37 Reviews

Made this for a family Christmas get together and really enjoyed it. Left out the coconut and used 2 bags of the shredded cabbage and carrot mix. Great taste. Different twist on the normal coleslaw. Would make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lillian's grandma January 05, 2012

I just used the packaged slaw mix with shredded carrots already in them. I also used half yogurt/half mayo. This was quite different, I loved it! I can see this being a great bringalong.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suppen-Kaspar August 26, 2007

I have made this before and just love it! Taking it to a poolside family reunion tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elielia October 18, 2013

Fantastic! Nice side dish to my Kahlua pork. The only change I made was to add just a splash of apple cider vinegar to the dressing. I also doubled the dressing because I didn't measure my shredded cabbage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmbebout August 14, 2013

I was looking for a recipe for an anniversary laui and thought this sounded good as well as being impressed by the reviews. I am so glad I gave it a try as the word fabulous is an understatement. Who would have thought cabbage, pineapple, mayo, raisins and nuts would equal an outstanding cole slaw? I left out the coconut as it's not a favorite with some famiily members and it still turned out to be heavenly. Fyi, I threw in some roughly chopped macedamia nuts for texture and I heartily recommend doing so as it added a nice surprise. I believe wants would be good as well. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tulip Time June 07, 2013

Amazing! I ended up using miracle whip (didn't have any mayo) and sweetened coconut but it was delicious! My whole family loved it - I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katorugger October 03, 2011

Made this for a friend's picnic,and was SHOCKED by the response. Friends that never say much about food actually found me at the party to tell me how good it was and get the recipe. I would not only make it again,but I highly recommend it. I used fresh pineapple,and since I could only find sweetened coleslaw I used that. Otherwise I followed the recipe as shown.FANTASTIC!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ready2racerusty August 27, 2011

I'm mainly rating this on how fast it went in my party than my personal opinion. I just got a small bite when I was making it to taste it, but it was gone within 5 minutes of serving it. Everyone raved about it and several people said they liked it best out of all the other 3 salads that were served. I used the pre-packaged cole slaw, canned crushed pineapple and didn't add the coconut because I couln't find flaked unsweetened coconut and didn't feel like grating a fresh one. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Kat Cook August 15, 2011

I wasn't too sure about this recipe - cabbage and pineapple? But had some fresh pineapple I needed to use, plus my DH loves coleslaw. Had to use raw almonds, but this was super good. I will be making it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea June 24, 2011
Hawaiian Coleslaw