Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hash Browns Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hash Browns Casserole

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2010

      I've made this recipe quite a bit since June of 2005, and it's still just as good as it was then.And I said then "if you add garlic powder to taste " this recipe really does taste like Cracker Barrel's Hashbowns. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling:) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      My family loved it. This is the first time I made it and they fell in love with it! It was super easy and fairly quick I did however take some previously mentioned tips and made some changes: less butter, added a little green pepper and salteed them and the onions a couple of mins. before adding them to the mix. I also fried some kalbosa and added it which gave it a good flavor. But I can only give it four stars because of the changes I had to make to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Very easy recipe. I thought it needed a bit more bamm , so next time I'll add something to punch it up. I halved the recipe and it was gone, so a good recipe in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      So easy and delicious! The only change I made was to use a large can of Cream of chicken soup instead of the regular size. This turned out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      I made this for brunch yesterday and everyone loved it. Made a couple of tweaks... used a little bit of dried minced onion and some onion powder instead of chopped fresh onion and added some garlic powder and thinly sliced ham as well. I'm going to make this everytime I get an excuse to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Other than the ham/turkey, this is the only thing that my husband specifically requests for the holidays. It is delicious! I have doubled the recipe many times to feed a crowd. Always pleases, and I usually receive several requests for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      This is a good casserole. I have made this style of casserole before and we have enjoyed it very much. Its very good for breakfast and saved time having to stand there frying hashbrowns. Perfect. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      We turned this into a main dish for dinner tonight by adding about 1/2 lb diced ham mixed in with the hash browns. Other than that, the only changes I made were to omit the salt as suggested by other reviewers and sprinkle extra cheese (enough to generously cover) on top of the casserole before baking - we like it cheesy!!! Husband said the extra cheesy topping took this recipe over the top for him. Even our somewhat picky 3-year-old cleaned her plate. Not sure how it compares to Cracker Barrel. Thanks for posting! Our family really enjoyed this and it will definitely be added to our future meal rotations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Excellent is correct statement for this casserole. I used red onion, 4 ounces colby cheese and only 1 pound of frozen hash browns. Came out perfect. This recipe goes into my keeper file

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I'm giving this 4 stars because my husband LOVED it. I thought it was just so-so. Not quite what I was expecting. Overall though, a great recipe. And if my husband has anything to say to it, we'll be making it again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      YUMMY! I made this recipe, just as is, and took it to a friend's for dinner--The hash brown casserole was gone in no time and everyone raved about how good it was. Next time I might try doubling the recipe if it is for more than 5-6 people, or if we want leftovers. Great for adults and kids alike.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Excellent!!!!!! taste just like Cracker Barrel, I left out the salt, next time im going to add it. Followed recipe line by line.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      I have tried many many hashbrown casseroles, and finally found something worth fixing again. Wow! This was fantastic!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Made this for dinner tonight and the whole family gobbled it up !!, I have no idea if it tastes like the Cracker Barrel version, but I do know its really really good.... I halved the amount of marg as suggested and it turned out brilliantly... would be perfect instead of a traditionaly potato bake at a BBQ, will certainly be making this again and again, thankyou !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      It seems like there are a hundred different recipes of this casserole. This one was good - I cut the butter in half and it was fine - more would have been too greasy. Next time I'll cut out the salt completely as teh soup and cheese have enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      I was looking for a recipe that didn't use sour cream because I realized I was out. I came across this recipe. This was really good!!! My 6 year old daughter devoured it up too.....she at 2 bowls of it!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      This is the closest recipe for Cracker Barrel's casserole I've ever tasted. You hit the nail on the head with this recipe! Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      very delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      i made this tonight and the family loved it i will make this again and again it is so good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      Thank You for a wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe as it is wrote. I could not stop eatting it. Had it with Awsome BBQ Pork Chop and Beans. Will be making this over and over for family and friends. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hash Browns Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (1600 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3574.0
     
    Calories from Fat 2164
    60%
    Total Fat 240.5 g
    370%
    Saturated Fat 101.3 g
    506%
    Cholesterol 240.2 mg
    80%
    Sodium 6680.5 mg
    278%
    Total Carbohydrate 287.7 g
    95%
    Dietary Fiber 19.1 g
    76%
    Sugars 18.7 g
    75%
    Protein 91.0 g
    182%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites