11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is as close to what I remember at Beachcomber Don's back in the early '80s as I have found. I didn't alter anything - hey, otherwise it's another recipe! I will make this again, but I will make two tiny changes - I'll deep fry the pork cubes so the "batter" doesn't come off during cooking. And, I'll reduce the corn starch in the sauce, as it got too thick for us. Otherwise, it's just what I remember and makes me want to go back to Hawaii now! Thanks, BoxO'Wine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nodnyl January 24, 2015

I would normally give a recipe like this 2 stars, but the pork preparation was fantastic and simple so I bumped it to 3. It wasn't terrible, but the ketchup overpowered this dish (I prepared it exactly as written). I'm sure the leftovers will be eaten, but I will continue searching for a go-to hawaiian pork stir-fry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabitha S. February 13, 2014

Great recipe, fairly easy to work with (and I say that as a VERY amateur cook). I added chunked pineapple and the juice from the can to the sauce, served it over rice. My kids and my wife seemed to like it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keystone28 August 30, 2010

Really easy and really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madd82aggie April 26, 2009

Lots of work and no payoff-little flavor, sauce too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HighDesertMtn October 14, 2008

We enjoyed this for dinner last night. I did add some chicken and some kielbasa I needed to use up and had to use yellow pepper instead of red. But the proportions were great. I had plenty of egg. I added some red pepper flakes to mine and it was really good! Thanks Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper July 15, 2007

Yummy yummy yummy!!! I more or less cut the recipe in 1/2 and it still make 5-6 servings (with rice). I added the baby corn to mine, only to find out that DH doesn't like it. He's never had it before... How is that possible?! LOL. I also added a small can of pineapple chunks and only used green bell pepper b/c the red were unbelievably expensive at the store. He loved the sweet/sour taste of the dish. I will definitely be making this one again. Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra December 30, 2006

LOVED this recipe. I also found a need for more egg and cornstarch for the pork. In addition I added broccoli, carrots and pineapple chunks. The sweet and sour sauce was just right for my tastes. Will be adding this to my favorites. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo February 13, 2005

This was good; nice flavor, although a bit sweet. I did need to add more cornstarch. I also added the baby corn as suggested; they made a nice addition. I know the recipe was never intended to be spicy, but I can't help but think the next time I make it, I will add some crushed red pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. July 20, 2004

Has an excellent flavor, not too sweet for being a sweet and sour dish. Is very much Polynesian in flavor rather than being like Chinese. I did have to add more oil, more egg, and more cornstarch, so somebody may want to make sure they have extra before proceeding. I served mine with steamed jasmine rice. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau June 15, 2004
Hawaiian Pork Stir-Fry