24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a nice change from the usual beef chili that we make. I loved the idea of the pineapple, chicken, and chili combined, but there was way too much chili powder for me. I think it overshadowed the other flavors. I would cut it in half next time. I tasted it the recipe in its original state, and I ended up adding some brown sugar and leftover coffee to try to balance out the chili powder taste. I ended up topping it with tortilla chips, shredded cheddar, sour cream, and green onions.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover November 28, 2011

We really enjoyed this twist on regular beef chili!! I only had one jar of salsa and it was a Medium Chipotle Salsa so I only used 2 tbsp chili powder instead of 3. We used 1 can red kidney and 1 can white kidney beans and only 8 chicken breasts. I also cut my pineapple chunks in smaller pieces and added the next day when reaheating. We are going to enter this recipe in a chili cook-off this weekend...wish us luck!! Might try using fresh pineapple instead of canned.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay August 09, 2011

I made this chili this morning and it turned out wonderful! Here are just a few notes that I made: 1.) I used 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, 2.) I used about 2 tablespoons of minced garlic, 3.) I used about 1 cup of frozen chopped onions, 4.) I used about 1 cup of frozen chopped green peppers and 5.) Instead of salt, I used an all-purpose seasoning called Cracker Girl. I browned the chicken in the butter first and then I drained it as it was very liquidy. I added the garlic, onions and peppers. In the meantime, I added all of the other ingredients (except for the pineapple chunks) to my crockpot and stirred it all up. I added the chicken when it was done and turned the crockpot on low and it has been cooking for about 6 hours or so. Hubby loves it! Thanks for the awesome recipe that I'm sure I will be using again and again. I just posted some pictures for you as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl September 28, 2008

This recipe is great and flavorfull. I won 1st place at our office chili cook-off (about 15 contestants). Since this was the 1st time I made it, I read all the reviews and combined recommendations. I used canned blackbeans and rinsed them well. Rinsing kept the chili colorful and reduced the saltiness. To save time, I used frozen chicken tenders, putting them in cold water, boiling for about 10 mins, and draining them. Pulling the meat in strips rather than cutting allowed the chicken to better absorb ingredient flavors and gave the chili a rustic homemade look. Used Dole pineapple tidbits rather than chunks. I didn't overcook or overstir the recipe. It paid off because cook-off customers commented that crispiness of the ingredients and pineapple made the chili special. Also refrigerating the chili overnight and reheating the next day really allowed the flavors blend. Recommend adding the salt to taste, because salt in chili powder and tomatoes brands vary. Enjoy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coolean December 03, 2010

Very good chili. I love the pineapple, but next time would use tidbits or cut the chunks in half. Also I added corn to the chili.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil_woman October 30, 2009

I made this quite awhile ago but I still remember how great it turned out. My mouth is watering again just thinking about it. I made this for a Hawaiian ethnic dinner for a large group & several commented how tasty it was. I agree it's sweet & savory, we used Pace salsa (which is quite hot) so I found it balanced the sweet perfectly. This dish gets better the longer it sits, thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 October 22, 2009

I made this chili (my first chili attempt ever) and won a chili cookoff with it! Great recipe for a cookoff because it's something different. Sweet and Savory. I made it the night before, refrigerated it over night, and then put it in the crock pot for 2 1/2 hours on high. Everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickiatkinson March 10, 2009

I was very excited to make this chilli for a chilli cookoff. Some people were putoff by the pineapple in it, but were pleasantly surprised by the great taste. I decreased the chicken breasts by half and found that was plenty (they were large breasts). I used mild picante sauce because that was all the store had, but next time I would definately use medium. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinmom76 January 27, 2009

I entered this in a chili cookoff with 21 contestants and placed 3rd. Awesome recipe! I used black beans in place of kidney's, diced tomatoes for texture, more Newmans Own pinapple salsa than called for and not as much cumin. Thanks so much!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Gunther January 26, 2009
Hawaiian Chicken Chili