Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Toast

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2003

      Heather Feather this is one fine dish! I made it for my kiddo, using mozzarella cheese, and she loved it (first the cuteness, then the yumminess.) She said she wouldn't change a thing and when asked for a rating, she gave it a 5 1/2. I snuck a bite and thought it was a wonderful flavor combination, and secretly wanted to finish it off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      This was an excellent light lunch. We really enjoyed it. I made it to a t and I will make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      I also remember ordering this many times from restaurants in Germany. My favorite was a little place in Ansbach, Germany that we would get this and their famous cheese soup that they served in bread bowls. This is such comfort food for me, completely authentic. It brought back many memories, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I had this for the first time as a child in a restaurant near Disneyland. I fell in love with the dish and ordered it every day we were there (I begged to return to the same place repeatedly.) I've made it with cheddar and no cherries, and it's still good - an excellent quick sandwich. I've also grilled the bread rather than toasting it, and that's good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I know of a different version of this recipe. I had it at a country club in Denmark. There were no marischino cherries, but there were slices of Tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This was a real crowd pleaser! I made "mini Hawaiian Toasts" and served them as finger foods on a platter. I cut the bread into quarters (and the meat, cheese and pineapple rings) and then used toothpicks to hold everything together. Also, I used German flag toothpicks. It was so tasty and colorful. Not to mention it was super easy to prepare. Huge hit! I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      My aunt used to make it as a ligth evening snack. It can be made in advance and when needed just place it into the preheated oven. Not the broiler. For my daughter I omitted the pineapple, but everyone else just loved it. I only use cherries sometimes. Try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      I do make these very often as a quick lunch or light dinner(seems to be a real German thing, my mum used to make these when I was a kid the same way), though I use either butter or mayonaise on the toast before putting the ham etc. on.And I don't use the cherry since We don't use them so often in other recipes. It is great anyways and my kids, who don't usually eat pineapple, eat it in this one. Definetely kidfriendly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (456 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.1
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    31%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 342.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 21.5 g
    86%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked ham

    gouda cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites