19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved it! Halved the recipe and used extra pineapple juice and also cut the butter in half. Does NOT need all the butter as this is flavorful all on its own. The chicken (40 minutes at 350) was very moist! DH loved and I did too. Even little ones loved the rice mixed with the sauce. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy April 06, 2010

Made this today and it is very good. Only change I made was I cut the vinegar down to 1/4 cup, a 1/2 seemed like a lot of vinegar. I mixed all of the ingredients and then put in my crockpot and cooked about 8 hours on low. The chicken was so tender and good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas December 10, 2007

This is my families FAVORITE dish every summer, and sometimes even in winter too!! I put twice the amount of pineapple in it, (draining the second cans juice into the sink, or the sauce will be too funny and acidic) I cook the chicken breasts whole to keep the chicken juicy, then cube them before serving of there aren't huge chunks of chicken to fight through. Seriously, my absolute favorite way of eating chicken!!! That's really the only change I make to this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 09, 2015

LOVED IT...I made this for a dinner tonight. I followed the recipe as written and it was delicious. White rice and a side and it was a perfect meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c w. August 28, 2014

So simple to make and a great recipes that doesn't leave many left overs. And if there is even the left overs will go quickly. Wonderful tasting recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhatThePhoenixIsCooking? October 30, 2013

Thanks for this recipe, It is delicious! I usually add maui sweet onions and either diced green peppers or diced orange peppers to the sauce. It goes really well with the sauce and chicken. The family loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nkristin34 September 21, 2013

Thank you so much! We halved your recipe, to the tee, and it was wonderful!! We'll be doing this many more times. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creed_Daddy August 23, 2013

I am giving this three stars because my family ate it, and said it tasted okay. But I really was expecting more of a sweet teriyaki sauce. This sauce was very one note, extremely sweet in the wrong way, and didn't know what it wanted to do. I will hunt for a different sauce, especially one that blends sweet and salty, and leaves out butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morrisspid February 11, 2013

My now-dead mother-in-law made an Hawaiian Chicken dish that my husband loved. We have been trying to find a recipe that was close. I think this is it! We knew it was from a home-maker/cooking magazine from the 60's. We substituted dry sherry for the vinegar. It works!
Another thought -- brown the chicken pieces in the butter, remove chicken, make sauce, return chicken to the pot. Put in oven for 50 or so minutes. This makes sense of the large amount of butter, and seems logical.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy Cooks! January 19, 2013

Just made this myself... took the advice of a few of the previous reviews and only used half the butter and half the vinager and I increased the pineapple to a 20 oz can... it turned out GREAT! The kids even went back for seconds. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deputydawg2454 September 22, 2012
Hawaiian Chicken