Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2010

      Loved it! Halved the recipe and used extra pineapple juice and also cut the butter in half. Does NOT need all the butter as this is flavorful all on its own. The chicken (40 minutes at 350) was very moist! DH loved and I did too. Even little ones loved the rice mixed with the sauce. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Made this today and it is very good. Only change I made was I cut the vinegar down to 1/4 cup, a 1/2 seemed like a lot of vinegar. I mixed all of the ingredients and then put in my crockpot and cooked about 8 hours on low. The chicken was so tender and good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

      LOVED IT...I made this for a dinner tonight. I followed the recipe as written and it was delicious. White rice and a side and it was a perfect meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      So simple to make and a great recipes that doesn't leave many left overs. And if there is even the left overs will go quickly. Wonderful tasting recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      Thanks for this recipe, It is delicious! I usually add maui sweet onions and either diced green peppers or diced orange peppers to the sauce. It goes really well with the sauce and chicken. The family loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      Thank you so much! We halved your recipe, to the tee, and it was wonderful!! We'll be doing this many more times. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      I am giving this three stars because my family ate it, and said it tasted okay. But I really was expecting more of a sweet teriyaki sauce. This sauce was very one note, extremely sweet in the wrong way, and didn't know what it wanted to do. I will hunt for a different sauce, especially one that blends sweet and salty, and leaves out butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      My now-dead mother-in-law made an Hawaiian Chicken dish that my husband loved. We have been trying to find a recipe that was close. I think this is it! We knew it was from a home-maker/cooking magazine from the 60's. We substituted dry sherry for the vinegar. It works!
      Another thought -- brown the chicken pieces in the butter, remove chicken, make sauce, return chicken to the pot. Put in oven for 50 or so minutes. This makes sense of the large amount of butter, and seems logical.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Just made this myself... took the advice of a few of the previous reviews and only used half the butter and half the vinager and I increased the pineapple to a 20 oz can... it turned out GREAT! The kids even went back for seconds. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Very good! The sauce tasted like it needed a little something, so I added some black pepper and garlic powder. Next time I may find a way to work in some sauted onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      The prep was easy, the chicken was tender, and the sauce was sweet and tangy. The only problem was there was a distinct lack of spice in the sauce. I omitted the butter this time and will next time. Next time I will also add a few spices (ginger and curry maybe?) to the sauce to liven it up a bit. However, me and hubby both agree this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This was pretty good. My son enjoyed it more than I did. There was a buttery taste in the sauce that I did not care for. I did use less butter, but I could still taste it. I was expecting this to be sweeter or have more of an Asian flavor , I still enjoyed it somewhat, but I knew as I was eating it that I probably won't make it again. It just wasn't what I was looking for. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This is our go to Hawaiian Chicken recipe. My DH has put this into his all time favorites list. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      I chose this recipe because it seemed easy to make and didn't have a lot of extra ingredients. My 5yr is very picky so just having the chicken and pineapple was perfect for him. He called it his candy chicken and rice! THANKS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      My family loved it! I didn't add quite as much butter or salt but still very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      This was good! Served over white rice and with buttered rolls, it can be a great weeknight dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      This recipe is so delicious! It's great with Caribbean Rice Mix (Zatarains) or Cous Cous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      Good all round recipe. I added less salt than what was called for. My kds really liked this and will request it. Thanks for a new chicken dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.7
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    47%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 66.7 mg
    22%
    Sodium 720.7 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes