18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so yummy! It's simple and you can add your own twists to it. I added some garlic butter I had in the fridge, as well as some leftover steamed greeen peas. Also, I cooked the rice in chicken broth - added flavor. Very simple, yet delicious! Everyone at the bbq I brought this to, loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Good Tastin' Stuff August 10, 2009

I thought this was the best fried rice I have ever had! I omitted the chicken because I was using as a side dish. I also left the pineapple on the side. I did have to use double the soy sauce and sesame oil because it was too dry. I based the amount on the appearance of the rice. It was a hit at our Hawaiian cookout and the bowl was empty due to everyone going back for 2nds! Thank you so much for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A. Cohen June 03, 2009

My daughter wanted a Hawaiian theme for her baby shower so I decided to make all the food. I found this recipe and made it for 100 people. Everyone raved about it!! It was amazing!! I did not include the chicken as we were serving a meat with it. We did include the pineapple which was very good, but I might leave that out the next time. Fantastic recipe!!! Highly recommended!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn C. November 23, 2013

Will do it again. My husband really enjoyed it and so did I. But I would't say it's worthy of a special occasion. It's great to jazz up your weekly dinners. Using double the soy sauce & sesame oil is definitely good advice. Thank you for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angela2241 July 23, 2013

Pretty nice recipe. I did find it was very dry with the amounts given so I used some chicken broth to help stir-fry the ingredients. The carrots were still pretty "raw" so next time I'd stir-fry those a bit on their own before adding the rice and chicken. Nice family meal that stretches the leftovers. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom April 06, 2012

Excellent Recipe, I fixed this rice for a wedding, went over well everyone seemed to love it. I left the chicken out because it was a side dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sturgilldc January 20, 2012

Couldn't give it four stars, because I didn't follow directions very well. Used onion powder instead of green onion, no carrots or sesame oil in the house. Overall a great recipe that I will fix again and use as a base for other fried rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davinarn May 21, 2009

I didn't have any green onions, carrots or sesame oil. I used regular onion and sauted in olive oil. This was a great meal. I left out the chicken because I was using this as a side dish. I paired it with kabobs with chikcen, onion, peppers and pineapples. Too good!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesley Anne September 02, 2008

Good fried rice recipe. The pineapple adds a nice touch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue September 01, 2008

Wonderful recipe! I omitted the chicken and used as a side dish for our party and it was delicious. I plan on making this often. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicksix June 28, 2008
Hawaiian Rice