9 Reviews

This is wonderful. The cool, sweet taste of the pineapple made a delicious contrast to the saltiness of the ham and cheese. Next time, I would bake it a little longer to cook the dough more thoroughly, and I would cut up the ham instead of using slices. Extremely filling, and a great change from the same old same old. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT Witchin Kitchen Antarctica challenge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl June 12, 2011

This was good and pretty easy to put together. Made for a cold fall Saturday lunch and everyone gobbled it up! I used pineapple tidbits that I drained and did not chop, and deli ham that I chopped up. We all love Hawaiian Pizza so this was perfect for my family. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH October 02, 2010

This was really an easy five star meal. I used Easy Peezy Pizza Dough (Bread Machine Pizza Dough) for the pizza dough, crushed pineapple (drained well on a paper towel), and I pinched the ends shut with a fork. I made four and froze two for DH to take for work lunch! Thanks for posting Shuz! Made for Holiday Tag December 2009!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ December 14, 2009

This was my first time making calzones and I scaled back to 2 serves, using a basil and tomato pasta sauce, and added some prawns and made 4 small calzones which were extremely filling. Thank you Shuzbud, made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 29, 2009

I thought this recipe had a really nice flavor and tasted good. And it was quick to throw together. I had two problems though. One I tasted more pineapple then ham, and I wished that had been the other way around. And two my bread got soggy on the bottom from the pineapple juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embutterfly75 August 05, 2009

A nice simple, TASTY, FLAVORFUL recipe that came together really well. Great lunch for us, and the kids even liked it too, thing about making these into pizza turnovers too. No leftovers here !!! Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker August 04, 2009

This is very good. Even though I wasn't able to do this in Calzone. Cause I made pizza dough, a recipe I always use, and I don't know what happened, but I had to throw it away :( So I put the topping on tortillas. And in the oven for about 20 minutes until melted. Thanks Shuzbud. Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 20, 2009

OUTSTANDING, & so easy to make, too! I enjoy Canadian bacon & pineapple pizza so was sure I'd like this as well! Definitely did enjoy consuming them, as much as I enjoyed making this great keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 06, 2009

What a great meal!! My daughter and son thoroughly enjoyed this treat for lunch today. Comes together very easily (I did cheat and just purchased refrigerated pizza dough and cut and rolled into the 8 inch circles. Worked perfectly and you get 3 calzones out of a standard size package. Be sure to drain & blot the pineapple well so that it does not water down the sauce! It is very tasty. So glad I tagged you for the Summer Spectacular event in the cooking tag game forum June 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom July 01, 2009
Hawaiian Calzone