Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Chicken Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Chicken Chili

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2011

      This was a nice change from the usual beef chili that we make. I loved the idea of the pineapple, chicken, and chili combined, but there was way too much chili powder for me. I think it overshadowed the other flavors. I would cut it in half next time. I tasted it the recipe in its original state, and I ended up adding some brown sugar and leftover coffee to try to balance out the chili powder taste. I ended up topping it with tortilla chips, shredded cheddar, sour cream, and green onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      We really enjoyed this twist on regular beef chili!! I only had one jar of salsa and it was a Medium Chipotle Salsa so I only used 2 tbsp chili powder instead of 3. We used 1 can red kidney and 1 can white kidney beans and only 8 chicken breasts. I also cut my pineapple chunks in smaller pieces and added the next day when reaheating. We are going to enter this recipe in a chili cook-off this weekend...wish us luck!! Might try using fresh pineapple instead of canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I made this chili this morning and it turned out wonderful! Here are just a few notes that I made: 1.) I used 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, 2.) I used about 2 tablespoons of minced garlic, 3.) I used about 1 cup of frozen chopped onions, 4.) I used about 1 cup of frozen chopped green peppers and 5.) Instead of salt, I used an all-purpose seasoning called Cracker Girl. I browned the chicken in the butter first and then I drained it as it was very liquidy. I added the garlic, onions and peppers. In the meantime, I added all of the other ingredients (except for the pineapple chunks) to my crockpot and stirred it all up. I added the chicken when it was done and turned the crockpot on low and it has been cooking for about 6 hours or so. Hubby loves it! Thanks for the awesome recipe that I'm sure I will be using again and again. I just posted some pictures for you as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      This recipe is great and flavorfull. I won 1st place at our office chili cook-off (about 15 contestants). Since this was the 1st time I made it, I read all the reviews and combined recommendations. I used canned blackbeans and rinsed them well. Rinsing kept the chili colorful and reduced the saltiness. To save time, I used frozen chicken tenders, putting them in cold water, boiling for about 10 mins, and draining them. Pulling the meat in strips rather than cutting allowed the chicken to better absorb ingredient flavors and gave the chili a rustic homemade look. Used Dole pineapple tidbits rather than chunks. I didn't overcook or overstir the recipe. It paid off because cook-off customers commented that crispiness of the ingredients and pineapple made the chili special. Also refrigerating the chili overnight and reheating the next day really allowed the flavors blend. Recommend adding the salt to taste, because salt in chili powder and tomatoes brands vary. Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

    • on October 30, 2009

      Very good chili. I love the pineapple, but next time would use tidbits or cut the chunks in half. Also I added corn to the chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I made this quite awhile ago but I still remember how great it turned out. My mouth is watering again just thinking about it. I made this for a Hawaiian ethnic dinner for a large group & several commented how tasty it was. I agree it's sweet & savory, we used Pace salsa (which is quite hot) so I found it balanced the sweet perfectly. This dish gets better the longer it sits, thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I made this chili (my first chili attempt ever) and won a chili cookoff with it! Great recipe for a cookoff because it's something different. Sweet and Savory. I made it the night before, refrigerated it over night, and then put it in the crock pot for 2 1/2 hours on high. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I was very excited to make this chilli for a chilli cookoff. Some people were putoff by the pineapple in it, but were pleasantly surprised by the great taste. I decreased the chicken breasts by half and found that was plenty (they were large breasts). I used mild picante sauce because that was all the store had, but next time I would definately use medium. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I entered this in a chili cookoff with 21 contestants and placed 3rd. Awesome recipe! I used black beans in place of kidney's, diced tomatoes for texture, more Newmans Own pinapple salsa than called for and not as much cumin. Thanks so much!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This recipe is what got me addicted to Recipezaar!! The sweetness and texture of the pineapple compliments the spiciness so well it's addictive!! Even being a semi-novice in the kitchen, this recipe made me feel like a pro! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      WOW !!- This recipe is the easiest recipe to follow and is IT DELICIOUS !! - I was in a chili cook off within FSU and I knew there would be alot of chilis - so I wanted something different and without a "tang" This recipe gives you the sweetness and the spiceness in one dish. By the way.. I won for MOST CREATIVE in the chili cook-off. I highly recommend this recipe. Joelle W of Tallahassee, FL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Good chili. It didn't taste that different from our other favorite chili recipes. We didn't think it was too sweet, and we found the strong chili taste covered up the taste of the pineapple. Lots of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      This was good stuff! Followed several of the suggestions here: used 8 breasts and cooked in microwave first, then cooled and shredded. I added them after letting onions etc. cook for about 3 minutes. Also used 2/3 of the pineapple juice, 1 can each of kidney and black beans. I added pineapple at the table after chilling the chili for several hours and reheating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Very unique taste! I was looking for something different, and this sounded good. It made quite a lot...I hope it freezes well! I agree, it is better if it sits over night and eaten the next day. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Great chili - I used olive oil instead of butter. The only other sub I made was to shred the chicken instead of chunk it (I let it simmer with all of the other ingredients until it was easy to shred).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      fabulous chili. a nice change from the usual. easy enough to put together; but i had to condense the directions and throw it all into a pot and let it cook all day; and it was very good. i subbed black beans for the kidney beans and used crushed tomatoes and crushed pineapple instead. now, because i threw it all into a pot i didnt add the pineapple at the end; i put it in at the start. not sure how this changed the recipe but i didnt find it too sweet. i do think next time i may reduce the pineapple from the whole can to 3/4 of the can and/or add a bit more chili powder. very nice texture, taste and will make again. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      This chili definitely has a unique, tasty flavor to it! It was a little too sweet, so I may hold back some of the pineapple juice next time, but otherwise it was great. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      This was very good, I will make again but it was a bit sweet for my husband, ironically from Hawaii.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      A few of us girls from the office entered this into our local charity chili cookoff, and won People's Choice! We used black beans, and the Newman's Pineapple salsa suggestions. Also, we did half chunk and half shredded chicken as well as half chunk and half crushed pineapple to spread the flavors out some. We found that putting it in the refrigerator over night allowed for the flavors to blend even better. Great recipe and I'm not even fond of pineapple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Chicken Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (550 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 395.4
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    17%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 83.1 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1652.1 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    46%
    Sugars 26.2 g
    105%
    Protein 35.1 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites