9 Reviews

One of the best cookie recipes I've ever tried. The cookies turn out very buttery and crisp, just melt in your mouth good. I added 1/2 teaspoon coconut extract for a little extra coconut flavor. Thank you for posting this great recipe. The reader that gave you a 3 star rating must have done something wrong as everyone else gave you a well deserved 5 stars...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Irene October 30, 2010

I LOVE these cookies!! They just melt in your mouth!! I toasted my coconut and it helped the flavor. Can't wait to try adding other ingredients to make them better!!Ü

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy2day May 26, 2010

Super yummy. I made them for an Obama inauguration party. He's from Hawaii, get it??

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamC January 21, 2009

Well I guess I'm just not the "norm" here. I enjoyed the ease of the recipe. I ended up toasting half of the coconut. But I did some without refrigerating and some with, neither took 20 minutes to cook, they took WAY longer! Closer to 30 minutes. If I waited too long the powdered sugar would not stick as well, which is hard because I have LARGE sheet pans and cook a lot at the same time. I wasn't all that impressed, I wanted MORE coconut flavor (which is good I guess, didn't eat that many!). The teachers I made them for apparently loved them, so I guess that was good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michawnpita August 16, 2010

You can never exercise enough to offset how many of these cookies you'll eat! I added 1 cup finely chopped macadamia nuts before adding the flour and instead of using the powdered sugar, I dipped one end of the cookie in melted chocolate. Thanks for sharing this wonderful cookie recipe, Ismy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker April 21, 2010

A wonderful shortbread cookie that's delicious and easy! I did not refrigerate the dough but rolled into 1" balls and flattened. I'll will definitely make these again and plan on adding some cardamom next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissulactosetolerant January 07, 2010

OMG! I doubled the recipe and made these for my granddaughter luau and they were gone so fast. My son in law actually hid some in the oven for himself! What a hit thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gmh0427 September 25, 2008

Yum! These were really good. I didn't refrigerate but just used a tablespoon to scoop and then pressed them down with my fingers. I also baked them about 10 minutes longer until I could see some light brown around the edges. I got 30 cookies using this method. They came out great. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CinchaS August 12, 2007

These are very delicate and buttery sweet. Thanks for the sweetness!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ November 30, 2006
Hawaiian Coconut Shortbread Cookies