Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hash Browns Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hash Browns Casserole

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-39 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2007

      I find it really hard to find a recipe that the entire family likes, but this one did the trick. I ended up using a mix of frozen french fries and hash browns to use things up. I also added 2 cans of soup and left off the topping. This is easy to make and a kid pleaser. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      My aunt gave this recipe to me years ago, so I've been making it for the holidays ever since. Everyone loves it. In fact, when asked if they want mashed potatoes and gravy or hashbrown casserole, they always choose this. One thing that I do differently, is I use Hashbrowns O'brien. They have diced onion, green and red peppers already in the potatoes. It adds a little extra color and flavor to the finished product. (I also omit the extra onions called for in the recipe.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Made this last night and it was wonderful! The only hard part was finding a bowl big enough to mix all of that in. It made a huge batch and we'll be eating off of it for a week, I think. ;) Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      As with other reviewers I left the butter out of this recipe. In the past when I have added it I found it would float to the top and leave the dish greasy. I used two cans of soup instead to make the dish extra creamy. I did make the dish with low fat soup, sour cream and cheddar. I cooked half immediately and placed the other half in a disposable pan covered with foil in the freezer. To cook the second pan I thawed overnight in the fridge and cooked as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      This tasted really good, but I made some changes to it. I'm not sure how it would taste with all that butter and the sour cream. I used 2 cans of creamy soup (chicken and asparagus) and a little milk (maybe 1/3 cup or so) to thin it out instead of butter. The cheese adds plenty of grease, you don't need melted butter added to it. I didn't have sour cream, but it was plenty creamy with 2 cans of soup and the milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      i have made this recipe for the last three years for Easter and people rave about it all day!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      This dish got a resounding "Yum!" from the family at our New Year's Eve dinner. I also mixed in a small handful of canned fried onion rings. My dad asked for some mixed with cornflakes next time, too. My aunt and uncle asked for the recipe. I left out the 1/2 cup melted butter. Very good; thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      I made this for our Christmas day buffet and it was a big hit. I baked in a 9x13 glass baking dish and it was just the right thickness for me; still baked 40-45 minutes. I used 2 Tablespoons of butter only and topped with parmesan cheese insead of the cornflakes. I also added a small jar of diced pimentos and this recipe brings hashbrown casseroles to a new level as far as I am concerned; I have made a ton of them. Happy they sent me a lot of left overs home! Thank you for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

    • on April 08, 2006

      Very good and tasty. The only changes I made was to use half of the butter,reduced the salt to 3/4 tsp, and added a couple of dashes of tabasco sauce. I also assemble mine a little different. I spray the pan with nonstick cooking spray, place the thawed hashbrowns in the the pan. Combine the other ingredients (except for the topping) pour it over the top of the hashbrowns. I then crush the cornflakes over the top and then drizzle with butter and bake. Sorry this is so long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      This is an excellent recipe, but yes, 1/2 c. butter is too much, and use the "southern style", or chunky hashbrowns - also good with "potatoes O'brien" that have the peppers & onions already in them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      This was very good. I used shredded hash browns, but next time, I think I'll use the finely chopped hash browns for a different texture. I wasn't sure which to use. We all really enjoyed this side dish. I served it with pork chops. I'm looking forward to the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      We really liked this casserole and it was very easy to make. There were a lot of leftovers which were good for lunch the next day. Next time I will cut down on the amount of sour cream though as my DD thought it was too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      While this casserole tasted good, I thought the 1/2 cup butter was too much and found the dish too oily. Next time I will use 1/4 cup margarine and will also cut the sour creme down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      We paired this casserole with fried steak (served with mushrooms and onions of course) and it was heavenly. We have leftovers for lunch today and I'm looking forward to it! Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      We love this casserole in the winter time especially. I make it as a side-dish with ham or chicken. I skip the cornflake topping though. We prefer it without any topping. It's such a yummy, welcome addition to any meal. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2004

      This casserole is very rich and yummy! We served it at a birthday party today (brunch) and it got lots of compliments. I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom, still great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2004

      Everyone gobbled this up, what an amazing recipe, simple and very tasty and filling. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      A family favourite of ours! I always add 1 cup of mixed veggies and some chopped ham or farmer sausage and make it a complete dinner. This casserole freezes very well. I often make 1 family size casserole and 1 or 2 small lunch size casseroles to keep in the freezer for my husband's lunch. A great recipe, thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hash Browns Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 320.5
     
    Calories from Fat 212
    66%
    Total Fat 23.6 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 62.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 656.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites