Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hawaiian Baked Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hawaiian Baked Beans

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2010

      Great flavor and the sauce is easy to make. Could not get canned great northern beans here in Hawaii! So had to do the soak & cook routine, which makes this fairly quick recipe rather a slow
      process ~ the result however, was worth the extra time. Frankly, I wouldn't change a thing. The ingredients make a pleasant flavor which was enjoyed by all. Mahalo for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      Superb!! I did these in a crockpot and took it to a potluck. Very well received. I cut the sugar back to 1 cup and it was more than enough. I also found this a little bit too "liquidy" for a potluck so I thickened it up with a couple cups of fine breadcrumbs. Worked like a charm. Thank you Sue L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Excellant bean recipe. I also made it for a 50th birtday Luau party. A bit sweet but very tasty and very well received by the party guests. I drained most of the liquid off the beans and only cooked for an additional 15 minutes after removing the foil. I cubed up a ham steak and this worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This was very good and easy to make. It had a very nice sweet flavor. You wouldn't know it had pineapple in it unless you were told. So, don't be afraid to make these, everyone will love them. Thanks for sharing!! I will definitely make them again. Brian

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      These were a HUGE hit! I made them for my mom's surprise 50th luau birthday party and they were such a huge hit, I couldn't believe all the comments I got on my beans...I must have had a half a dozen people ask me for the recipe. They were a tiny bit sweet for me, but after eating them I made the comment I'd never buy baked beans out of a can ever again. People liked that they were sweet though! They were sooo good! I used 3 recipes to fill a circular crock pot. Baked them ahead of time (using two large 9x13 pans) and then just re-heated them a 2-3 hours on high before the party (or just until they heated through). Just for an idea for large groups, I tripled the recipe which said it feeds 20 servings per recipe. We had about 30-35 people at our party and we only had a medium size bowl left over. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE SUE!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      Taste was wonderful but NO WAY would this serve 14-20 people as stated. The absolute MOST would be 8 to 10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      Love this dish. Friend has made several times for carry-ins. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

    • on April 30, 2007

      Love it! Big hit at my Luau Party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      Very good beans, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I made these for a luau-themed pot luck and had none left to take home! The beans were very sweet and and the texture was excellent - not mushy at all. I left out the ham, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      Another dish served at my luau. This dish was well liked. Very easy to mix together. First time I have used cider vinegar in baked beans. Thanks Sue L. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      Doubled this recipe for a party and loved these beans - - I used less sugar as suggested, drained half of the 7 cans of beans that I used, and did not use any ham(lots of vegetarians in our family). I put everything together the night before and cooked it - and reheated just before the party. Worked out perfectly and the beans tasted fabuluous!! Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      We enjoyed this. I made a few changes tho. First I left out the ham and added some cut up hot dogs to make this a hot dog and bean casserole. I didn't have cider vin. so used white. I also didn't have dark brown sugar so used light and a little bit of mollases. Mike and I both agree that the dark brown sugar would be better. I just realized, I don't remember putting mustard in it lol, I remember going to the fridge to get some but don't think I ever put any in lol. I made this last night in the middle of an allergy attack lol OH and I used a bag of dried beans rather than cans and cooked them as directed on the bag b4 added them to the casserole. I added more pineapple than called for just because I like it and next time may try chunks rather than crushed. I put it in the fridge last night and popped it in the oven when I got home from work 2day for Shabbat dinner. We really enjoyed this easy (even with using the dried beans) and inexpensive meal. Mike just loved it and I am sure it will be on his request list. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      I had birthday party for 40 people I used hawaiin for the theme and the beans great. I got all the recipes I used on this site. They thought every thing was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      Awesome! Best baked beans ever. I used 1 cup or loose (not packed) dark brown sugar, and rinsed/drained the beans. They came out a little drier than I am used to for baked beans - but the taste was WELL worth it. I'll be making these for our wedding and will probably include the bean juice from 1/3 of the cans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      These were great but a little too sweet for my family, also they were a little watery, I did not drain the cans of beans because it didn't say to so, next time I will drain them, and add less sugar, they will be perfect. They were great for my son's luau birthday party. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      cut back on liquid from cans of beans

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Very tasty! Easy to put together. It is a little liquidy, but thickened up nicely by the next day--leftovers were even better than fresh from the oven. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hawaiian Baked Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.2
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    12%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 10.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 130.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 19.3 g
    77%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites