9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It good, but it lacks zest. I recommend adding 1-2 lemons according to their size. You can also add rice and sausage.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chinua June 13, 2002

I tried it with the lemons and sloppy garlic bread It was excellent worthy of 6 stars! and yes very easy to make.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FRED BETZ February 23, 2003

I haven't prepared it yet seems to make the concept of bouillabasse easier --wanted to comment on the rater who suggests putting sausage into the dish ---huh???this is a fish dish darlin-don't be swayed harry I'll try it out and let you know --new orleans--maybe if it's not zesty it needs a pinch of spice or 2 and we have that here sausage indeed--marseillians would cringe

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heathinnola September 12, 2002

Excellent starter recipe! I cooked this for the first time for a dinner party of 6. I tossed in everything seafood and some home made lemon flavored sausage. Clam juice is hard to find in Tokyo, so I substituted fish broth and that did the trick. Thanks Harry for a wonderful recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffrey Shimamoto April 18, 2004

This is a great recipe! As for adding sausage, that makes it an Italian Cioppino. Nothing wrong with that. Some spicy Italian sausage might perk it up for some of the readers who find this bland. Right before serving, I like to add some fat free half and half (cream or double cream) making it more of and Irish dish! Fine as written but there are a lot variations that can be had here. I leave out the garlic because it tends to mask the other flavors and if you add sausage it probably has garlic in it. Be sure to add your shrimp at the last moment and wait until they turn pink. If you overcook them they become rubbery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_Fortuna April 12, 2013

Whoever said adding anything other than meat to a bouillabaisse needs to get out of their box! Some chorizo or andouille will make this the best dish in the house... i'm sure this is an obvious suggestion too... but get some fresh fish! use halibut instead of cod! bouillabaisse is endless possibilities! DO WHAT YOU WANT. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miketheVINE April 30, 2012

We really liked this recipe. We spent 2 weeks on Hatteras Island this summer, and enjoyed a seafood stew there, and this is very close to it. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie October 24, 2008

This recipe is great for a nice, simple bouillabaisse. I like mine with a bit of saffron and fennel seed so I added that in and it was perfect! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grumblebee April 23, 2007

Any recipe that makes me look like a champ in the kitchen is ok in my book. Thanks for making me look like a champ. I used Tilapia as my white fish and regular chopped clams. I bought fresh uncooked med shrimp. The girl at the fish counter told me never to cook already cooked shrimp. In her words, "they'll come out like a dog's chew toy". So in closing, the blend of flavors in this recipe are delectable. And so easy easy easy to make. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Only1pinuchi February 23, 2007
Harry's Island Bouillabaisse