11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe in Wisconsin on a day that the temperature outside was in the single digits, and it brought back memories of eating 'plate lunch' on Oahu when I was in the Navy. I loved this recipe, and it tasted just like I remember. I didn't have any chicken breasts, but I used pork instead, and it was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Carlson January 24, 2011

Very, very good! Saved us a bit of money, too, as my son is quite fond of L&L's chicken katsu. I made it exactly as described and put it in a styrofoam takeout box before nonchalantly tossing it on the table. He was definitely fooled and only looked suspicious when he realized I hadn't left the house! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! It is definitely staying in my permanent file.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morgorond June 28, 2007

Tasted great and was super easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KristyBucket October 03, 2014

Awesome recipe. Made it for dinner and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimae April 17, 2013

AWESOME. Trying brown sugar instead of granulated next time to see if it makes a difference in taste. This recipe is right on the money though! Try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missmehuh August 08, 2011

Ok, so this recipe (for me) get the 5 stars JUST for the sauce. We had L&L for dinner the other day, and my boyfried who is NOTORIOUSLY BAD at screwing up directions, orderd REGULAR portions for me AND my 6 yr old daughter, and only got 1 thing of sauce!!! needless to say, my daughter and i could have SPLIT just ONE of the generouse portions and had leftovers... so I had A LOT of leftovers! BUT NO SUACE!!! i googled ' L&L Katsu sauce recipe" and this came up. I made it, and its tastes pretty much SPOT ON to L&L!!!! major props!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyFlour66 June 18, 2011

I love this recipe! Its really easy to make and the Panko makes the chicken taste so crunchy and crispy! Goes great paired with Hawaiian Macaroni Salad

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurel95023 March 03, 2010

made this for my wife and what a treat. i am a truck driver and stumbled across l.l. close to one of my stops was very pleased with the texture and taste told my wife she needs to taste this chicken stuff i had found started looking aroundand found this what a great recipe if nbot as good as L.L. better all my kids now hve it in there favorite box iron woman i woulk hiss you for this thanks papa bob

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papa bob February 18, 2010

Yummy!My son,who is very picky,loved this.He loves crumbed chicken and I was very surprised when he liked the Katsu sauce.Will be making this again,thank you!Additional note,I have found it's easy to freeze in ice cube trays and then transfer them to a container.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katej76 March 12, 2009

Husband says this is a keeper! Quick, easy and tasy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redtaz November 14, 2007
Hawaiian Chicken Katsu