Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Sweet Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Sweet Bread for the Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2010

      This turned out great, could be a tad sweeter though. I left out the potato flakes (didn't have any) and substituted almond extract for lemon (didn't have lemon either). I would definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      I can't even believe how close to the original this bread is. My entire family LOVES it. I've made it in the bread machine twice . . . the second time I had better luck by 3/4 the recipe (my machine holds 2 pound loafs and this is over 2 pounds as written). Also, I use orange juice instead of lemon extract and liquid milk - and reduce the water accordingly. I baked on light white setting, it will likely burn on sweet bread. I didn't make any change to the amount of flour used, it was just fine. Thank you SO much for the fantastic recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      This bread turned out well for me. I added 2 extra tablespoons of sugar to the dough. I also used orange extract instead of lemon. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      This recipe is one of those that goes together in minutes and turns out spectacular. So light, fluffy and just a hint of sweetness. I followed the recipe exactly until it came to shaping, then I made into rolls. They rose so pretty, oh yes and I brushed the tops with an egg wash prior to baking for a shiny top. Froze half of the dough for later (there's only 2 of us) and planning to make ham sliders with it later. The results of this recipe sure made me proud, and I'll be making them often

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      This bread was a hit! I substituted warmed pineapple juice for the milk, and didn't put in the potato flakes or lemon extract, because I didn't have any. When the dough cycle on my machine was finished, I put it in the microwave with a cup of water I'd heated for 1 minute to proof for 1 hour. Then I baked it at 375 covered in foil. It was wonderful. Bravo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      DELICIOUS, SOFT, AND SWEET!! I read that many people were wanting a sweeter bread, so I changed the sugar to 1/3 cup. Also, I only had one egg, so I substituted the second egg for 3T of mayo, and it came out wonderfully! When I say SOFT, I mean softer than Bunny bread! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      This was my 5th loaf of bread in a very old bread machine. All the others were supposed to be "healthy" and tasted terrible. My 5 yr old twins walked in while the bread was on the bake cycle and couldn't wait for it to finish. They loved it, as did my husband and the neighbors. This is a great everyday bread for sandwiches and awesome for French Toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Delicious! Although, I did make a few amendments. First, I used a 6 oz. can of pineapple orange juice in place of the water, making up the difference with 2 oz water. I also used orange extract instead of lemon. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine, took it out when done and then wrapped it in plastic wrap to let it rest for 10 min. I then braided it and let it rise again for 30 min. I brushed it with a little melted butter and sprinkled it with sesame seeds. My husband is Greek and he says that it reminds him of the Greek Easter bread. It's our new favorite bread! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Khandi, this is A KEEPER! I used the ABM, took the dough, formed into a long loaf, baked at 400 for about 25 minutes. Excellent flavor and texture. Followed the recipe exactly but added 2 Tblsp. of honey, might add another one or two next time. We liked it a lot. Oh yeah, it makes wonderful toast! Thanks . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This was very good. Needed something in a pinch as hubby nearly started a civil war when he was munching on King's Hawaiian over the past couple of days and left just a little for the kids! I used the recipe exactly as written and put my machine on the dough cycle. It was very wet... I used the pan from the old King's (!!)... sprayed a little cooking spray in it and then poured it in. Let it rise a little too long... it continued to a rise a tiny amount at the start of cooking which caused it to spill over the pan a little...all in all it was very good. It wasn't EXACTLY like King's... but definitely sweet... definitely a good consistency... and resulted in a little peace around here on a home-bound snowy day (which says a lot!). WILL make again!! (Like probably tomorrow)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I left out the lemon extract, and only used the bread maker to make the dough. I shaped as buns. These are great. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Fabulous! I use this recipe all the time! I use this for cinnamon rolls and cinnamon raisin bread. I leave out the lemon extract. I use 3/4 cup of water instead of a full cup, it's just my bread machine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This is a great recipe. It doesn't have the same flavor as King Hawaiian rolls but the texture is very similar. It is lacking in sweetness, though I increased the sugar to 1/3 a cup. I did not put this together in my bread machine and it was relatively simple to do by hand. I added an additional 1/2 cup of flour as suggested by other reviewers, and added more flour during the kneading process because the dough was very sticky. I basted them with an egg wash before baking and basted the with melted butter after. Yummy. They are tender and make a perfect loaf or roll. My suggesting is more sugar or honey if you want a sweeter bun. I also omitted the lemon extract as I thought it would be too overpowering. Great recipe Khandi, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      "Mom, this tastes like real bread!" my son said. The first time I made it I made two changes: I used one cup of milk instead of the water and powdered milk, and I used half all-purpose and half bread flour. I did not add any additional flour. I have also made this as written, and it did need some additional flour. Both versions are good, but I prefer this with AP as it is slightly denser. My husband thinks this bread would make good stuffing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Made two big subs, using 3/4 cup leftover mashed potatoes and 3/4 c milk instead of water, powdered milk, and instant potatoes. Formed into rolls before baking. Rolls were tender and moist with a great flavor. Can't wait to try as written! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Omg, these were great. I made these two days ago because i was wanting to make sweet rolls for thanksgiving, but after reading the reviews i decided to try it before thanksgiving, so i would no if they were good. It made these ny hand instead of by the breadmaker, i think you have more control that way. I made them into rolls but I accidentally added a whole pack of yeast, they were huge, they turned out the sized of hamburger buns. If people want to know.. I bloomed the yeast in the warm water. I mixed all the dry ingredients together, then added the wet, including the yeast mix and butter. I Kneaded on a well floured surface, kneading in flour to make the dough firm and not goopy. I kneaded till elastic(to tell, tear off a small piece of dough, stretch it till you can see through it when you hold it up to light, if it tears before then, continue to knead) I then put the dough in a clean floured bowl, and let rise for 1 1/2 hours. I shaped them into rolls, placed them on a pan and let them rise another 1 hour. I baked them at 400 degrees for about ten minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I would have given this recipe 5 stars but I feel the same as another member and don't feel this tasted as much like store-bought Hawaiian bread. It certainly had a nice texture however. The recipe here is for a 2 pound loaf, not 2-1/2 according to the ingredients. I would cut down the yeast to 2-1/4 tsp. (so it doesn't overflow in the bread machine) and increase the lemon & vanilla to 1/2 tsp. each. Also note that the eggs should be at room temperature. This bread is worth making, it went very well with a Caribbean tenderloin, and I personally will be doing it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Loved this recipe. I made them in to rolls like the photo. My bread machine calls for 2 1/3 c. flour so this recipe is a little much for my bread maker. It ran over the top just like one reviewer said. I only added 2 1/2 t. of yeast. It turned out wonderful. I may have to cut the recipe in half or make it in my mixer next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I really liked the texture and rise, but to me the taste was nothing like the hawaiian sweet bread I love. Still a nice bread, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I made these today and while they are very good, I don't think they taste anything like the Hawaiian sweet bread that you can buy in the store. The lemon extract is very distracting to me so next time, I would leave it out. The recipe is very easy to follow although I have to adjust the order for my machine. I made rolls with the dough and baked at 350º for about 20 minutes and brushed melted butter on top. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Sweet Bread for the Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (874 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2309.4
     
    Calories from Fat 580
    25%
    Total Fat 64.4 g
    99%
    Saturated Fat 35.7 g
    178%
    Cholesterol 509.6 mg
    169%
    Sodium 2380.3 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 367.2 g
    122%
    Dietary Fiber 13.8 g
    55%
    Sugars 70.8 g
    283%
    Protein 61.4 g
    122%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites