13 Reviews

i have had an overabundance of zucchini, the really big kind that get overlooked in the garden until their HUGE, so i picked a couple recipes here to try for zucchini bread. this one was very good, the only thing i added was 2 teaspoons of cinnamon for a little extra flavor. the pineapple, raisins and nuts give the bread a nice texture.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwenrk June 26, 2002

I've been baking this for 3 years & it is about time I tell you it has become our favorite zucchini bread! I did make a few minor changes to suit our tastes....instead of 1 cup of oil I use 1/2 cup oil & 1/2 cup applesauce. Craisins instead of raisins. I also add 1 cup coconut & 1 tsp cinnamon. And as other reviewers have noted it is too much dough for one loaf pan, so I use 2 [I'm sure it would fit in 1 bundt pan]. Thanks for sharing your great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goldigal September 20, 2010

This is a fantastic recipe! I made a half recipe using 2 eggs and made 12 muffins. I used 1/4 cup applesauce in place of some of the oil and used half splenda/half sugar. I used some shredded carrot in place of some of the zucchini. So delicious! Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 July 04, 2010

Thanks for such a great recipe! It was very moist and delicious. I also added cinnamon, cut back a little on the sugar & oil, and used half white and half spelt flour. I had enough for one medium loaf and a dozen muffins. They were a big hit with the family! There is more zucchini in the freezer, so I will definitely use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dizzy lizzie August 26, 2009

I have to admit, I changed this recipe a lot to make it healthier. Instead of 3 eggs, I used 1 egg and 2 egg whites, and I cut out 1/2 cup of the sugar. I also skipped the pecans. However, these changes didn't change the fact that this is an amazingly tasty bread! I made mine as muffins, and they're very light, sweet and moist. I will absolutely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superlib January 09, 2009

This was great! I really appreciated the addition of the pineapple. When this bread really impressed me, though, was after it had been in the freezer. I made three loaves, froze two, and now that I'm eating a defrosted loaf I think I like it even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Supersteph0 February 16, 2008

This is excellent! A very nice change from the usual zucchini bread. It tastes more mellow and has a strong vanilla flavor. I used Wondra to dust my pans with (less clumping). I left out the raisins and nuts because it was going to a function and I still got two large 9 x 5 pans worth. I left it to cool for 10 minutes before removing from the pans. Make sure you loosen the loaves really well before trying to remove as I broke the first loaf. (Hey,it eats the same!) I will make another batch this afternoon. Next time I make it just for us, I think I'm going to use coconut in place of the raisins and add the nuts. Grace, thank you for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose September 12, 2007

Great flavor and really easy to make (not counting grating the zucchini). The only change I made was to substitute 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 the oil. Still nice and moist but with a LOT fewer calories. Thanks for a winner Grace.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy July 27, 2007

FABULOUS!!! This is the best zucchini bread I have ever made or tasted!! Super moist, great flavor and bakes up beautiful! I used 2 loaf pans and put the remaining batter in a pie tin. We only have a little left and it will be gone tomorrow morning with breakfast! Gave a piece to my neighbor and she now wants the recipe too! Thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teachermomkim July 20, 2007

I've made this recipe several times and haven't reviewed it because I've been working out my issues with this recipe. The flavor of the bread is amazing. It's moist and really beautiful to look at. My problem has been in the shape and the browning of the loaf. In past attempts, I get a too large crown or overflowing loaf pan that took forever to cook and got too dark on the outside. Tonight, I finally figured it out and this recipe does warrant a 5-star review. Rather than making the bread in a single loaf pan as suggested, I separated the batter into TWO 10 x 5 inch loaf pans and baked for 60 minutes at 350 degrees. The loaves came out beautifully golden brown and flat on the top...no volcanic eruption tops or over the sides issues. With this change, it's my absolute favorite quick bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay August 23, 2005
Hawaiian Zucchini Bread