35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good. Needed something in a pinch as hubby nearly started a civil war when he was munching on King's Hawaiian over the past couple of days and left just a little for the kids! I used the recipe exactly as written and put my machine on the dough cycle. It was very wet... I used the pan from the old King's (!!)... sprayed a little cooking spray in it and then poured it in. Let it rise a little too long... it continued to a rise a tiny amount at the start of cooking which caused it to spill over the pan a little...all in all it was very good. It wasn't EXACTLY like King's... but definitely sweet... definitely a good consistency... and resulted in a little peace around here on a home-bound snowy day (which says a lot!). WILL make again!! (Like probably tomorrow)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbcary February 06, 2010

Excellent recipe. I left out the lemon extract, and only used the bread maker to make the dough. I shaped as buns. These are great. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada December 19, 2009

Fabulous! I use this recipe all the time! I use this for cinnamon rolls and cinnamon raisin bread. I leave out the lemon extract. I use 3/4 cup of water instead of a full cup, it's just my bread machine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef bifaerie79 December 10, 2009

This is a great recipe. It doesn't have the same flavor as King Hawaiian rolls but the texture is very similar. It is lacking in sweetness, though I increased the sugar to 1/3 a cup. I did not put this together in my bread machine and it was relatively simple to do by hand. I added an additional 1/2 cup of flour as suggested by other reviewers, and added more flour during the kneading process because the dough was very sticky. I basted them with an egg wash before baking and basted the with melted butter after. Yummy. They are tender and make a perfect loaf or roll. My suggesting is more sugar or honey if you want a sweeter bun. I also omitted the lemon extract as I thought it would be too overpowering. Great recipe Khandi, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Novelty November 29, 2009

"Mom, this tastes like real bread!" my son said. The first time I made it I made two changes: I used one cup of milk instead of the water and powdered milk, and I used half all-purpose and half bread flour. I did not add any additional flour. I have also made this as written, and it did need some additional flour. Both versions are good, but I prefer this with AP as it is slightly denser. My husband thinks this bread would make good stuffing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl October 16, 2009

Made two big subs, using 3/4 cup leftover mashed potatoes and 3/4 c milk instead of water, powdered milk, and instant potatoes. Formed into rolls before baking. Rolls were tender and moist with a great flavor. Can't wait to try as written! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 11, 2009

Omg, these were great. I made these two days ago because i was wanting to make sweet rolls for thanksgiving, but after reading the reviews i decided to try it before thanksgiving, so i would no if they were good. It made these ny hand instead of by the breadmaker, i think you have more control that way. I made them into rolls but I accidentally added a whole pack of yeast, they were huge, they turned out the sized of hamburger buns. If people want to know.. I bloomed the yeast in the warm water. I mixed all the dry ingredients together, then added the wet, including the yeast mix and butter. I Kneaded on a well floured surface, kneading in flour to make the dough firm and not goopy. I kneaded till elastic(to tell, tear off a small piece of dough, stretch it till you can see through it when you hold it up to light, if it tears before then, continue to knead) I then put the dough in a clean floured bowl, and let rise for 1 1/2 hours. I shaped them into rolls, placed them on a pan and let them rise another 1 hour. I baked them at 400 degrees for about ten minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrisM November 24, 2008

I would have given this recipe 5 stars but I feel the same as another member and don't feel this tasted as much like store-bought Hawaiian bread. It certainly had a nice texture however. The recipe here is for a 2 pound loaf, not 2-1/2 according to the ingredients. I would cut down the yeast to 2-1/4 tsp. (so it doesn't overflow in the bread machine) and increase the lemon & vanilla to 1/2 tsp. each. Also note that the eggs should be at room temperature. This bread is worth making, it went very well with a Caribbean tenderloin, and I personally will be doing it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat June 16, 2008

Loved this recipe. I made them in to rolls like the photo. My bread machine calls for 2 1/3 c. flour so this recipe is a little much for my bread maker. It ran over the top just like one reviewer said. I only added 2 1/2 t. of yeast. It turned out wonderful. I may have to cut the recipe in half or make it in my mixer next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfcook March 19, 2008

I really liked the texture and rise, but to me the taste was nothing like the hawaiian sweet bread I love. Still a nice bread, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KlynnPadilla January 08, 2008
Hawaiian Sweet Bread for the Bread Machine