Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-37 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2007

      I cheated and made this with the coleslaw mix but this was really good. Made for ZWT 07

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This was a very refreshing summer salad. Made it for my parent's 45th anniversary party this week end and everyone wanted the recipe. I doubled the amount of coleslaw (two bags) and although I forgot the recipe at home I tried to wing it. I used a whole fresh pineapple, 3/4 cup of sweetened coconut, 3/4 cup of raisins, 3/4 cup of macadamian nuts but forgot the salt and because I couldn't remember the amount of mayo, I used only one cup. It was really good. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Very good! Used regular raisins instead of the golden ones and it was very yummy! It was a big hit at my Luau Party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Add another five star review. This is such a fresh and different slaw. It was so easy to toss together. My niece ate two huge servings and said it was as good as dessert. I lost count of the number of servings my husband ate. He kept raving about how good it was. Thanks Geema, I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      This is just so fresh and inspiring. I usually hate coleslaw but I decided to try this one since it was so different from anything I had ever seen and guess what, it was so different that I cannot stop thinking about it now. I have never been to Hawaii but if this is just a glimps of what the food is like out there I will go there and eat to death. I almost felt like I was eating desert. Is that wrong??? I feel guilty now!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      Wonderful, fresh taste that's perfect for the hot weather. The store was out of regular cole slaw mix (and I was too lazy to chop up a head of cabbage) so I used broccoli slaw mix. It gave it a nice crunch without changing the taste. I did not use the nuts this time, but I will next time I make it - which will, no doubt be soon. Great BBQ side dish. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Thanks Geema and RecipeZaar for this delicious coleslaw recipe! At our monthly quilting meetings, we always have a potluck luncheon with a theme. Today was "Celebrate Hawaii." Everyone just raved about this salad, one non-coleslaw person went back for seconds, and everyone wants the recipe! This reaction apparently is not uncommon for this luscious recipe because many of the other reviews tell of similar circumstances! I couldn't find unsweetened coconut either, but it was terrific even with the sweetened. ***** (Those are the additional stars I'd give this recipe if I could!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      Refreshing, delicious, and easy to prepare. This tasted so good I had 2 servings. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Great coleslaw with a little different taste. Tastes even better if you make it a day ahead. I did double the raisins as I thought that was the key to the wonderful taste. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      I loved this recipe!!! I quadrupled the amount for a large Hawaiian themed birthday party and everything turned out perfect. I also used the premade cole slaw mix and sweetened coconut. It was so easy to put together and tasted so good!! I will definitely be using this recipe over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      This was a lovely recipe and a nice change from the traditional slaw recipes. We gobbled this all up. Yummm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      This coleslaw didn't last long! It was enjoyed by all. I didn't have the unsweetened coconut and used sweetened with no problem. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      I made this for my sister's luau themed bridal shower and it was a huge hit. I used the prepackaged cole slaw mix and the canned crushed pineapple, it was so easy and quick to make. It was so good I have been told I HAVE TO bring it to the bachlorette party too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      What a wonderful coleslaw. I am flat running out of superlatives for the great recipes I find on this site! I used dark raisins and substituted thick yogurt for the mayo. I'd use 1/2 yogurt and 1/2 mayo for mayonnaise fans. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      Made this tonight with some grilled teriyaki chicken. This was yummy! I did almost double the amount of raisins, used a little sweetened coconut, and omitted the salt because I used salted and roasted macadamias. I wouls say DO NOT leave the nuts out. I think it almost makes the dish. We will be making this again for a summer Luau party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      This is WONDERFUL coleslaw!! It was super easy to make! We did a hawaiian themed progressive dinner yesterday and I was the salad stop. I do not care for coleslaw but tried this and thought it was delish!! I had 75 people here through the course of the day and I had several people ask for the recipe. One man came back for thirds :-) I doubled the recipe. I used the cabbage heads and the canned crushed pineapple. My store did not have unsweetened coconut, so I had to use sweetened but it was fine. I made it the day before to let it "blend". I think this will be a regular at all of our barbecues from now on! Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.8
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    57%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 529.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 13.2 g
    52%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites