Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Macaroni Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Macaroni Salad

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2012

      You can't help but crave this stuff after eating plate lunch in Hawaii. I did follow the other reviewers and added vinegar and (brown) sugar (but a lot less). I also added a little more milk and 2 celery stalks. It did hit the spot! We liked this best right away, though I know a lot of people like to refrigerate it overnight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I was originally going to make my husbands filipino macaroni salad to go with the Korean spare ribs I was making but didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so I decided on a very basic macaroni salad and this fit the bill. This is exactly what you get when your served a side of hawaiian macaroni salad. Its pretty basic no frills. I did however, add 2 Tb of sweet condensed milk to suit my taste. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I found this salad to be ok as it is. It just seemed to need something else. I read, on a Hawaiian cooking site, the addition of curry powder but that didn't do anything for me so I mixed 2 tablespoons of sugar with 5 of rice vinegar and this brought the salad up to 4 stars for me. My husband loved it as it reminded him of his mother's macaroni salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This is a very simple recipe to do and great for beginners like me! I didn't have condensed milk on hand, but did the sugar/rice vinegar trick that Ilysse used, and I added half a sweet yellow onion (because I doubled the recipe) grated to the same size as carrots. It turned out pretty good for my first attempt at this dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      This was exactly what I was looking for to go with my kalua pork and rice. I felt like I was is Hawaii again. I did add a little sweetened condensed milk to add a little sweetness to the mayo. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This was just ok as is. It didn't have that extra sweetness I was looking for based off the Hawaiian style macaroni salads I have had in the past. And I know I wasn't the only one disappointed. I made this for a family gathering, and by the end of the night everything else was totally eaten, while this was barely touched. :o/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I have been searching for the basic macaroni salad like at the Hawaiian restaurants and this is it. It is perfect just the way it is, no need to add anything else. Thanks you for posting!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This was perfect. Just like Chef #242754 said -- tastes like the macaroni salad you get on the plate lunches in Hawaii. I cut the recipe in half and added a dash of hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      I've never even made macaroni salad before but I wanted one that was similar to the ones that are served with the plate lunches in Hawaiian restaurants......this was it!!!! I served this with Kahlua Pig and Teriyaki Chicken at a large family gathering, it was perfect. I thought I made way too much but it was the first thing gone. It was so simple and had just the right amount of flavor to make this meal a hit. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Macaroni Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 534.5
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    36%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 17.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 435.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.3 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites