Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hash Browns Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hash Browns Casserole

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2002

      Diana, thank you for posting this wonderful potato casserole! The mixture of crushed corn flakes and melted butter atop was the crowning glory. I've had two dinner parties in the past week and served it at both dinners...everyone loved it. It is also good as leftovers, I just heated them up without a cover and they were as crispy on top as they should have been. I even had a container of them in the freezer from the first dinner party and when I defrosted and reheated them, they tasted just wonderful! This is a real winner. Be sure to defrost them thoroughly before putting the recipe together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      I always hate to "rain on the parade" when others love a recipe, but my family found this too bland and tasting too much of canned soup. We frequently don't care for things that have canned soup as an ingredient, so maybe this is just our personal hang up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      This is a recipe I have had before. I didn't know how to make it for years. So when I found it on this site, my family tried it and loves it. They have requested it again, so we're having it again tonight. It is truely a wonderful side dish. Thanks K.S. Oklahoma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      This was good, but a bit bland. I doubled it, so maybe I didn't get it mixed enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      We call this Texas potatos and use the shredded hash browns. The flavors are wonderful and you won't be sorry that you tried it. Especially good with ham or BBQ brisket.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

    • on December 17, 2010

      A friend of mine made this for our Christmas pot luck and this was the first dish gone in a flash!
      Creamy, melt in your mouth texture and just felt great eating this on a very cold day here in Missouri.
      The only change she made was that she added 1/2 cup of chopped green pepper and only used 1/2 cup of chopped onion. Oh, and she used butter instead of margarine.
      This is a definite keeper for a cold day. I am sure this dish would make a great accompanier for a baked ham too.
      Thanks for posting and my friend thanks you too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Made this for Christmas last year, was so good. It was the only dish that was all gone. Making again tonight for a party, can't wait to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      This is the same recipe that is posted on a local company Mr. Dell's Potatoes (frozen hash browns). We make this quite often for large family meals. This is a no fail recipe! I have found that I can cut the butter in half and it still comes out creamy and rich! Great to try with different soups - cream of mushroom, cream of celery are a couple that we like. Thanks for posting this one DiB's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Thanks for this recipe. It is a keeper for any brunch or family Brinner (breakfast for dinner). Easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This was great! It was so easy and quick to make. The cornflake crumbs on top were awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I first tried this recipe on Easter Sunday morning as part of a Breakfast buffet. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautifully. I've since made this recipe twice and both times were enjoyed just as much as the first. Thanks for a lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I have made this over and over and I keep forgetting to review it!!! This is great! I love this recipe for its ease of preparation, and the taste is out of this world. I usually leave the salt out and add pepper. I sometimes add the topping or leave it off, just depends on how rushed I am!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      My husband and I loved this recipe...we are addicted!!! I think I would like to try it next time with more potatoes though. We actually used the shredded hash browns and some pepper. It turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      I made this for a cabin full of teenagers on vacation with my friend's family, her teen age baby sitters and her teenage nieces and nephiews. This was such a hit with them, they requested I make it every morning AND teach them how to make it. By the end of the week we had evolved the recipe a little and we added a diced green and red pepper to the recipe, we also substituted cream of celery and mushroom soup due to diatary restrictions and did not add the butter to the first mix but added a little extra to the corn flakes, because that was the best part! It still turned out great. The topping is the BEST EVER. I now use this corn flake topping on my tuna casserole as well, and it taste's great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Mmmmmm! I did make a few adaptations. Only used 1/2 stick margarine in the casserole (to save on fat and calories). Used light sour cream. Replaced cream of chicken with cream of celery (to me it adds more flavor). Topped with french fried onions rather than corn flakes and didn't use any margarine on top. Others say this was bland, not to me, it was excellent. I liked it b/c it wasn't too oily/greasy/heavy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

    • on July 20, 2007

      Love this one.. Works every time.. I use crushed potato chips instead of corn flakes..dmc

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      Lovely! My favorite kind of potatoes. Thsnks, Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      A friend brought this to a potluck once, and I have been looking for the recipe. This was exactly it! We made it to go with our Ham on Christmas day and followed recipe exactly! The only change I would make is amount of servings. There were 8 of us and we still had leftovers... Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hash Browns Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 911.7
     
    Calories from Fat 635
    69%
    Total Fat 70.6 g
    108%
    Saturated Fat 26.3 g
    131%
    Cholesterol 63.4 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1474.6 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites