10 Reviews

I was originally going to make my husbands filipino macaroni salad to go with the Korean spare ribs I was making but didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so I decided on a very basic macaroni salad and this fit the bill. This is exactly what you get when your served a side of hawaiian macaroni salad. Its pretty basic no frills. I did however, add 2 Tb of sweet condensed milk to suit my taste. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan August 27, 2009

You can't help but crave this stuff after eating plate lunch in Hawaii. I did follow the other reviewers and added vinegar and (brown) sugar (but a lot less). I also added a little more milk and 2 celery stalks. It did hit the spot! We liked this best right away, though I know a lot of people like to refrigerate it overnight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 04, 2012

This was exactly what I was looking for to go with my kalua pork and rice. I felt like I was is Hawaii again. I did add a little sweetened condensed milk to add a little sweetness to the mayo. It was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherienjeff June 28, 2011

I found this salad to be ok as it is. It just seemed to need something else. I read, on a Hawaiian cooking site, the addition of curry powder but that didn't do anything for me so I mixed 2 tablespoons of sugar with 5 of rice vinegar and this brought the salad up to 4 stars for me. My husband loved it as it reminded him of his mother's macaroni salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse March 25, 2008

I've never even made macaroni salad before but I wanted one that was similar to the ones that are served with the plate lunches in Hawaiian restaurants......this was it!!!! I served this with Kahlua Pig and Teriyaki Chicken at a large family gathering, it was perfect. I thought I made way too much but it was the first thing gone. It was so simple and had just the right amount of flavor to make this meal a hit. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinbo July 26, 2007

Brings back my hometown mac salad and mother's It was a big hit here with our Ohana (family) I thought I made too much but trust me it was almost gone but great to add to lunch the next day Very Ono (delicious ) Mahalo (thank you)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kinikiawilson April 05, 2016

This is a very simple recipe to do and great for beginners like me! I didn't have condensed milk on hand, but did the sugar/rice vinegar trick that Ilysse used, and I added half a sweet yellow onion (because I doubled the recipe) grated to the same size as carrots. It turned out pretty good for my first attempt at this dish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bronte30 July 14, 2011

This was just ok as is. It didn't have that extra sweetness I was looking for based off the Hawaiian style macaroni salads I have had in the past. And I know I wasn't the only one disappointed. I made this for a family gathering, and by the end of the night everything else was totally eaten, while this was barely touched. :o/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShugrGrl55 December 27, 2008

I have been searching for the basic macaroni salad like at the Hawaiian restaurants and this is it. It is perfect just the way it is, no need to add anything else. Thanks you for posting!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shan.marsh May 12, 2008

This was perfect. Just like Chef #242754 said -- tastes like the macaroni salad you get on the plate lunches in Hawaii. I cut the recipe in half and added a dash of hot sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf December 31, 2007
Hawaiian Macaroni Salad