Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Harvard Beets (Sweet Sour Red Beets) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Harvard Beets (Sweet Sour Red Beets)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2003

      This recipe for beets is outstanding. I used Kuzu instead of cornstarch. I used 1 fresh beet and cooked it first, used 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and 1 tablespoon of water (I think I'll try 2 tbsp water next time).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2002

      This was excellent. Very tasty! Easy to make. My husband and I enjoyed them very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      Yum! Lately I've been on a beet craze and I had never had them this way. My Grandma told my Mom that she loved them this way but hadn't had them since her Mother was alive. I usually use only fresh beets but had some whole canned ones to use up from some pickled eggs I made and this made them taste wonderful! I can only imagine that fresh beets would be out-of-this-world. I had them with grilled chicken breast and dilled buttered potatoes and everything tasted good with the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Very tasty indeed. I enjoyed the sweet and tangy taste of these beets. So easy to prepare. I will make these again. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Excellent, I never was a big fan of Beets, but this recipe is awesome. I used White Vinegar on this, so I could have probably cut back on the sugar. Overall this recipe was excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Virtually the same as Fannie Farmer's recipe, which I've used for many years, except that Fannie isn't that specific about the amount of beets to use, and she doesn't suggest leaving them in the fridge over night. Fannie specifies MILD vinegar; I like a plain white vinegar or cider vinegar for this. If I used seasoned rice vinegar, I'd cut back on the sugar accordingly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      De-lish! Easy & yummy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Tonkcats, thank you for a delicious recipe. Quick and yummy. I have a lot garden beets in teh freezer and will be making your recipe on a regular basis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      I had canned beets (usually use them just for salads!) These were perfect! Instead of water I used the beet juice from the can...otherwise followed the recipe. Thank you for a recipe...that will be a regular in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Harvard Beets (Sweet Sour Red Beets)

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.4
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    25%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 975.2 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 46.8 g
    187%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes