, which was just right. I cut the peanuts to about 1/2 cup just for personal preference and made the haystacks small enough to get 3 dozen. Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      These should get 100 stars! I make these precious goodies every Christmas and they are thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks for sharing with the world!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I cannot believe that I didn't rate these when I started making them last year for fall. These are great, even my picky aunt loved these and she always asks me to make them. I've tried it with white chips and they are fine too!! Total keeper!! Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      You cannot get any easier than this, and they are so good. The hardest part was searching for the chow mein noodles at the grocery store, but I found them! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Haystacks

    Serving Size: 1 (630 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 142.5
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    56%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 39.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    39%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites