12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

excellent spin on meatballs!! definitely best served over rice! such a tasty sauce that is tangy, yet sweet!!! it's just dh and i, so only used 1 lb. ground beef, added garlic, serrano peppers to the sauce...yum yum!! thanks for posting another keeper, klboyle!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD September 22, 2007

These are excellent!! My Step-Mom used to make them for me when I was a kid. I feel like a kid again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toddmike February 23, 2013

I made this for dinner tonight and it was a big hit. The only change I made was to use fresh pineapple but I think it would have been fine with the canned pineapple. Thanks for a great dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sacodeb February 22, 2011

I increased all the ingredients here by half since I was making this to share with two other couples in our mobile home park (I cook for them from time to time) & that worked out just fine! I did use a winter wheat bread but otherwise stuck to the recipe! Served the meat balls over a mound of brown rice & it was much appreciated by all of us, so this recipe is definitely worth 5 stars! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 04, 2010

Great recipe! The meatballs were very moist, and the recipe was very flavourful!! I added a bit more brown sugar (1/2 cup) to the sauce and some mar. cherries as another recipe suggested. I also had to add more constratch to get the sauce to thicken.. and it could have probably used more. Will make again for sure! For the first time I ever made meatballs - was very impressed on how it all went together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover360 February 26, 2010

These meatballs were easy to do. I used a leftover of challah bread. I used lean ground beef, a white onion. There was something missing in the meatballs. Maybe some spices. The taste of the sauce is great. Thanks KLBoyle. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 27, 2008

Made for a get together with friends. Was very easy and I didn't have to fuss over them while I made everything else. These had a good flavor and will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH April 28, 2008

My guys really enjoyed these meatballs. Even though I am not a meatball lover I found this very tasty. I did replace the bread with oatmeal because that is what I usually use and I think it makes it a bit healthier. I also used a tiny bit of fresh ginger which gave it a very nice ginger flavour. Thanks for sharing your recipe, it was a winner here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV February 08, 2008

I've made these several times now and they are always a hit. The flavor is mild but really delicious, making these perfect for any sauce. I use them now in all my meatball recipes, from appetizers to entrees. Thanks KL for a true family keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup December 25, 2007

This is fabulous! The sauce and the meatballs are easy and terrific! The only thing I added was a serrano pepper and a whisper of allspice. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. December 18, 2007
Hawaiian Meatballs