Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2007

      Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! We don't eat eggs, so I used 3 tbsp of Ener-G brand egg substitute instead. I also toasted the walnuts for a few minutes while I was preheating the oven. I made them into exactly 12 muffins and baked for about 50 min. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Super easy to make and very tasty! I made mine gluten free by using 2 c. brown rice flour, 1 c. tapioca starch and 1 Tbsp xanthan gum in place of the flour. Also used maple syrup in place of the sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This tasted fabulous even with a severe cold! I subbed one cup whole wheat flour and sprinkled the top with sweetened flaked coconut and some brown sugar. Perfection! Two 9x5x4-inch loaves took 65 minutes (had to tent aluminum foil over them after 30 minutes to prevent the tops burning. This may not replace my standard banana bread entirely, but it's definitely going to be on the short list of variations. I froze one loaf to eat later when my sense of taste and smell are back to normal. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Wonderfully easy recipe - like others I reduced the sugar by half & still had good results. also used coconut oil for my oil. Very moist bread, thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I had some bananas that were on the verge of going bad and this was the PERFECT way to use them up. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Absolutely awesome. I increased vanilla to 2 teasp. I baked them as muffins for 25 minutes. So moist and delicious. The only thing I will do different next time is to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cup. Thank you for this recipe.My DD loves these muffins. It is the only ones she will eat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      My family just loves this recipe so THANK YOU for sharing it with us. I love the fact that we get two loves. I always gift the second loaf to someone as a thank you. I changed the recipe a little. I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 applesauce, 2 cups of brown sugar instead and 2 tsp of vanilla, I had to leave out the nuts ( had none on hand) the flavor is great. THIS RECIPE IS A KEEPER !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      I actually only had 3 smaller bananas which ended up being about a cup. I whipped up some banana creme instant pudding and put a cup of that with the cup of mashed banana. Turned out SUPER moist, and as nothing burnt, this is stellar for me. I have a tendency to bake badly :) Thanks for sharing the recipe, tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I doubled this and I am glad I did, it was fabulous...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Yummo! This is the best banana bread I have had. Not too banana-ey, super moist, love the pineapple and crunchy walnuts in the mix. Made into 2 loaves and I froze one. Only lasted a day as it was so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      friends love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      I was getting tired of just plain banana bread so I thought I would try this recipe.I'm so glad I did..the pineapple made it so moist and it really gave the bread a delicious flavor.The 8oz can was just the right amount of pineapple for me.I used 1/2 cup of walnuts and it was perfect.I did mix the flour, salt ,soda and cinnamon seperately before adding to the wet ingredients..that's just how I always do it.I made one 8x4 loaf and 3 mini loaves. Yum! Can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Loads of flavor :) I will say that I adjusted this recipe a little and also according to other reviewers but I am sure it is wonderful on its own even. I ended up adding an additional cup of flour (I felt my mixture was too thin for a bread so I wanted to be sure it was like bread). I also added a full can of pineapples (20 oz can) and only added about 1/4 cup to 1/2 up of its juice maybe (didn't measure). I added maraschino cherries as well. My husband kept saying how good whatever was baking smelled and then he ate it and said it was very good. The kids loved it as well and I must say it is a keeper. It's a step up from plain ole banana bread thats for sure! I would rather have it this way :) Thanks so very much for sharing this awesome recipe. Oh yeah one other thing I did was I just baked mine in a 9x13 glass pyrex baking dish and cut into squares. I would imagine that the donut glaze Donut Glaze would taste wonderful on this if you wanted something to go on top. I love the glaze recipe on my donuts and I may try it next time on this bread just for dressing it up a bit for company,etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Super moist, very flavorful. Followed the recipe except added coconut. My family loved it, the only thing I would do a little differently is add more pineapple next time but not more pineapple juice, keep that the same and maybe some cherries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and they were still very moist and delicious. Also used 2 tsp. vanilla per reviews. Made 18 muffins and 2 mini loaves. Thank you for the recipe. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Excellent, easy, moist bread. Wonderful flavor and very easy to prepare. A real keeper. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This cake is fabulous. I almost didn't want to make it because of the banana's. I thought it would taste like banana bread. It didn't. Found it to be very moist. Kids wolfed it down. Made 6 loafs (or loaves) for neighbors. 4 asked for recipe. This one is a keeper. Also, I first found this on another recipe site and it called for shredded coconut. 1/2 cup I think

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      This bread is PERFECT! The flavors meld together perfectly. You don't think you are eating banana bread with pineapples in it or vice versa. The hint of cinammon is also perfect. I did add coconut. It added some texture, but you couln't really taste it. I lessened the sugar like others posted. My yield was a large loaf and 4 small loaves. Next time make it I'll probably substitute some whole wheat flour. What a great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I liked this recipe quite a bit! It was super simple, didn't take too long, and only required ingredients that I readily had on hand. I followed the recipe except that I used about 75% whole wheat flour, and the rest white flour. (Try it, it makes for a much heartier taste and its better for you!) My bananas were still a bit green when I used them (no problems!) and I don't think I used quite enough pineapple as I was just estimating 8 ounces from a 20 ounce can. I also used imitation vanilla extract instead of vanilla. I baked it in two 8-1/4" X 4" X 4" glass baking dishes. This was great, it was done and out of the oven in one hour exactly. JUST IN CASE, this batter does rise, so make sure to only fill any baking dish about a little more than half way. Thankfully mine was just perfect, otherwise I could've had a big mess in the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Excellent!! I brought in a couple slices this morning to munch on!! Wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1744 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2929.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1238
    42%
    Total Fat 137.6 g
    211%
    Saturated Fat 18.7 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 279.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 1617.1 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 400.9 g
    133%
    Dietary Fiber 12.5 g
    50%
    Sugars 236.1 g
    944%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites