Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Coconut Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Coconut Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2007

      Great recipe! I added some spices to the batter like paprika and cayenne. Will definately make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      My son told me this is a "keeper". I made no changes to this recipe. I ran out of coconut about three-quarters of the way through, but just put more in bowl #3.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2003

      This was just delightful! I did use 1 pound colossal shrimp. I found the recipe to use more club soda and I used 1 1/2 cups coconut flakes. The honey mustard sauce had just the right oomph!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Really great, made for New Year's Day get together. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because the recipe doesn't have the right amounts of ingredients listed and I would have been in big trouble if I didn't happen to have extra coconut on hand. I ended up adding quite a bit more soda and probably another cup of coconut flakes. I think next time I'll leave the coconut out to dry out a bit so it doesn't clump as much. Great sauce. Next time I will halve it though and I might try to make something sweeter. It was a hit at the party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Very Good. Used water instead of soda and it still turned out great. Used 1-2 CUPS of Coconut. If you let the coated shrimp rest a bit before frying the coating stayed on better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Made this as my contribution to a girls' night in party. I used a lb of tiger shrimp instead but I used much more club soda, approx. 12 tbsps to get the batter to the consistency I wanted, and about 1.5 cups of flaked coconut. I served it with a store bought sweet and sour dipping sauce to save money on buying extra ingredients to make the honey mustard sauce, but next time I may try it out. After much trial and error, deep frying made the coconut burn while the shrimp was still not fully cooked (maybe cuz I used such large shrimp) so then I baked them first for about 15 on 350 degrees, and then deep fried them to toast the coconut batter. It came out well that way, just make sure you spray your baking sheet with some PAM to avoid it from sticking! I forgot to, and as I picked the shrimp up some of the batter was left on the foil... Well what can I say, first times are always an experience! I will have this down PAT next time I make it. LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      These shrimps are great. That says alot when I don't even like deep-fry shrimp or coconut. I made these for an ethnic dinner & they went over wonderfully. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Made this tonight for supper and both me and dh thought it was very good. The honey mustard sauce was also very good and made the shrimp taste really really good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      I made this recipe twice. The first time I made it for me and wife and accidentally put 1/3 cup of horseradish. Needless to say, it cleared my sinuses. I also made it as an appetizer for Mother's Day. It was the hit of the day! Everyone was raving about it. My mother in-law spent all day Monday raving about it. This is a masterpiece. My only problem or concern is the batter. Is the club soda amount right? The both times I made it, it seemed to need a heck of a lot more club soda to stick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      My husband AND 2 year old loved this recipe! I did have to add more liquid to the flour mixture in bowl #2 (didn't have club soda so I used Sprite instead). I used the already peeled/deveined/cooked shrimp for this and butterflied them before the battering process. I will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      These shrimp are delightful and the sauce is just right. I used more coconut - I'm not sure if the amounts would have covered 1 1/2 pounds of shrimp for me, but it's easy enough to add more. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      This is very good and fairly simple to make. I also made the suggested sauce. I'll probably make this one for Superbowl Sunday. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      I can't have shellfish so I didn't get to taste this. Everyone at my luau said this was the best coconut shrimp they had tasted. They liked the sauce too. Thanks BeachGirl. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      Worth the effort. I too used a lot more coconut. I also didn't have soda water so I used orange flavored seltzer. Next time I will use bigger shrimp so less time peeling and deviening. This recipe is soo good I am going to use it for my neighborhood famous appetizer party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      These shrimp are to die for!! I could eat the honey mustard sauce alone!!! So tasty! Thank you, I will be adding this to my regular menue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      This was a tedious dish, but was just great!! I also used more coconut and ended up making more batter too. The sauce really makes it. I REALLY liked this dish and will do it again when I have plenty of time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      Excellent, we really enjoyed this recipe. As suggested by BeachGirl I prepared the prawns in the morning and left them in the fridge ready to cook at night. I also used more soda and coconut flakes than the recipe stated, at least double the amount. The sauce has an amazing flavour and works perfectly with the coconut prawns. I served on rice for a main meal. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      I'm not going to rate this recipe just b/c i just made the sauce for another coconut shrimp recipe (i didnt have club soda for this one). But the sauce was PERFECT for the shrimp, however we left out the horseradish sauce since we didnt have any, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      This has been on my list to try for a while now. I had something very similar while we were in Hawaii last year and I have wanted to make this ever since then. Your directions were easy to follow and produced succulent my-goodness-I-can't-stop-eating-these shrimp. I agree with you, honey-mustard sauce is the only thing I would dip these in. Fabulous!!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Coconut Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Coconut Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.3
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    20%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 224.8 mg
    74%
    Sodium 1550.5 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 28.1 g
    112%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites