Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hash Browns Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hash Browns Casserole

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2010

      I omitted the corn flakes...yuck. Turned out great! Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      DH and DS gobbled up this casserole. The texture was creamy and the the topping added a nice contrast. The flavor was wonderful with the cheese and onion flavors dominating. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

      DH and I loved this recipe. I always look for recipe that I can make from supplies I have on hand. This was just the recipe. Loved the crunch on top. Will definately make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      Fantastic. It's just like Mother's recipe that is my family's favorite csserole. Easy, creamy, delicious and goes well with any meat main dish. I'd give it 6 stars if I could. This is definitely a winner, KC!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      Very good! The flavor of onions comes through the strongest, I think. I made it with the frozen hash browns and then re-froze the casserole. Completely thawed the day before serving and cooked it in the crockpot. 4-5 hours on low. Oh, and I didn't top it with anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      Yummy! I baked it at 375 and substituted 1/2 cup cottage cheese for 1/2 the sour cream. I just wish I could make the bottom and top crust crispier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      Tried this for In-Laws yesterday morning. It met the need for a potato breakfast side, but I found it somewhat boring. It DID make a big 9x13, and I'll be eating on it for next several days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      I am acquainted with a group of ladies who love to potluck and this is always a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      Yummy! Hashbrown Casserole HAS to be at each potluck :) Great, solid recipe that everyone loves, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      My DH and kids love this casserole when my SIL makes it for the holidays but I've never made it. I had a big bag of frozen hash browns I needed to use up so I gave this recipe a shot. This is not for the calorie conscious :-) so I halved the butter and the creamy soup and added in some milk for a little more moisture. You could probably use chicken broth, too. I was also too lazy to chop the onions so I used a packet of dry onion soup mix. Wasn't sure my kids would like it but they loved it. Next time I would use maybe only half the packet (especially because it and the soup both contain msg and we're trying to cut down). This recipe lends itself to "customization". Thanks for posting it, now we won't have to wait for the holidays to enjoy it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I made this today for our family reunion picnic. My Aunt said this in resonse: " I am becoming more impressed every time you cook.! Your becoming more and more like you aunt!" My Aunt is a caterer! anyway, everybody loved them. I never used processed potatoes, but will make an exception for this recipe. Will definitely make again, maybe add some more cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This is a long-standing favorite in our family. I cut the butter to 1/4 cup and add leftover ham. Also, for a different topping, it's a great way to use up the smashed potato chips that are always left in the bottom of the bag - actually the preferred topping! When freezing for a later date, I leave off the topping until just before putting in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      OMGoodness!! This was so wonderful and flavorful! I really powdered the cornflakes, as I think they come out a little on the chewy side. Maybe next time, I'll only use 1 cup of cornflakes. Otherwise, this is such a winner!! My 3 guys loved it and ASKED for the leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      this is good with a few changes...i buy the potatoes o'brien so you do not have to worry about chopping onion. I also up the sour cream to 16oz and leave out the butter. i don't necessarily think it is needed. to make the topping, all you have to do is melt the butter in the microwave and add crushed corn flakes. there is no need to saute them. They brown nicely in the oven although they do have to be mixed with the butter so that they do not burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Excellent. I don't like a dry hashbrown casserole so I addd about 1/4 cup of milk. Otherwise I followed the recipe. Very yummy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I was looking for a good recipe to alter to my family's tastes and this was perfect. I left out the 1/2 cup butter and added about 1 cup cubed velveeta. I also added onion and garlic powder instead of the chopped onions. I didn't add the topping because I forgot to buy cornflakes but next time for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

    • on December 26, 2007

      Excellent!! Served at Christmas dinner and was a hit. Nothing left to bring home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! Made it for Christmas dinner and got rave reviews from everyone. This will definitely be a regular at the holidays! Great warmed up, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hash Browns Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 320.5
     
    Calories from Fat 212
    66%
    Total Fat 23.6 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 62.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 656.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes