Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Haupia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Haupia

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2011

      Very easy haupia recipe. It set quickly and was creamy and smooth. I like mine a little sweeter than the recipe calls for, but that's an easy fix for next time. I made this for a luau and for ZWT 7. Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This is great! What a wonderful naturally vegan treat! I deviated from the standard recipe and made a pie from the mixture. Instead of 3/4 C water I used 1/2 lime juice and 1/4 water. I used 6 Tb corn starch and 7 Tb. sugar (extra to counteract the sour of the lime). After it was done I poured it into a graham cracker crust and let it cool a bit before covering it and putting it in the fridge to set. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Fun easy dessert. I can't vouch for the authenticity, but this recipe makes nice light snack or dessert. I did substitute casava starch for corn starch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Delicious! I did make a few alterations choosing to add only 1/2 a cup of water, filling the remaining liquid quota with hazelnut milk. Found at most natural food stores, it really accentuated the coconut flavor and removed the necessity of any form of extract. I also substituted pale agave nectar for sugar because I find it incorporates better into glutinous recipes. Quick with a lovely consistency, this is defiantly a recipe to remember -- thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I followed one of the others tip and cooked it until it was very thick and coming free from the sides of the pot. Doing this also made the cornstarch taste go away. I will be making this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      I made this for the first time a few days ago and both myself and my hubby loved it, it disappeared pretty fast. It reminds me a lot of the French pudding called Blanc Mange that my mom used to make when I was a child. I like the coconut milk version better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      It's nothing like the haupia I grew up with in Hawaii as a child. It tastes like it has too much cornstarch in it and it's too opague.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      Haupia has always be a local favorite of mine, but making it can be difficult because it has to be cooked right to set. I found that the trick is to cook it until it separates from the pan. I used a 14 oz. can of coconut milk and 6 Tbsp of sugar and cornstarch. Thanks Rita L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      What a neat tropical treat! If you like coconut and need a light dessert this will fit the bill. I used 5 Tbls. of sugar and cornstarch. It wouldn't hurt to increase the sugar to 6 Tbls. but I think the cornstarch was just about right. The kids said they were like coconut jello jigglers. :o) Thanks Rita for sharing such a fun recipe and allowing me to share a 'taste of the islands' with my kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Haupia

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 62.0
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    65%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes