15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an excellent bread. I should have cooked it a touch longer, because it was so moist inside that in was difficult to cut in the center. I served it at our Hawaiian Luau. Several people commented that they loved it and wanted the recipe. If you have any leftovers, it makes a good light breakfast.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loriell September 17, 2002

This had a wonderful flavor. I halved the recipe using 50/50 white and wheat flour, egg beaters, 1 tbsp Enova oil and the rest applesauce, 1 cup frozen mango and omitted the macadamia nuts. It certainly was yummy, but did crust over a bit on the outside before the center was done. Thank you for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamb June 15, 2003

I run a vacation rental in Hawaii (vrbo.com/236604) and I make this bread for all of our guests. Everyone loves it and I have emailed a link to this website to many guests after they ask for the recipe. I make it exactly as described, only I pour the batter into two smaller 7-1/2" x 3-1/2"loaf pans, with the extra into a single size pan for my hubby. I use Mauna Loa Dry Roasted Macadamia Baking Pieces - they have a deeper flavor than non-roasted. I also use golden raisins. Even though I use smaller pans, I still bake it for the same time, and it is still moist. It really is delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candmantonio August 26, 2010

OH, MY GOODNESS!!! This recipe was sooooo ONO (delicious). I didn't have macadamia nuts so I used pecans. And didn't have any raisins either. I used mini loaf pans cause plan on giving out for Xmas. They turned out GREAT! So moist. I can imagine if I had macadamia nuts and raisins.....OH BOY....Going back to the store and buy some more mangoes and some macadamia nuts today.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flynhawaiian December 06, 2003

very good recipe, worth doing again. I recommend that you are very careful to insure that the mangoes are completely ripe. I used corn oil instead of cannola oil and decreased the amount of sugar to 1 cup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R. Warren Meddoff November 13, 2003

I used this recipe as a guide. I substituted coconut flour for the flour, honey and dates instead of sugar, chia gel for the eggs and puree'd the mango. Everyone LOVED it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tvalant July 09, 2014

Wow! This bread is so moist and delicious.This was my first time making mango bread and I really loved the flavor.This is my new favorite bread.It took about 3 large mangos to get the 2 cups.I did leave the coconut and nuts out this time because I didn't have them and I thought it was still fantastic.I'm glad I went ahead and added the raisins because I thought they went really well in this bread.I used applesauce for half the oil but I do that in all my breads now.I've already bought more mangos so I can make this again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
officemaintenance May 03, 2010

My daughter picked this recipe to make for a luau party. It was very moist and yummy. We used pecans instead of macadamia nuts. Next time i would add nutmeg and almond extract to bring out the coconut and nut flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Machine August 03, 2009

This a a great reciept, I didn't have macadamia nuts so i use walnut and pecan and it came a WONDERFUL!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lawanda.m.davis May 11, 2009

This recipe is ABSOLUTELY delicious! Divine! I cut the mango into large cubes, gives a rich mango flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamara W. June 29, 2008
Hawaiian Mango Bread