Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Harvard Beets for the Freezer (or Right Away) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Harvard Beets for the Freezer (or Right Away)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2013

      I made this recipe and froze it last summer and just this week thawed a package and served them at supper. DH and I both really liked them. We love pickled beets, but this was a nice change and a way to serve them hot, thanks Kaarin!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      2/2/10-Very good. Not to sweet, not to sour. Just the right blend of ingredients. I will be making these again.
      Updated:7/23/12- I've always just used the red beets but I made these tonight using Golden Beets. I thought the red beets were delicious these were very, very good too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      We just enrolled in a CSA and have never cooked beets before...this recipe is super easy, tasty and quick! I used Baked Beets for baked beets to cook them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Very nice. Some recipes call for a horrific amount of sugar. This was just the right balance of sweet and acidic. I used about 4 small beets and I halved the sauce ingredients. Good to know it is easily freezable, I'll be making it again to eat at a later date while beets are in season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Excellent! I sliced the beets instead of cubing. My guests and family thought it was delicious. I made this with Healthy Debbie's Sauteed Beet Tops (another recipe I highyl recommend!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I sped this up by using canned beats. This has a wonderful taste to it, and I was surprised to find myself actually enjoying beets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      What a pretty dish. I made this recipe at the end of summer when there was an abundance of beets from the garden. These beets freeze well and when thawed are a perfect side dish for the Christmas dinner. Very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I remember these from my childhood and decided to make them for DH. This recipe didn't thicken up for me at all and I recall them being sweeter. Thanks for sharing but I will keep searching/trying for the recipe I remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      Very Good and didn't seem too sweet like a lot of other harvard beet recipes. I have a lot of beets in the garden this year and wasn't sure what to do with them all until now!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. We will enjoy it all winter long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      These were fab, i've made loads for the freezer as i grew so much beetroot this year. It will most certainly be on the plate at Christmas. I will also try with malt vingar just to see the differnce. Thanks, loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      I loved these! I bought 5 bunches of beets from the farmer's market so I made the recipe x 4, (which is a great thing to do because it's a little messy.) For some reason the sugar mixture didn't get really thick for me--I might not have cooked it long enough taking into account it was x 4. But it still tastes wonderful. My hubbie said he could eat the whole thing. It's a great way to preserve beets without the trouble of canning. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      These were great. I made a double batch and froze in 4 smaller portions. Beets are such a mess it is great to make a big batch and have them in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      I love harvard beets. This is the first time I have made them fresh. Very nice! I cooked them up today, Sunday, and will pop them in the freezer for Thanksgiving dinner. Nice to be able to get one more thing done ahead. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      These were delicious and easy. I added cloves to the mix for that little something extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Best beets ever! My kids even liked them. I served them with steamed rice - my tween-age girls particularly loved the way the sauce turned the rice a pretty magenta color! I'm planting beets in my garden this year just for use in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      I love this freezer recipe! Made as directed. The Second time I added a tablespoon of orange juice and some grated orange peel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      Terrific! (I didn't think I liked beets.) Easy to make. The whole family loved them (DH and two DDs)! Then froze a batch to use for Christmas Eve dinner--they reheated perfectly. Will definitely go on my list of freezer favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      Best way to eat beets I have ever tried. Very easy to make, and oh so good to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      This is a really good recipe. It's fast - the color and texture are good. I like Harvard Beets to be a little tarter so I doubled the amount of cider vinigar. It's going to be a new side dish for our Thanksgiving dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      OH yes!!! I made these this evening, I have to admit I've made Harvard beets many times before we love them!! I used 1 large beet...and it's gone!! We love the 'gravy' it makes! YUMMY! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Harvard Beets for the Freezer (or Right Away)

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    25%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 100.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 23.4 g
    93%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites