34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this recipe quite a bit since June of 2005, and it's still just as good as it was then.And I said then "if you add garlic powder to taste " this recipe really does taste like Cracker Barrel's Hashbowns. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling:) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � October 15, 2010

My family loved it. This is the first time I made it and they fell in love with it! It was super easy and fairly quick I did however take some previously mentioned tips and made some changes: less butter, added a little green pepper and salteed them and the onions a couple of mins. before adding them to the mix. I also fried some kalbosa and added it which gave it a good flavor. But I can only give it four stars because of the changes I had to make to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BCarroll26301 April 04, 2012

Very easy recipe. I thought it needed a bit more bamm , so next time I'll add something to punch it up. I halved the recipe and it was gone, so a good recipe in my book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill September 14, 2010

So easy and delicious! The only change I made was to use a large can of Cream of chicken soup instead of the regular size. This turned out great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit August 24, 2010

I made this for brunch yesterday and everyone loved it. Made a couple of tweaks... used a little bit of dried minced onion and some onion powder instead of chopped fresh onion and added some garlic powder and thinly sliced ham as well. I'm going to make this everytime I get an excuse to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes June 07, 2010

Other than the ham/turkey, this is the only thing that my husband specifically requests for the holidays. It is delicious! I have doubled the recipe many times to feed a crowd. Always pleases, and I usually receive several requests for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel'sWife November 21, 2009

This is a good casserole. I have made this style of casserole before and we have enjoyed it very much. Its very good for breakfast and saved time having to stand there frying hashbrowns. Perfect. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 29, 2009

We turned this into a main dish for dinner tonight by adding about 1/2 lb diced ham mixed in with the hash browns. Other than that, the only changes I made were to omit the salt as suggested by other reviewers and sprinkle extra cheese (enough to generously cover) on top of the casserole before baking - we like it cheesy!!! Husband said the extra cheesy topping took this recipe over the top for him. Even our somewhat picky 3-year-old cleaned her plate. Not sure how it compares to Cracker Barrel. Thanks for posting! Our family really enjoyed this and it will definitely be added to our future meal rotations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts February 26, 2009

Excellent is correct statement for this casserole. I used red onion, 4 ounces colby cheese and only 1 pound of frozen hash browns. Came out perfect. This recipe goes into my keeper file

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 October 24, 2008

I'm giving this 4 stars because my husband LOVED it. I thought it was just so-so. Not quite what I was expecting. Overall though, a great recipe. And if my husband has anything to say to it, we'll be making it again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Willy's Wife <3 December 16, 2007
Hash Browns Casserole